We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best and most relaxing hotels available” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial River House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial River House Resort to your Saves list
The Imperial River House Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best and most relaxing hotels available”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We found this hotel to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in over several trips to Thailand. We really found nothing to complain about from checking in until we checked out. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the modern rooms were very clean and well cared for. This was one of the most peaceful places we could have chosen to stay at and we all enjoyed the pool with its close proximity and views of the river as well as the massage. Although it is a little bit away from such areas as the night market and other shopping etc. the hotel provides an excellent van service for a very reasonable price which can be used to take you where you want to go. Overall we were very satisfied with our visit and intend returning next year

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Khun Denise,

We thank you very much for staying at The Imperial River House Resort during your recent stay here in Chiang Rai and are pleased that you have taken the time to share your great experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can continue to improve our services to match the demands of our discerning and loyal clientele.

The mentioned suggestions have since been addressed with our executive team and we may assure you that you will experience even more refined services upon your next sojourn at the Imperial River House Resort.

In the meantime, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and continued loyalty.

Looking very much forward to being at your service again next year.

Kind regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    96
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
128
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Only stayed one night on the way to Laos river crossing but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location and lovely swimming pool overlooking the river. Great buffet dinner set up for Valentines day. Spacious and clean rooms with very helpful staff. Would certainly stay there again and could spend longer next time.

Room Tip: Great Location and facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Khun Peter,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel longer. See you again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

At one glance from the exterior - one may not expect much. However, the rooms were comfortable with good view of the riverside. Breakfast was good especially the asian dishes (tasty!). Pool was big although didn't use it. Spa was ok - have had better ones. What I particularly love is the gardens and short walk to the nearby adjoining isle next to the riverbank.

Room Tip: Balcony Riverview Suite - stunning views of the river, small outdoor patio table and daybed to loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Khun J L,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. For your next visit to Chiang Rai, please try our our outdoor Spa since it is highly recommended.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundowran Beach, Qld Aus
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Hotel is situated on the banks of the river on the opposite side of the town.
The garden are well looked after and nice to stroll arroud.
Room are spacious.
The resturant was nice with a good selection of meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Khun Ozbraids,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next visit to Chiang Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip/meetings. Everything was great - especially the staff, which were very accommodating. While there I tried out the pool, had a massage, and tried the breakfast, lunch and dinner. Everything was great. Internet worked well.
We also used the meeting facilities which were large with beautiful windows and a large garden area.

Rooms are big, water is provided each day and the rooms have a safe and a TV.
Very comfortable and quiet.
This hotel is not situated downtown - which is why it is so peaceful. You can easily take a taxi downtown but if you want to be located in the middle of the action - you probably will want a hotel closer to the center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Khun Kibibo,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next visit Chiang Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel was not my first choice, but the result was beyond my expactations. The hotel, even though modern and plain, is in the middle of a beautiful garden well kept, along the river. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The swimming pool was very beautiful and useful after a day of excursions. The restaurant is very good value for money and on the whole I and my friend had an excellent stay. The staff was polite and helpful and the boy who came at the airport, even helped us to buy a True Card at a Seven-Eleven on the ride to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Khun MartaPArezzo_Italy,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next visit Chiang Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here in January after a few days in Chiang Mai, what a lovely place to stay. We found it very restful by the river, the grounds are beautiful. There is a good sized swimming pool perfect after a day exploring the city. The staff are really lovely and helpful we were able to book the hotel minibus to take us into the city and pick us up again which was great.The rooms are beautifully furnished in traditional Thai style which we prefer.
The restaurant is excellent and the outside terrace is the perfect place to enjoy a cold beer. We only stayed 3 nights but wished we had arranged a longer stay as we both felt relaxed from the minute we arrived.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Khun 93Annie,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next visit Chiang Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial River House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.