We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb The Regency Hatyai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Regency Hotel Hatyai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Regency Hotel Hatyai to your Saves list
The Regency Hotel Hatyai
23 Prachathipat Road, Songkhla, Hat Yai 90110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Hat Yai
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb The Regency Hatyai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

First...this hotel located at the centre of Hatyai City! Surrounded by lots of business area. Very good spot if you want to do shopping. Nice place for shopperholic!

This hotel offer nice room for my family. Can add beds with a minimum charge. The service are good and superb fast.

The hotel lobby was awesome and the staffs are very polite and very helpfull even the security guard also very nice to me and my family.

Lots of Halal Food restaurant around the hotel if you are muslim.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    12
    13
    40
See reviews for
24
13
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location attracted us. Regency supposes to be a 3 star ranking hotel. The front desk was annoying. They don’t seem to understand simple English. They expect all guests to accommodate their language. They show their tantrums to guests for not understanding what they are trying to say. Even the streets stalls, taxi drivers, restaurants and people on the streets could communicate better with the foreigners but not the hotel staffs.

We managed to book 2 nights twin sharing room. The corridors were stinking on the way to our room. The room was even worst. Bed sheets were obviously not changed. The walls and the bathroom were dirty. We request to change our room.

They gave us an average room again with a dirty bathroom. The mirror was so dirty we could not see our face clearly. We had to use the toilet tissue to wipe out the dirt ourselves. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom.

The shower was a junk called a shower for name sake. It was so old and rusty. We couldn’t adjust the pressure, it was pricking the skin. The plumber came in just to please us that he attended our call. There was no difference after he left. We had to tolerate two days having painful shower.

It was sleepless nights as we could hear the next rooms and the room above us flushing the toilet.

The hotel is basically run down inside. Only the outside, reception and the launch hall attracts the guests. The rooms are worst than a budget hotel for the rate they charge! No effort to change some minor things in the rooms and shower to please their guests, instead the guests turns out making public complaints out of frustration for worthless costs!

The website is all fake and misleading!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter if the view is good or bad or sunny in the day time. All rooms are run down an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The only thing I like about this hotel is location. It is in the middle of the town, once you walk out of the hotel, you are right in the centre. I don't care about anything else because I hardly stay in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stay two nites in the hotel, not very clean and limited toiletries inside the bath room . They don have hair dryer, and not even one! After call to receptionist to borrow was told they don have hair dryer in the hotel!

Location is good however nearby have better hotel with similar price .

Next to le garden hotel, when take tuk tuk (20 baht per person) u need mention le garden then easier for u to reach regency hotel as le garden is more famous in local.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed 2 days on 26/1/2013 and 27/1/2013. Found the location to be great!
It is right in town near Lee Garden Shopping and eateries. However, Front desk
staff are not courteous and do not speak English. We had to change room
when we discovered the air cond was not working and was given a room with
cigarette smell. Although we complained, they said they were fully booked
but the Bellboy was obliging and he offered to spray the room with air freshener.
Did not patronise the food & beverage outlet as we opt to explore hatyai town.
The plus point is the location which is so convenient and we could just walk
to get to the shops.
Food here is pretty expensive and cleanliness is not placed a priority. However,
we enjoyed drinking beer as it is really cheap and massages are cheap too.
Overall, our trip was enjoyable as shopping here is great. T shirts are of
good quality and we could buy souvenirs and foodstuff which are aplenty.
The thais are quite honest people and do not shortchange their customers.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing, the rooms here are upgraded. The old wing/block is teriible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Looking at the the other reviews some important details are missing. Firstly there are clearly two wings to this hotel, the old and the new one. When you check in if you are walk in customer they try and sell you the new wing which costs a bit more and is satisfactory for the amount you pay and for the excellent location of the hotel. Believe me, the location really is superb. I often drive to Hat Yai from Kuala Lumpur and have stayed in this hotel more than fifty times since 2004 - that's almost 10 years of experience with the Regency.

As I'm a driver, when the hotel is not full (better arrive early) you can use the outside parking for free and it's very convenient and secure as it's guarded. If you are unlucky and the outside parking is full then I'd recommend not to park in the basement. The basement car park is so small and tight it's a nightmare and there have been lot's of victims! Lots of cars crash in the basement trying to park or exit! Don't say I didn't warn you...

As I said earlier the rooms are good for what you are paying, but they have got worse over the years. They used to stock the mini bars properly and now they are almost always empty when I check in. The TV's are good enough, old style boxes with lots of channels. Room service is OK but I've had trouble with staff who suffer to understand English. Luckily some of them know basic Bahasa Malaysia so if you speak it you will be fine.

I mostly stay in the old wing because (depending on your tough haggling skills) you can get the price at 750 Baht (75 MYR) only. This is seriously cheap, so I don't know what all the complaints are about... get what you pay for. There are better and costlier hotels nearby if you are the sensitive dust spotting type.

In all the years I've hardly eaten at the hotel, so can't rate the food but the room service has been just fine with pretty standard food and drinks, again nothing fancy, just what you would expect for the cheap prices.

Location is perfect so literally walk outside and you are in the famous night market and the best little mall in Hat Yai. You can walk to everything you need and it't 5 minutes to restaurants and Bars.

Finally as a driver I love this hotel because it's so easy to find. It's one of the tallest buildings in central Hat Yai so easy to find and it's so easy to turn into it and park.

Finally finally the staff... they can come across as rude sometimes but never to the point that I've been offended or not wanted to check in. I think it's more of a communication / training issue. As usual in Thailand be patient, calm and friendly and don't lose face by losing your temper, just be nice and you will be fine.

Note that on my last visit the swimming pool was closed. I've never used it anyway... you can drive to the beach in 40 minutes!

Room Tip: Negotiate with the staff, explain you stayed before and paid less. If you want a cheaper room ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Worst hotel i've ever stayed. Receptionist was rude, facilities were horrible. waited half an hour to check-in even though there was nobody and waited an hour to check-out!
Hotel lobby toilet was indeed disgusting with clogged tissues.
We had dirty bedsheets and yellowish bathtubs in our rooms. There wasn't any beverages(coffee and tea sachets) in the room. One of our rooms had clogged toilet bowl and spoiled TV.
The price we paid not worth the money at all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regency Hotel Hatyai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Hatyai

Address: 23 Prachathipat Road, Songkhla, Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Regency Hotel Hatyai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Hat Yai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regency Hotel Hatyai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.