We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan-Friendly Deliciousness!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lounge - CLOSED

The Lounge
541/7 Phaholyothin Road | Amphur Meung, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Due to the long-running political unrest, the imposition of martial law, military coup and curfew, which have crippled the tourism industry in Thailand, we have been forced to close The Lounge for business. We thank Trip Adviser and all of our customers for helping us build a reputation since we opened.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vegan-Friendly Deliciousness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife I practically lived at this place during our week in Chiang Rai. We didn't care. All other places that we tried were inferior. We're vegans, and although this is not a vegetarian restaurant, they can make anything on the menu with tofu. We never got tired of the fantastic curries, tiny peppers, chunks of ginger, and generous portions. The owners are extremely friendly and will make you feel immediately at home. For great Thai food in Chiang Rai and a charming atmosphere, look no further.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Green Curry and Phat Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Hello everybody.

If your are looking for fresh and delicious Thai food go to The Lounge in Chiang Rai. Friendly and helpful owners - a British guy. They prepared the food as dreamed before;).

Recommendation: Green Curry and Phat Thai

Thanks Bob and take care!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a Brilliant Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went to the Lounge on recomendation thinking" a quick beer and leave" well never got to leave until closing time.The food is exceptional, the atmosphere is simply brilliant and the Guy who runs it reminded me a bit of Rick from Ricks bar in Casablance.The place is run like a well oiled machine I cant rate this place highly enough.Go there and have a good

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best vegetarian in Thailand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have visited Chiang Rai on many occasions in the last two years and have been visiting Thailand for many more. This was the best vegetarian experience we have had . The menu is extensive with a choice of TVP or tofu in the dishes. It is difficult pick out the best after just two consecutive visits. However the PadThai was superb as was the Musuman curry. The atmosphere is casual with a choice of seating and unobtrusive music. Turn right as you leave the main entrance for the night bazaar and it is about 50 metres on the left side of the street.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Amazing food great location near night bazzar very generous glasses of nice wine. Had to go back twice

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lounge also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.