We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial River House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial River House Resort to your Saves list
The Imperial River House Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Right on the river. The pool was fantastic as well as the food in The Tara. You must get the Northern Thai dishes. You will not be disappointed! Also, the rooms were very large with great bathrooms. Had a gorgeous lay down tub as well as glass door shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    84
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
111
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Totally enjoyed our stay at the Imperial River House Resort. Rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable. We did have a little bit of difficulty ordering drinks/food at the bar area because of the language barrier but the young lady trying to take our order immediately went and got assistance from another staff member who was more fluent in English. Would recommend to anyone traveling to the Chiang Rai area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at this property for 2 days during my Thailand trip. The location was great. It overlooks this river which was just lovely at all times. Didn't get a chance to go in the pool but my room overlooked it which was a great view. The gym's equipment didn't really work but that wasn't a big deal. I took a little jog along the outdoor path. The restaurant was nice-they were even nice enough to chill a bottle of Thai sparkling wine that we bought to celebrate President Obama's win. The massage was in an outdoor spa which was nice-could use some extra mosquito protection though. Overall, I really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Staying at this hotel was great. The hotel is really nice, the grounds are beautiful, the view of the river and mountains are amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful. They could improve their English, but they know enough. The room was very big and clean. It's not in the city center, but they offer a shuttle (100bht per way). Very reliable. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived during the off season period and the hotel was practically deserted. The hotel employees were friendly and does their jobs well. Check in was no hassle.

The rooms were fantastic. Hugh and very well maintained. The house keeping staff were wonderful and very meticulous in their cleaning. Everything in the room is faultless. The decoration and amenities were excellent.

Our buffet breakfast was cancelled as there is low occupancy on Sunday when we stayed. We were given a choice to order our breakfast from the menu whcih was suffidient. On Monday we had the buffet spread. Quite ordinary but as we don't eat much in the morning, we were happy with eggs, bread and jucies. I tried the bacon on the first day which was hard and stiff and decided to skip them.

The hotel is situated along the Kok river and have a wonderful countryside atmosphere. Beatiful view of the river at breakfast with birds chirping overhead. Great way to start the day.

Room Tip: This must be the quietest hote lwe ever stayed. Good for relaxation and thjose who doesn'tlike c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonpaht J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAIDOOSI
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Riverview resort in Chiang Rai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 July 2012

if you are looking for the hotel not too busy with toursist and in isolate and quite location, i highly recommended Imperial River House resort, the deluxe room is fine and convenince for 2 persons or even with 1 kid with you, inside room equipped with 1 kingsize bed plus sofar bed in teakwood, if you come with another 2 chidren, you may book higher room catergories with private balcony with over looking to kok river, stafff are friendly and buffet breakfast also nice, swimming pool and garden area also very nice.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
4 of 5 stars Value
3 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Service

Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Ask PAIDOOSI about Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimonphat Jumnongnusorn, General Manager at Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai, responded to this review
12 July 2012
Dear Sir,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your comments towards our hotel facilities and services which we will definitely keep it as the record for improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Yours Sincerely,
Pimonphat J.nusorn (Ms.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a very nice, quiet resort located a few kilometers from the center of Chiang Rai. The rooms are great and the grounds were gorgeous! The resort also offers a shuttle to the night market for 100 THB each way. Very easy way to get downtown and back.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this resort.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonpaht J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

if you are looking for the hotel not too busy with toursist and in isolate and quite location, i highly recommended Imperial River House resort, the deluxe room is fine and convenince for 2 persons or even with 1 kid with you, inside room equipped with 1 kingsize bed plus sofar bed in teakwood, if you come with another 2 chidren, you may book higher room catergories with private balcony with over looking to kok river, stafff are friendly and buffet breakfast also nice, swimming pool and garden area also very nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Sir,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your compliments towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Yours Sincerely,
Pimonphat J.nusorn (Ms.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Family Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial River House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.