We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel in the center Hat Yai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Hat Yai

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel Hat Yai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tune Hotel Hat Yai
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   152-156 Niphat Uthit 2 Road, Hat Yai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 68 hotels in Hat Yai
Bandung
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel in the center Hat Yai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night after our journey from Koh Lanta to Hat Yai.
Parking in the hotel have some slots not more than 20 slots. If you plan to stay at Tune Hat Yai by car it's better check in early.
The hotel formerly New World Hotel and Tune hotel renovated.
Room quite big, with nice shower. Location was good 10 minutes walking to Lee Garden Plaza mall.
Beside the hotel there's a travel that can book a van to Penang.
Everything at Tunes was add on, TV, AC, Towel, etc.
Not recommended if you get price more than US$ 25 for stay at Tune. You can try another hotel with "full service".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    80
    31
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
52
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When my colleague booked this place at a low price, I almost went ballistic thinking that it would be a crappy place with us having to pay for everything. So that saw me like a bear with a sore head all the way from home to finally Hat Yai airport.

But....I had to take everything back as from the moment we were politely told that we could only check in at 1400 to finally checking out4 days later, its been great.

Lets start with the reception staff. Fantastic and accomodating are words that come to mind. Don't know where to go? Ask them. Don't know how to use things? Ask them.....just like google. Smiley & soft spoken appears to be their trade mark.

Security? No card don't even think of getting into the lifts. Having said that, 2 cards would have been ideal.

Location? Near enough to places like the market and my usual car parts supplies.

The room was basic, but clean, comfy and adequate. No cupboards but enough space on provided railing and hangers. TV is ok, internet had good connection, a/c & fan had us cool all the time. Bed was good, but I need more than 1 pillow though. Shower/bathroom nicer than many hotels I've been in that is around 3 times what we paid for this Tune.

If all Tune hotels are like this, then I don't mind booking through agoda all the time for my breaks. Let you in on a secret...agoda gave us the cheapest deal...with towels, tv, a/c & internet package thrown in....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Tune Hotel is perhaps the cheapest hotel in Hat Yai as far as baht are concerned. But it's not cheap in quality. The rooms are large; the bed is comfortable; the pillows, soft; the shower, amazing...like being in a rain forest. All this is included in the price. What is NOT included is a towel, TV, wifi, and air-conditioning. These are ADD-ONS; that's how they keep the prices low. So, if you bring your own towel and toiletries, you can save there. The ceiling fan is like an airplane propeller...so if you buy the minimum air-conditioning, you can get the room cold and just use the fan. I bought 12 hours for my 2 day stay, and it was fine. The TV has mainly Thai channels s except for the BBC, ESPN, and maybe National Geographic. I didn't by TV points. The wifi is cheap and good and FAST, even up on the 7th floor. The staff at the front desk couldn't have been friendlier. Free inside parking (I drove from Malaysia). Good security; your room key controls who can operate the lifts. And, it's right smack in the middle of town, surrounded by restaurants, shops, departmental stores, and foot massage places. For those who like western fast food: McDonald's is about 5 blocks away as is the Sizzler, KFC, Swensons. Pizza Hut is a little farther (10 blocks), but they deliver. Overall it was a great stay; I'll never book another hotel in Hat Yai.

Room Tip: One recommendation I heard from another traveler: ask for a room in the back; the window faces anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First the good things.

The bed is comfortable. The location is convenient (not great but okay). The staff is friendly.

That's it.

It's overpriced (for what you get). I understand the a la carte pricing. But at $25 US (what I paid), I could have gotten a better room in another hotel that included 24 hours of electric and AC. It's overpriced for Hat Yai, which has a very competitive hotel market.

The internet is unreliable at best, when it works, is very slow. (Read other reviews about this.) So if you're dependent on internet access stay away. Very far away. The staff is friendly, but they're absolutely no help with 'net issues. They offered me lobby computers, but I needed to work on my laptop with my files. They couldn't help me with that.

There is no restaurant in the hotel. So if you're hoping to relax at breakfast and run back up to the room for a couple of minutes and then go out, rethink those plans.

The windows don't open. So if you're hoping to cheat the AC meter and get fresh air, you won't be able to. Also turning off the electricity seems to turn off the "Do Not Disturb Sign."

