We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, good view, quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Legend Chiang Rai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Legend Chiang Rai to your Saves list
The Legend Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124/15 Moo 21 Kohloy Road | Mae Kok River, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely room, good view, quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for only one night on our way further north. We got a very good deal with the off season rate. I would have loved to stay longer. The Legend is removed from the busy part of town a bit but they have a shuttle to downtown and to the night market and finding a tuktuk back was no problem. The breakfast buffet is adequate, not great. The room was spacious, clean and very attractive. The grounds were pretty. We did use the travel planner on site to arrange a van to some of the places we wanted to see in the area as they were quite spread out. The planner was not pushy with us, as someone complained in a previous post. We will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    232
    61
    19
    1
See reviews for
70
296
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went to Chaing Rai without booking a hotel first. By chance we came to the hotel. Right from the start it looked very beautiful resort!
We got a nice discount on the price and booked immediately. The place is gorges, the pool and the dining is near the river.
We ate there breakfast and dinner. The food was very good and plenty of choices.
The rooms are big and the shower is large.
We had a very good time. It's not on the night bazar, but a few minute drive to get there.

Room Tip: Get the Deluxe Studio or even the Pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I recommend you to choose this hotel, it was a very great surprise when we arrived there in a trip around Thailand. The room is huge and very well decorated. The swimming pool is a quite and beautiful place to rest after a hot day. It's so romantic!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

In the survival kit this resort came as highly recommended. Maybe that is why we were slightly disappointed. The location is perfect: quiet at the river, yet close enough to town. The pool is great: clean and large. The pool bar was a laugh and hardly ever open We had a pool villa. Large enough, but smaller than anticipated. Cleanish, but permanently under attack by tens of some kind of worms. Housekeeping shrugged at our complaint and only gave us anti bug spray. So I had to become the worminator ! The restaurants, one Thai-like and one Italian were ok, but had little variety and no real authentic food. Staff was friendly, spoke some English, but were too laid back. From a place with such ridiculous high prices you expect much more. You want to be surprised.
But no way here. All on all, an ok place but in no way overwhelming. Partly maybe due to the continuous down pour!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc_Dumur, General Manager at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for staying with us and for commenting on our Service and facilities. Your compliments are much encouraging. Yes you are right during the green season the nature becomes very active and there are many kinds of insects and other small animals who share the resort and sometimes the rooms a bit with us which is very difficult to prevent from. That’s why we do provide mosquito nets in every room and are performing pest control very often. However such is nature and we understand that not everybody appreciate such disturbance.
We have only 4 pool villas which offer a surface of 120 sq. m incl. the terrace which is quite a large space and that comes at certain price which is much higher than our Superior or Deluxe Studios which are of 53 sq. m and rates are usually only a third of the villa.
We are sorry that you did not appreciate our Restaurant food or its service and we shall do our outmost to improve such.
During the green season it does often rains which very welcome as it cools down the temperature by 5-10 C and usually lasts only an hour or two and then sun is out again. This results in a much more wanton vegetation which is what is actually fascinating in this part of world and the reason why people are admiring that period rather than the very moderate climate in winter time which is similar to early spring in middle Europe or Northern California.

We hope to welcome you, family or friends one day again and would appreciate if you let us know to make sure things work out. Looking forward to such favourable occasion and wishing you the very best,
With kind regards
Marc H. Dumur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Denis, Parigi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband,2 sons and I recently spent 3 nights at The Legend in Chiang Rai. We got an amazing deal through Agoda (80USD/night) and the room was perfectly fitting all of us (king+single). It was a very comfortable stay, the pool was wonderful with a gorgeous view of the river. The room is lovely with a very relaxed ASian style. The shower is amazing and we loved the outdoor patio (even if too many mosquitos during rainy season). Despite all I was disappointed by the staff, not very useful and more trying to sell the travel agencies trips. My son broke a cup and this was the first hotel ever I was asked to pay it back and they even charged me for the plate which was not broken. I was so disappointed that I spent 10 minutes bargaining and brought the plate home. I loved this place and I am pretty sure I would go back for the same price but sure I wouldn't pay as for a 4 or 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc_Dumur, General Manager at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and commenting on our facilities and service.
We appreciate a lot your positive words about the Room and overall setting. We are very sorry for disappointing you during the check-out.
As part of the overall Resort’s Concept we provide these very nice Coffee and Tea sets in our guest rooms which are local + handmade and the total value is over Thb 2’000.- Unfortunately some guests seem to feel that such might be included in the overnight charge which is not the case. Therefor it is the Hotel’s policy (like in many other hotels) that the staff has to check during check-out if any items are missing or broken. However all we are trying to do is to protect the Hotel’s Property (which is certainly reasonable) and to be fair to any other guests who want to buy and pay for these items which is quite often the case.
We certainly did not wanted to upset you and hope you understand our side a little bit as well.

We look forward to welcome you, family or friends one day again and should that be the case kindly let us know. Wishing you the very best for the Future
With kind regards
Marc H. Dumur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband, son and I recently spent 3 nights at The Legend in Chiang Rai. It was a very comfortable stay, the pool was wonderful with a gorgeous view of the river. Even with 3 of us staying in one room we had plenty of space, loved the shower! Staff was very helpful and kind. We had to leave quite early and were very grateful that breakfast opened at 6:00 am! Terrific stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very comfortable. We liked this hotel alot - the pool, the staff, the food, etc. We wanted to go outside of the hotel for meals, but were advised not to and we're glad we stayed there and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Legend Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legend Chiang Rai

Address: 124/15 Moo 21 Kohloy Road | Mae Kok River, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Legend Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location:The Legend Chiang Rai is located directly on the Mae Kok River, secluded from the city, yet within 5 minutes driving distance from the city center. The immediate environment is relatively undeveloped providing a tranquil, natural location ideal for a river resort & spa. The property gives a panoramic view to the near-by hills and mountains. The riverside across is largely undeveloped and preserved with large rain trees and lush vegetation.Accommodation:The resort features 78 lavishly appointed studios and villas offering king size or queen/single beds, designed to allow for maximum connection with the environment, opening up to nature – yet providing uncompromising comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Legend Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legend Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Legend Chiang Rai
Legend Hotel Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legend Chiang Rai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.