We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA International House

YMCA International House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added YMCA International House to your Saves list
YMCA International House
170 Phaholyothin Road, Chiang Rai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Exceptional service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for several weeks at this YMCA as we were holding a course there. In all our years in many nations, we have never experienced such generous and friendly "bend-over-backwards to help you" service! The staff are great!

Although the location is a bit out of the way for exploring Chiang Rai, it was a great place to be based for our lengthy stay. The rooms were spacious, and kept reasonably clean (clean enough for us!) and everything worked. The wifi on our floor was excellent. We ate our meals in the restaurant on site and were satisfied with the food. They have an outdoor pool which was enjoyed by many in our group.

Downside: the beds really are hard, but we got used to them. :)

Thanks to all the staff and the management for making our stay there so great!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We came to Chiang Rai not sure how long we would stay so we initially only booked in for 2 nights, but 6 days later we are still here and enjoying it. The staff here have been welcoming and helpful. There is one lady with excellent English and the others have enough for us to understand each other. The room is clean and everything works. Free wifi. There is also a free swimming pool which we used once. We have enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Pro:

1) Close to Chiang Rai airport;

2) Friendly staff;

3) Fast wi-fi;

4) Very strong water pressure;

5) Clean rooms and on-site restaurant.

Cons:

1) None come to mind.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at the YMCA International House for 1 night because we thought that it was closest to the airport (still a 15 minutes drive). For discovering Chiang Rai it's not the right location as it is quite far from the city center.
The room was okay (not great) at first sight, but the beds are so hard it's almost impossible to sleep on. At night the room appeared to be full of insects and other crawling things.
On the positive side, the hotel has an outdoor pool which is nice after a hot day. Furthermore, the staff was very friendly and brought us to the airport very early in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YMCA International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA International House

Address: 170 Phaholyothin Road, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your YMCA International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA International House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.