We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice for a Chiang Rai hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial River House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial River House Resort to your Saves list
The Imperial River House Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“An excellent choice for a Chiang Rai hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed for a day in March 2008 and liked the hotel a lot. It is small with only 30 rooms but very well laid out with large rooms and large bathrooms. Feels like is was built quiet recently. It seems to cater for golfers especially.

Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of variety.

Staff were friendly and had a good command of English.

Our room was THB $4,200 which was the most expensive of the four hotels we stayed at while visiting northern Thailand. This included breakfast, free bottled water in our room & a fruit platter in our room.

Wireless internet was free but weak in our room but when I moved my laptop to the hotel reception area all was OK. I have learnt that it helps to spot where the wireless routers are mounted on the ceiling and move to that area.

They have a card in the rooms stating that they are a small resort and encouraging guests to write a review on Trip Advisor. A good idea that more hotels should follow.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — Location out of town - but schuttle bus available
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    96
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
128
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

I stayed at this hotel twice. The first time was in 2007 and the second time was over the weekend of 3-5 May 2008. This is a privately owned hotel where the servcie by the staff and friendly and affable. The rooms are spacious, overlooking the pool and river which is right next to the hotel. It is tranquil and relaxing in the evenings. Travelling to various spots around Chiang Rai is made easy bu the efficient van service provided by the hotel. If you are a golfer, like I am, the arrangments for golf trips is efficient and problem free. The restaurant serves basically Thai and northern dishes but there are some western dishes as well. I plan to visit again, this time to cross over into Burma.

  • Liked — Friendly service by staff, very reasonable rates
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Not much to add to the previous excellent reviews. This place is a keeper. Well run, excellent service, clean and a beautiful place. My wife and I stayed here for three days and loved every minute. No complaints at all. If you are going to be in Chiang Rai, an extremely pleasant town with very nice people, this is a lovely place to experience.

  • Liked — well run, excellent service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

Stayed 2 nights in February at the River House in Chiang Rai. Might have wanted more time there, but weather was unusually cool. It is a beautiful property; lovely grounds, good food and a high level of service. For example we found the beds too hard and they went to a lot of trouble to find a way to make them softer for us. Of all the places we stayed in Thailand the RiverHouse was the most responsive to our e-mails and usually replied the next day. They arranged the VIP bus trip for us to Chiang Mai and supplied information to our every question, even before we got there. We would stay again when in the north.

  • Liked — Personal touch
  • Disliked — Pool and jacuzzi not heated
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

Stayed there this year with my parents during second week of Feb.

We had previously stayed at the Anantara resort in Golden Triangle during our prevous family vacation in 2006. I liked the place but the lack of elevators meant that it was rather challenging for older folk like my dad, who walks with some difficulty.

The parents liked the River House as it is quite compact (31 rooms?) and was serviced by elevators. There were not many guests there during our 4-day stay there - so we pretty much had the run of the place. My mum commented that it felt very much like staying at a private home (albeit a rather large one). The staff were generally friendly - though some (especially those in the hotel restaurant) appeared relatively inexperienced.

Compared to the Anantara, the location of the Riverhouse is more convenient especially for browsing in the Night Market and dining-out. This is fortunate, as the Riverhouse's restaurant appears to be only patronised only during breakfast.

  • Liked — Location - easy access to the city yet quiet
  • Disliked — Dining options - quite limited
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

My partner and I stayed here in January for four nights and we were incredibly impressed with everything about this hotel.

Our room was wonderful, we opted for a larger room with a terrace. It was beautifully furnished and very clean.

The staff were the most helpful and friendly in all the hotels we stayed in duriing our trip to Thailand.

The hotel is just outside Chaing Rai and offers a free shuttle bus service to the night market in the town centre, we came down on our first night for the 7pm shuttle a little early and was taken aback when we were asked if we wanted to go then and what time would we like to be picked up.

Even better on our last night we were driven to a fantastic chinese restaurant by the river, taken in and then picked up afterwards.

We took three of the trips arranged by the hotel. The day trip to the Golden Triangle was an amazing experience, we had our own driver and guide and a buffet lunch at a restaurant overlooking the Mekong River.
Beware though if you pick one of the elephant rides, I would not recommend the one that lasts nearly two hours through the jungle as you are not strapped in and unless you hold on for dear life you feel as if you could slip off, it was the most terrifying experience of my life

A very heartfelt thank you to all the staff for making our stay there an extremely memorable and enjoyable one.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Chaing Rai.

  • Liked — Excellent service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in July, 2007. This hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room was spacious, airy, and well-appointed. The gardens and pool area were also lovely. The gym is more than adequate and open relatively late.

A few minor quibbles: we had a small ant problem in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was fifteen or twenty minutes late opening, which is unfortunately a big problem when you have tour guides scheduled to pick you up early in the morning.

This hotel was definitely worth the price and we would have loved to spend more time here. We would definitely return (though hopefully we won't have to worry about getting breakfast promptly at 6:30 next time!)

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial River House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.