We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid in the town Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wangcome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wangcome to your Saves list
Wangcome
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   869/90 Pemawibhata Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Flensburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mid in the town Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This hotel located in the town close to the Night Market and bus station. They have airport shutter service if you come by plaine. The hotel is renewed. The pool is so small and very cold water. Brekfast was ok nothing special. The staff is friendly.

Karaoke Club is avilable at the second floor near Thai massage.

If I go back to Chiang Rai I will choose this hotel to stay again. I paid for one night 1400 Baht (Single)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    40
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
16
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

We held a large function here and travelled with a group of 30 people all staying with us at the hotel. The group was varied from early 20 solo travellers, to over 60s, us with our toddler and others with young families. We all felt it was comfortable, as one of the previous reviews said, its not OMG, but its absolutely fine. The hotel was clean an comfortable and in a great position near the night bazaar. Staff were really accomodating to us, and organised us group discounts on the rooms. The function staff were great- room was beautifully set up, and everyone (and we had some serious foodies with us) loved the food. The pool area was not as sad as made out by some reviews, and the pool is certainly bigger than it looked in the photos. The hotel is a bit tired (it was built in the 70s for those on leave from the vietnam war- if the walls could talk!- dont worry though it has obviously been renovated in the last decade- not that tired) but I've paid triple the amount to stay at lesser hotels in Australia. I would recommend people stay here, if they are wanting something centrally located, clean and comfortable. It also felt really safe with security out the front and a concierge located on each floor.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

This was a very average and old hotel with mildewy rooms and weak ACs. Don't expect much but you're probably not paying much either. Its hard to apply US/Western standards to this place as its probalby luxury for rural Thailand. Similar to Motel 6 back in the states.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

After what seemed a long drive up from Chiang Mai with stop offs along the way, I was glad to finally arrive at the Wangcome Hotel. It is located just off one of Chiang Rai's main streets in a quiet square. The lobby is large and inviting and after a speedy check-in by friendly staff I was shown to my room which was average size and spotless. The bathroom contained everything from complimentary tooth brushes, combs, shower gel, shampoo (both in large containers), there were dressing gowns, slipperettes, multi channel TV with English speaking channels, comfortable beds, A/C, windows that open, mini-bar etc. The bed was very comfortable but there was a power cut during the night affecting the whole city block so the A/C cut out. The hotel is strictly no smoking throughout but they do have a nice smoking balcony with loungers etc on the 4th floor.
The night market is a short walk away and immediately opposite the hotel there are small eateries, massage parlours and a small department store. Don't be intimidated passing the girls outside the massage parlours - they seemed to be all very friendly and were all smiles. The restaurant in the hotel that serves the complimentary British/American breakfast is nice but the food is the usual heat lamp stuff - okay if you're starving. If I were to visit Chiang Rai again I would not hesitate to stay at Wangcome Hotel again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

The modern block of the Wancome Hotel sits with it's back to a seedy bar area and faces the night bazaar down a narrow road where you have to struggle past the massage girls trying to entice you in.

Hotel is fairly modern. Room we had was obviously 2 rooms knocked into one as there were two identical bathrooms and two entrance doors. Bed and bathrooms were clean. Rather disconcertingly there were large notices on the bedroom walls in both Thai and English warning that child prostitution was illegal!

Breakfast was asian and european buffet style. Not brilliant but I've had worse. The eggs for example were fried then laid on a hot tray not cooked fresh for you.

The reception personel were okay to slightly friendly. The tour desk guides spoke very little English so it was a good job I knew where I wanted to go and they could just point on the map. They did have a printed folder in English of over priced tours that they could arrange.

We didn't have time to experience the pool .

Overall a central hotel which is clean but with not a great deal of charm.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

Staff generally friendly. Near Night Bazaar. Quite Clean Room. Breakfast was normal standard. Easy to get transport around the hotel. Many food and drink / internet access also near hotel. Overall ok for the budget/normal traveller.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Well, stayed at this hotel for three nights on Aug 2007.
Staff is not as friendly as others hotel and they charge an additional B400 because my cousin sister who came over that night fall asleep in my room. Breakfast is average only and the rooms is not very clean. Overall I don't few it is worth what I pay.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wangcome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangcome

Address: 869/90 Pemawibhata Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wangcome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wangcome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangcome Hotel Chiang Rai
Wangcome Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wangcome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.