We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma Kaew House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grandma Kaew House to your Saves list
Grandma Kaew House
78 Moo.18, Sanpanard Road Soi 2/1, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 124 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

For a truly budget hotel this place exceeds expectations; the rooms are very large, modern and clean, with plenty of in-room facilities (balcony with outside sink, great for laundry, large fridge where we kept some breakfast supplies as no breakfast was available, tea/coffee making facilities, table and chairs, complimentary water and toiletries, and lockable wardrobe), the bed was large and very comfy, the wifi worked well in the room, and the bathroom was everything you'd need it to be! It was a short and easy walk to Chiang Rai bus station (even with heavy backpacks) and excellent night market (where we enjoyed some great street food). The place was in a quiet area but still felt secure. The couple who manage the place, and Grandma of course, were very welcoming and helpful. My only very minor gripe would be the lack of any English speaking channels on the otherwise very modern TV - for such a lovely room, and given there's not a huge amount to do in Chiang Rai at night, it would have been nice to kick back at night in front of the telly! We also unfortunately had a bad experience with the tour of the area we had booked through them (some money was taken from our bag whilst it was left briefly in the tour car) but we accept that this was not their fault and I include this only as a reminder to travellers not to make the same mistake we did and never leave valuables unattended, even if it feels safe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
60
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Ok, so I haven’t slept in every bed in Thailand, but of all the ones I have slept in, the one at Grandma Kaew House is by far and away the most comfortable.
We love everything about this place. This is our second time at the guesthouse and is our first choice for accommodation in Chiang Rai.
I reviewed Grandma Kaew in November 2013 (A Warm Welcome), and cannot praise it enough. The hosts, David and Sonthaya , are so friendly and helpful, and can’t do enough to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Grandma, herself, is such a little sweetie.
Please read my previous review for photos and more on this amazing little jewel of Chiang Rai.

If you do check my previous review, please note the information I provided regarding using Aeon Bank for free ATM withdrawals has changed. From January 2014, this bank has imposed a 150 baht fee in line with all the other banks (if you are using a card issued by a Thai bank, the fee is only 20 baht). I have been advised that if you withdraw money over the counter at the branch, you do not pay a fee, however, I have cannot confirm this for certain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Grandma Kaew House is relatively new so rooms and amenities are all still in top condition. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed with good quality furnishings - including the bed!! It is also in a convenient but quiet location. The service was also very good from friendly and helpful owners. For the money, I doubt you would find a better place to stay in Chaing Rai. We stayed three nights and were very happy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Really close to the night market and bus station, but because it is a few blocks away it is very quiet at night. Brand new (just opened in May, 2013). Extremely clean and well maintained. The bed, pillows (they give you two pillows each!) and bedding are very comfortable and plush. Wifi is great. Every room has a good size fridge in it and they give you two water bottles every day. The only thing that could be improved is the number of english TV channels. Thanks for the incredible stay. We are leaving well rested.

Room Tip: Only 7 rooms in the entire hotel (8 rooms total, but one is used by the owner's mother in law wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very clean and comfortable rooms including fridge, air con and fast wifi. The guesthouse is in a reasonably quiet location but still within 5-10 minutes walk of the bus station, night bazaar, restaurants and bars. The room was a good size and unusually so was the bathroom although it was still the usual wet room style without a curtained off shower. We had to kill a couple of mosquitos in our room when we checked in and there were always some buzzing around in the stairwell on an evening, so beware of leaving your room door open and make sure to pack some repellent. The owner, Sonthaya, was really friendly and well organised. She gave us a map marked up with sights/restaurants/ATMs etc in the town, gave us directions to out of town places we wanted to visit as well as showing us photos and giving us suggestions for other sights. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podimore
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This place is difficult to fault at the price. The location is good, being in easy walking distance of the bus station, night market and main area. It is pretty well brand new and immaculately clean.
What is more there is daily cleaning and new towels etc, which is very unusual for a guest house in South East Asia.
The owners were helpful and pleasant but not intrusive and Grandma herself very nice. She seems to look after the place in the afternoon and evenings. There was some noise at night from music from bars quite a distance away. Not a major problem.
This guesthouse has become deservedly popular and books up rapidly so if interested try to book at least a few days in advance.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Truly enjoy our 3 nights stay here. Location wise, it's just nice. 10mins walk to daily night bazaar and bus station (old station). Great for light sleeper as it is a bit distance from main road. There's Contruction going on next door so you'll get a 'morning call' everyday around 9am. : ) Host, David (funny guy) & Sonthaya can speak English very well though they are not always around. The 'real' grandma Kaew does not understand English but she's very kind and helpful. She even gave us a big papaya during our check in. With a bit of sign language you should be getting what you want. Rooms are spotless clean. Cleanest among all the hotel or hostel I ever stayed! Overall, both me and my Gf like this place a lot! The thing that I treasured the most is that you can get a true experience of living among local!! Thanks David, Sonthaya and Grandma Kaew!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandma Kaew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandma Kaew House

Address: 78 Moo.18, Sanpanard Road Soi 2/1, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grandma Kaew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma Kaew House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.