We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, but in urgent need of maintenance” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Triangle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Triangle Inn to your Saves list
Golden Triangle Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   590 Paholyothin Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, but in urgent need of maintenance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was most disappointing. While the staff were very welcoming, the standard of the rooms suggested no money had been spent on them in many, many years. The fan and the air conditioner in my room made such a racket that sleep was difficult and the lock on the door did not inspire any confidence. The thin curtains provided little privacy and the mirror in the bathroom reflected only a vague image. Breakfast was poor with no choice. On the credit side, the host was helpful and the gardens very pleasant.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    25
    14
    2
See reviews for
4
25
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salviac, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was mentioned in several guidebooks so we tried it. Fortunately, it was 1 night only. There is nothing wrong with the hotel and the staff are friendly. The hotel is just tired out. It needs a thorough renovation. The location is good and we enjoyed walking around Chiang Rai. However, we were glad our plans were to stay 1 night only. There were many mosquitoes outdoors in the open area where breakfast and WIFI are located. It was a challenge to keep the mosquitoes out of the room. Until this hotel is renovated, we'd look for a different option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Older place but knowledgable friendly staff. Clean rooms. No mosquito nets. Only single beds though, no doubles. Stayed here on a border run, it was fine for what we needed - cheap enough and short walk to night market/bus station

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Located not far from the night market. Our room was spacious w/ a good bathroom w/ hot water. Breakfast was good - eggs cooked to order. Staff was friendly. Hot coffee available almost 24 hours. Nice atmosphere - lots of banana & coconut trees on the property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Can't recommend this place if you are staying in Chiang Rai. Tried to like it, liked the location, tried to like the hard beds, too many Mosquitos, and bathrooms, well they need total renovation. There are much better place in the city, we found a good one after we left the Golden Triangle.

Room Tip: Might want to look else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I found the room to be decently clean, bathroom was not super clean but was barely acceptable. I turned the air conditioner on and it was super noisy. Luckily the overhead fan works well and it is plenty cold at night. My biggest issue is a lack of sound insulation, as I could hear the street noise, breakfast noise, and even worse my neighbor using the toilet...

I will look elsewhere next time as there are plenty of choices in this town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed there for 1 night. It looks good on first glance, cool garden, you have breakfast in the morning, walking distance to the night market and the old bus station. The main problem was that the bathroom was dirty and my friend got bitten by something during the night. On the other hand the staff is great, but there are way better places in Ching Rai to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Triangle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Triangle Inn

Address: 590 Paholyothin Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Triangle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Triangle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Triangle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.