We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it - it's heaven on earth ;)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Legend Chiang Rai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Legend Chiang Rai to your Saves list
The Legend Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124/15 Moo 21 Kohloy Road | Mae Kok River, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I like it - it's heaven on earth ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

After a short drive from the airport you arrive the entrance to this wonderful tranquil hotel, laying on the banks of the river. The open space at the reception with the view throughout the garden restaurant is just marvellous. The rooms are perfectly cleand and the stuff is overwhelming friendly.

Room Tip: Just tell them your requirement and they will provide the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    202
    55
    19
    1
See reviews for
62
253
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently spend 2 nights in a Superior room. The room was not you standard boxy hotel room which I liked and had a large shower area that had an indoor / outdoor feel. The room had character with a resort like atmosphere. All rooms also have their own outdoor patio area with swinging chair (some rooms had own private plunge pool but I didn’t indulge in one).

The room was overall clean but starting to show some minor wear and tear. The grounds of the hotel were lovely with a pool and seating areas overlooking the river (nicely lit at night), however with a few finishing touches could be really spectacular. The hotel blends in well with its surrounds unlike the Dusit about 5 minutes up the river which is a large concrete structure that belongs more on Waikiki beach.

The Hotel offers a shuttle to the Night Market of an evening for 50 baht (should be complimentary) a tuk tuk would run you 80 baht so cheaper if 2 or more. However if you plan to come back via the shuttle you need to buy you ticket before departing, you can't just get on the shuttle and pay when you get back.

The onsite tour desk offers a great range of half and full day tours, not cheap, but totally worth it. I did the full day Golden Triangle and Hill tribe tour which was fantastic; I was accompanied by an English speaking guide in a comfortable van with competent driver. They also included the White Temple which is a site not to be missed. Upon arrival I was looking for something to do and the very helpful girl at the tour desk was also able to arrange an ad-hoc river boat river and elephant ride for me with no troubles at all.

They have an extensive and appealing spa treatment menu but sadly I did not have time to indulge.

The main eating area is lovely and overlooks the river; however the food was okay and expensive. The buffet breakfast was very ordinary with not much choice and mediocre service. I also ate at the Italian restaurant which was a little better at least they have traditional wood fire pizza’s which were nice. There was however a decent wine list which is hard to come across in South East Asia. Free Wi Fi is provided in lobby and general areas but to have in the room you must purchase a Wi Fi card.

I think the hotel is struggling with what it’s “identity” should be and with a few improvements could move itself into the 4.5 star category. Overall I would stay here again as the positives certainly outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

what a great place to stay me and my16 year old daughter spent 3 days here on the river great food the rooms were big and clean very freindly staff the pool was next to river the views were amazing felt very safe at this hotel i would highly reccomend this hotel very laid back location

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Legend has it all from the best staff to wonderful good size rooms to views of the Mae Kong river to an excellent pool. Food was good especially the breakfast buffet and the evening BBQ buffet. Plenty of sights to take in and easy to get to with the help of The Legend staff. Want to take a boat trip on the Mae Kong? After your third cup of awesome coffee looking over the lovey front yard, you walk down the short path to the boat launch, and off you go! Quiet resort that one appreciates after a busy day at the market or White Temple. Felt like coming home. Been back several times and will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The setting of the resort on the banks of the Mae Kok river is beautiful and the setting is extremely peaceful. The entrance is very impressive - even if the car park through which one enters is far from being so - and the reception staff pleasant. The welcome drink and towels are welcome, but no more than one would expect at this price.

The rooms consist of one storey villas and the remainder in two storey blocks. These were reasonable, though I thought a little spartan, particularly the bare concrete floors. Cleanliness was only average. The much vaunted bathroom was large, but had the feeling of something tacked on, and did not work for me as a "feature"; I imagine the designer intended something similar to the wonderful outdoor bathrooms at Rai Song Aroon on the Mekong river nearby. The bathroom contained only a very average shower; given that Chiang Rai is cold in the winter, I would find this large space uncomfortable to be in.

The restaurants on site were as expensive as one would expect. The resort push a dinner buffet at B695++, though the choice was poor and I have seen much better lunch buffets at B150 net. The food was deeply unremarkable and drinking water scandalous at B40++ a bottle.

Breakfast next morning was acceptable, though the choice was very poor for a resort at this price. The staff were very inattentive and had to be rousted out from where they were hiding.

The resort pool is good, but the gardens and building exterior only poorly maintained.

There are many better places to stay in Chiang Rai and I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A beautiful resort and surrounds. No high rise concrete building here. 2 stories is as high as some of the buildings got otherwise single story bungalows. Rooms were clean & spacious.
We found the food to be delicious. The Thai food very reasonably priced for a resort and the Italian was very good too. Breakfast was standard. Yes the staff's english is quite poor but we found them to be very friendly. Limited Wi-Fi was inconvenient.
The tours provided by the resort were a little on the expensive side but well worth it due to it just being the 2 of us and our guide Gan was fantastic and the vehicle was new. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This resort was beautiful, but lacked good maintenence and properly trained staff. The rooms were slightly dirty and the grounds lacked the necessary maintanence to make this an excellent resort. The staff were the worst we experienced in Thailand. They went out of their way to avoid helping in any and all situations. The food at the restaurant was atrocious. Don't eat there! The staff rolled their eyes at us when we asked for anything. They charge to use the computer for internet!!! They charge 50 BHT per person to take you to the night market. I am giving this a 2 star rating because the staff was so bad they actually ruined our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminTheLEGEND, General Manager at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your valuable review.The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues attempt to provide, and we apologize that your stay wasn't as successful as you expected it to be.
We are sorry that we did not live up to the usual good standards that the majority of the reviews at TripAdvisor reported about.

While striving to provide always–highest possible service standard, such information of considered guest as you are very valuable to our management and with those kinds of remarks, we are able to improve our product such as maintenance and restaurant service in the future.

Wishing you all the best and hoping that you will give us a chance to prove of our professionalism during your next stay, we remain.

With Kind Regards,
Mr. Marc DUMUR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Legend Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legend Chiang Rai

Address: 124/15 Moo 21 Kohloy Road | Mae Kok River, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Legend Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location:The Legend Chiang Rai is located directly on the Mae Kok River, secluded from the city, yet within 5 minutes driving distance from the city center. The immediate environment is relatively undeveloped providing a tranquil, natural location ideal for a river resort & spa. The property gives a panoramic view to the near-by hills and mountains. The riverside across is largely undeveloped and preserved with large rain trees and lush vegetation.Accommodation:The resort features 78 lavishly appointed studios and villas offering king size or queen/single beds, designed to allow for maximum connection with the environment, opening up to nature – yet providing uncompromising comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Legend Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legend Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Legend Chiang Rai
Legend Hotel Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legend Chiang Rai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.