We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells like an old age home” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hatyai Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hatyai Central Hotel to your Saves list
Hatyai Central Hotel
180-181 Niphat Uthit 3 Rd., Hat Yai 90110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Hat Yai
Satun, Thailand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Smells like an old age home”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A step up from the 'guest cells' near the train station, this place has some of the grossest bathrooms I've ever seen (stayed in two different rooms over two nights). Air-con worked well, free Wi-fi only works in the lobby, beds were fairly comfortable and it's in a good location, within walking distance of Lee Gardens and the train station. Both rooms I stayed in only had one free electrical outlet, which was annoying if you and your companion want to charge your devices at the same time. The price is right but for a few baht more you can get a room that doesn't provide 50-year old cigarette stench. If you need something in Hat Yai, I'd recommend the New Season Hotel, or if you're not big on amenities the nearby Tune Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
3
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Interesting place. nearby to the bus station. walk away from shopping complex, accessible. 900baht per night, could not complain much. althought u could get it cheaper from people at the bus stop. sometimes. if u need a massage, there are a nearby place where they can go to your room at no charge. 300baht was well spent for a 2hour massage. looking for a good tomyum? just around the corner. look for places operated by thai families, they offer a better food taste, dont be suprise, the can understand english! 2 blocks away there a a malaysian who operate a money changer or if u need to withdraw money from a overseas account, he can do it, gives a good rate. besides that, hotel wise. regular "seasoned" hotel room. everything is basics. hot water, tv. if u wanna grab a drink. use the drink in the bar. make sure u replace it (its much cheaper) coz its expensive when u check out and they charge u for it. overall. cheap. accessible. =)

Room Tip: a room that faces the front, would be great. nice view of the city at night.big windows, plenty sunl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Caves
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The room was not vacuumed and the sink was leaking. But the location is good and there are many shops near the hotel. The Plaza Market is only 3 mins away by tut-tut. You pay only 20 baht to go there. This hotel is a budget hotel for shoppers. I have stayed there twice. The first time I paid 1500 baht per night and it was peak season and the 2nd time I paid only 610 baht. Still worth it even though it is not that clean.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Our first plan was to stay at grand plaza hotel but due to xmas many hotel was fully booked.hatyai central was the only hotel avaiable.the staff was very unfriendly and rude,though the hotel offer free wifi at the lobby,their limit it to 1am.room wise it was dusty and dirty.worst thing they charged me 25 baht for a carbonated drink that i didnt even drink inside the room :p

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I am a walk in guest after travel 15hrs by coach fm spore to hatyai.

i ask the reception for a room for 2 nites, they say no more rooms>>today & 2morrow..

lucky after 2 hrs later meet my friends in the lobby,my friend ask the receptionist for room,

we are told there are abt 10 room available..the room rate is TB $1400 per nite

the room is old & dirty, bathroom are smelly


all the lady work in this hotel are Bxxxxx

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Choose this hotel if u stay outdoor most of the time . It s more to backpacker hotel than three star hotel. Room and bathroom was smelly especially the bathroom. The bed sheet and towel was stain.
Price was cheap at baht 600 but I feel not value for money . can add a little bit more around baht 850 to get new season hotel which much more better.
Must try the massage centre in this hotel it was good. Baht 240 for 1hour 45min. I try the nearby massage centre tuminee it was lousy. One hand talking on the phone and the another doing massage even price was cheaper baht 200.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days 1 night @Hat yai. We checked in in the morning, at 9am. and the hotel rooms cost us only 600bhat, check in was ok, but you to leave your passport as a deposit. So not advisable if you wanted to travel far away from the hotel.

The room has adequate space, with 2 single sofa, 1 fridge, tv, air cond, Double bed. It do fits for 2 people. But do not expect a well modern furnishing as the hotel is quite old but not too bad.

Toilet has necessary toiletries and a bath tub.

Just that when you are in thailand,hat yai . there will be many people approaching you asking if you want girls or massage or go for ride (men). But if you do want additional services like this , the most easiest way is to call the bellboy, named Vith. He can arrange anything for you.

I think this hotel is safe & convenient as it is near to the town area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatyai Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatyai Central Hotel

Address: 180-181 Niphat Uthit 3 Rd., Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hatyai Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatyai Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.