We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacefull+beautiful area...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doi Mae Salong

Doi Mae Salong
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Improve this listing
Visit Doi Mae Salong like an insider
Top Rated
$582*
and up
3-Day Chiang Mai and Golden Triangle Tour...
Ranked #5 of 55 things to do in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Doi Mae Salong is a primarily Chinese community that offers a variety of activities. Visitors can take in a morning market, tour General Tuan's Tomb, go to a memorial museum and take in tea tastings while visiting the village.
Den Haag, NL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Peacefull+beautiful area...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Driving around is really peacefull, the village itself ispretty touristic; make sure u have a good local guide (we had one from ChiangMai and he was a bit lost)...We were very lucky to drive past a plantation when all the tea pickers were coming back! Lovely encounter:-)) I would love to go back and stay overnight!
More infor on my blog:
http://janaaroundtheworld.blogspot.nl/2013/04/maesalong-tea-plantations-of-thailand.html

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    74
    27
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice distraction.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Took a day tour here. It was a nice distraction for the day. Met some nice people and saw some nice things. Sure, it can all be a little touristy but that is kind of expected in this area. It isn't really off the beaten track anymore. Booking a small or private tour is probably better as it will offer some additional flexibility. Be sure to check that your driver or guide can communicate in your language. Otherwise have a good guide book on hand.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Have been , won't go again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were really looking forward to visiting Doi Mae Salong. It is a long way up into the mountains.
We visited during the tea festival which was the saving grace. Arrived in the evening, couldn't find anywhere good to eat near where we were staying( Shin Sane) but loved the festival and market the next day, also visited a tea plantation. Best part of the trip was watching people enjoy the festival, people on stilts, a simple wooden 'big wheel' and a big swing. If it hadn't been for the festival/market we would have been very disappointed to have gone so far. I don't know what there would be to do if the festival wasn't on unless people just want to get away in the mountains.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Northern Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visitors coming from Chiang Mai find themselves cooped up in a bus for most of the day until reaching Chiang Rai. While the views out the window are nice they are nothing like those from a car being driven up and over the rolling hills of Northern Thailand to Doi Mae Salong. It's rare for me to be guided, but I needed to see this part of Northern Thailand before leaving the country and was in the process of looking for a motorcycle to rent when a smart talking travel guide convinced me to hire her and a driver friend for the day to see Doi Mae Salong. It was expensive, but in the end a great day. We drove from Chiang Rai to Mae Salong, stopped at tea plantations, and various Chinese villages bordering Lao. A fun day that wrapped up with dinner on the river.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“An remembrance to the Chinese KMT army”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A beautiful mountain area with great view and a lot of cultural history. Just look .... all the signs are in Chinese!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doi Mae Salong also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Doi Mae Salong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doi Mae Salong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.