We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and Great Organic Foods!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoiTung Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added DoiTung Lodge to your Saves list
DoiTung Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doi Tung Royal Villa, Mae Fah Luang District, Chiang Rai 57240, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and Great Organic Foods!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

This hotel location belongs to the royal family and was developed by king's mother. It's primarily used for people who are following them. People such as paparazzi, the media. This hotel is nice bit more basic than I expected. Although the views are exquisite, the rooms are a little over average (clean). The beds and pillows need to be less stiff. There are botanical gardens and temples to visit. Merchandise that's purchased within Doi Tung goes to the people which is a positive. The food that's served in the hotel area is absolutely delicious and simple. All Organic, the ingredients are from the royal gardens in the area. We were the only people staying at the hotel because one of the princesses visited at the same time. I was happy she allowed us to stay because the hotel would typically turn people away when any royal members decide to visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We arrive at evening by rental car and asked for a vacant room. The reception say 3000 baht for one night. We went to look at the room, and no view, and no particular good room. We say goodbye and went to a hotel near the city of Mae Chan 600 bht, and good too.
Geir and Jee

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

This hotel is really for Thai folks and some adventurous europeans. We did not meet any Americans here. In an effort to support local craftspeople, many of the room's appointments and accessories are handmade. Even the bags for feminine products were of handmade paper! The view over the valley was tremendous and the food was fresh and offered lots of vegetables which is something we did not get elsewhere in Thailand (surprised us). Don't miss the museum tribute to the King's mother. It is beautifully done. What an inspiration she should be to us all..... seems she singlehandedly curtailed the opium trade.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Stayed at this hotel (also known as Baan Ton Nam 31) in September 2009 during the rainy season. My room was in the building behind the one shown on the hotel website so I didn't really get much of a view which didn't matter really because most of the time the clouds, mist and rain sent visibility down to about 100 meters.
My room #339 came with TV (CNN, BBC World News, HBO Movies, Star Movies), mini bar with a limited selection, comfortable bed, A/C, wardrobe, ensuite bathroom with power shower and a balcony. The hotel is at the bottom of a VERY steep hill which is bad enough to walk down let alone walk up! A shuttle mini bus took me up the 1/4 mile hill to the public restaurant where breakfast and dinner were served. The food here was OK and had to do as there was nowhere else to eat.
The airport transfer is quite expensive - one way was 1500B (about £30). Apart from the Royal Villa (basically an empty Swiss style chalet) and the Mae Fah Luang Gardens, there isn't much else to do, especially in the rainy season. The border town of Mae Sai is about a 30 minute drive away and another 20minutes gets you to the Golden Triangle.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed here for our second night as part of a fantastic trip organised through the Doi Tung Development Project that I found on their website. Our room was nice and had a great view from the balcony, we couldn't get the water hot enough in the shower though. Breakfast was served at the lodge and the food was just adequate but the evening meal was served at a restaurant up the hill where the spread they gave us was huge. The property is located very near the Royal Villa, Mae Fah Luang Garden and Princess Mother Commemorative Hall, high in the mountains with stunning views. Many of the attractions up here are impossible to reach in a full sized coach so you get few westerners and most visitors are Thai families, we were woken quite early by the children playing outside on the lawn. Throughout our tour we were privately escorted in a mini bus and we really enjoyed it. The Doi Tung Project is a royal initiative that helps local villagers into legitimate trades when they would have previous only had opium production to rely on. I would highly recommend this tour, just don't expect the lodges you stay in to have all of the facilities of a hotel.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoiTung Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoiTung Lodge

Address: Doi Tung Royal Villa, Mae Fah Luang District, Chiang Rai 57240, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoiTung Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your DoiTung Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoiTung Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.