I didn't have a shower door in my bathroom, so the mirror steamed up horribly and everything in the bathroom was soaking wet.

A previous reviewer complained of his room being like a prison cell. That is very apt. Paint scheme is white and gray and the walls lack schlocky hotel paintings. Instead they have ads for internet sites that have more ads (all family friendly so no worries there). To me it was sort of the final insult. I don't enjoy hotel art but I really dislike staring at ads.

The place is fairly noisy. Hard wood floors, bare concrete walls and lots of echo. Again, rather prison like.

I stayed here because I wanted to try the Tune concept. I won't make that mistake again. If the rooms were half the price (i.e. $12 US plus a la carte) it might have been worth it. As it is, the hotel is priced like an upper mid range Hat Yai hotel with the amenities of a down market hotel. And the internet service in the hotel is absolutely atrocious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Location: Strategic. Smacked near shopping and street food area.
Clean, yes. Maybe because it is newly opened? Probably. But you know Tune Hotels are always clean.
Superb bed as advertised.
Clean, spacious (spacious, for Tune's standard) bathroom/toilet.
Superb shower head. Yup! I love them 'rain' shower heads.
Value-for-money (with WiFi, TV, Aircond) thrown in when you book through Agoda. Not to advertised, but that was what I got.
Security features on accessing the elevator - you know when in Hat Yai, when there's no access security, there may be people knocking your door late at night offering 'services' ;-)

Room Tip: If WiFi is your lifeline, stay away from from 506. Weak reception. Very weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Value for money, paid only less than THB500 for 2nights stay. It was a great offer, grab it during promotion. Keep checking on their official web for good bargain.

Room was big and spacious, with 5 star hotel bed standard. Bathroom equip with big and powerful rain shower. Need to pay for aircon and WIFI if you need them. Do not provide toiletries, bring your own towel (it can be purchase at front desk as well at a certain amt). Comes with a safebox (FOC).

Bad point is there's no fridge in the room.

Security wise was OK, you will need to scan your key card to access the lift to your room.

Location was great, walking distance to Odean and Robinson (approx 5mins). Night time was a bit quite at that area.

Late check in time : 2pm
Early check out time : 11am (can extend t o check out time 2pm at a certain additional $)

Coming back for the same hotel for next trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went to Hatyai recently (from 17th - 21st August 2012) and was very pleased with our stay at Tune Hotel. But maybe Tune Hotel should consider allocate hot and cold water dispenser at the lobby of each level for their guests instead of over the counter. It's kinda of inconvenient for people like me who only drinks hot and warm water. It's not too costly I guess or maybe they can charge each guest ThaiBaht 10-20 per room.

Overall we are satisfied with their service. The room is spacious, clean and aircond is cool. Bathroom is clean and nice too. Location wise is good. It's easy to roam around...out of the hotel can easily find food for breakie and dinner can just walk to nearby hawker stalls. Lee Gardens Plaza, Robinsons, etc just a stone throw away from Tune Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed at Level 5...rooms 506, 507 & 509
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tune Hotel Hat Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Hat Yai

Address: 152-156 Niphat Uthit 2 Road, Hat Yai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Hat Yai 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly visible and right in down town Hat Yai, the Tune Hotel Hat Yai is in the perfect location in this busy southern Thailand city whether you are exploring its leisure activities or travelling for business and expecting a safe, clean stay that is also great value for money. Set in a safe and clean environment, Tune Hotel Hat Yai is home to 148 bedrooms with extremely comfortable queen-size or twin single beds with Tune Hotel’s famous duck down quilts and pillows, providing a homely night’s sleep at a value price point. Every room also contains a power shower, ceiling fan or air conditioning, large flat screen television, WiFi internet access, safe and a hair dryer.Inter-connecting and wheelchair access rooms are also available.The hotel is also home to the award-winning and newly opened Thai Odyssey Spa. The spa offers a full range of services from body scrubs, facials and local beauty programmes to an extensive range of traditional Thai and international massage techniques.There are also two fully-equipped meeting rooms in the Tune Hotel Hat Yai which can cater to meetings in various configurations, including 70 delegates theatre-style, 40 in a class-room format and 24 in a boardroom layout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tune Hotel Hat Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Hat Yai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.