We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hatyai Lantern Festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hat Yai Municipal Park

Hat Yai Municipal Park
Kanchanawanit Road, Hat Yai, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Attractions in Hat Yai
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Alor Star
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hatyai Lantern Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Much has been reviewed regarding the Templeof the and the views of Hatyai city from the top of yhe mountaik at the Municipal Park.
I am not going to touch on all these but on one festival most tourists miss. It is the Hatyai Internatinal Lantern festival held at the park every year from November till end of the year.
It is a festival where lanterns were brought in from Bangkok and even China and singapore.
The lanterns are in all shapes and sizes ( animals, robots, cartoon characters etc ) and are of very high standard and fine workmanship. A must for all photo bugs.

It is an event not to be missed. Go there of course in the evening for the best lightings.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    37
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill for the afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Cool and incredibly relaxing.. Used to be the old zoo many years ago.. Go to the southern end near the water and reeeelll aaaxx !!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Public Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a good place to spend a couple of hours away in Hatyai. It is only about 20 min drive from central shopping area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Park without attractions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

When we were there, saw some poorly maintained status. We did not bother to alight and we continue our journey to the nearby temple.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Do check it out, it's gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lucky for me, I got here on a good day. The sky was clear and that made the view from here gorgeous. The golden Buddha can be seen from the road and in the sun, it's absolutely lovely! Huge! Then you can take a short cable car ride over to the next hill with a four face Buddha. But I got my driver to drive me to the hill and and walked up instead. Oh yes, tuk tuks don't go up the golden Buddha hill, so unless you're prepared to walk up stairs to the hill, get a driver at the city. My guy took me to 4 monasteries (abt 4 hours) for 400bht.

I would highly recommend this place without a doubt!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hat Yai Municipal Park also viewed

Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 

Been to Hat Yai Municipal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hat Yai Municipal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.