We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grounds are gorgeous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial River House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial River House Resort to your Saves list
The Imperial River House Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The grounds are gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel is so pretty. The pool with the elephants overlooking the grounds and river are so relaxing. We were amazed by the size of the rooms at this resort. We had a walk in closet, dining area, huge comfy bed, big deck, huge bathroom with lots of windows and a complimentary toiletry for every need. The location is off the beaten path but the hotel provides a shuttle at 50 bhat per person to get you into town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Molly A,

Thank you very much for this great review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and thank you very much for your time in posting these comments.

After reading your review, I am so happy that you like our room and our hotel atmosphere especially the swimming pool. Therefore, it was a pleasure to welcome you at the hotel.
Thank you so much once again for your warm words - very much appreciated.

However, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort once again in the future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    85
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
111
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner in a double room which I got for 1750 baht for the night on latestays.com. For this price I was reasonably pleased with the hotel but there is no way I would pay the full rate. The hotel is nice enough, with all the amenities you would expect for 5 starts but it is just tired, old and dated. The staff are very friendly but disorganized. The food and drinks at the one restaurant are of average quality and very over priced. The loungers by the pool are made of very thick, hard wood and were incredibly uncomfortable. We were promised a turn down service in the evening which we did not receive. I don't really understand why this resort received a certificate of excellence. To me it is decidedly average.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Wizzadora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a review of your recent stay at the Imperial River House Resort. We very much appreciate for your feedback.

I apologise that we have not met your expectations on this occasion especially in the relation to our 10 years property and staffs since we normally received only positive feedback towards our wonderful decor and well designed of the rooms and services.

Therefore, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused regarding the uncomfortable of the wooden sunbeds since we are now on the process of replacing the expired sofa at the pool.

However, I am not proud to know when we failed to delight a guest. I am however always grateful for the feedback so that we can learn, improve , and do better next time for all sections.

Thank you very much once again for your kind generous feedbacks. By the way, I and my team still hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Chiang Rai in the future.


Best Regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel has a very very large lobby and the massiveness is carried out through the whole hotel, including the pool. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly.

With only 36 rooms and the size of the hotel, it looks barren but, is very clean and with a lot of lizards running around in the evening.

The rooms are clean, and did i mention, really big?!?! They have large sofa/ day bed overlooking the pool with a desk, mini bar, shower and bathtub, with still plenty of room.

Summary: very spacious, few people/tourists, very clean and friendly staff. Oh yeah, and they offer shuttle busses to the night market area and you can coordinate hotel pick up with them .

Room Tip: All rooms have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Javrox1,

Thank you very much for these very kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort...and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked the hotel 10 minutes before we arrive, because the other hotel we booked was not a place we would like to stay, so it was a very short decision. But it was the right decision. The staff already waiting in front of the hotel for us and we are welcomed very warm and friendly. Even a welcome drink was offered. The checkin was done in seconds and was very effective and friendly. We got the room 405 and it was a very nice, clean and well designed room. With a lovely view over the hotel and the river. The hotel / resort itself is very small with about 30 rooms but a very large centred pool. You will find a comfortable space to relax and the hotel restaurant offer a very good food / western and thai style. Also the breakfast is served in the restaurant and you can sit outside and enjoy the nice weather. The breakfast buffet is not the largest I have seen but it offers everything you need. Also western and asian style cold and warm beverage. The service team as well as the complete hotel staff is very very friendly and doing a outstanding job. Good example on checkout we ask for a taxi to bring us to the airport. We were informed that we have a free shuttle and 5 minutes later we are on the way to the airport. Thanks for the nice 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Macarne,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing great experienced at our resort on the Trip Advisor page. It is my pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and satisfied with our products and services. Thank you so much again for your warm words - very much appreciated.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you again to Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay while visiting the golden triangle or before catching the slow boat to Luang Prabang, but be warned, it is not easy to find, our driver got lost for some time and 2 tuk tuk drivers had never heard of it (despite showing the card provided by the hotel for this very purpose). The hotel is right on the banks of the Mae Kok (no sniggering please) river, some distance from the town centre, with beautiful gardens and a good size pool. The rooms are spacious and light, albeit a bit dated, and the well-fitted bathrooms have fantastic water pressure. The breakfast is pretty good with the usual mix of Thai and western.
The staff don't seem to speak much English, but we didn't really need them to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Khun Archibalda,

Thank you very much for your generous reviews on Trip Advisor.

Rather than our pleasure to welcome you to our resort, we are so happy to learn that your recent stay was enjoyable. However, please be assured that your comments regarding the difficulty in finding our resort has now brought up to our attention for the signage improvement purpose.

By the way, we are appreciated with your kind sharing time and great comments and look forward to being of service you again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This resort is lovely. There is a good view of the river and beautiful grounds. The rooms are ample and clean. Our complaint was the cost of an extra bed for the room. There is one queensize bed. There is a couch someone could conceivably sleep on. But if you have more than three people (including children)in your room the price for a roll away bed is approximately $30USD per night. When we commented on the fact that the cost was very expensive the man at the desk was angry and somewhat rude.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear lovetotravel55229,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Imperial River House,Chiang Rai.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and more than appreciated to hear your comments regarding the cost of extra bed. However, please accept my sincere apologies for the unprofessional manner of some staffs and will certainly review our training programs in this area to ensure that it will not reoccur in the future.

However, I do hope that you will provide us another opportunity to restore your faith once you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.

Best regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Beautiful garden and pool, spacious room, friendly staff and all at a very reasonable price. The room service is delicious. The free shuttle to mall is nice (but not available on Tuesday). I got free upgrade and transportations which are great bonus. They also provide shuttle to night market which is handy. The best cafe and thai restaurant are right next to the hotel. I will return and recommend this hotel to my friends without hestitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Khun Bird888,

Thanks so much for these very kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort...and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back here again for your next visit to Chiang Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Family Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial River House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.