We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean room, friendly host.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma Kaew House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grandma Kaew House to your Saves list
Grandma Kaew House
78 Moo.18, Sanpanard Road Soi 2/1, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 119 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very clean room, friendly host.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Finally a water heater that is hot! Provide white thick fluffy towels, clean white bedsheets, comfortable King size bed.
Medium size fridge n flat screen tv. Daily house keeping!

Just approx 200-300m walk to night bazaar. The alley right outside the house is dimly litted.

Friendly host speak English.
There's not much choices in chiang rai City Centre. This is highly recommended!
Definitely worth the value.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
43
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

It's really closed to the bus station and night market. We were walking in the night to find the place and we were afraid that maybe the place will be awful for the location. But the building seems new, the rooms are really clean and big, the sheets had an inmaculate white colour, fridge, good wifi. The sink is in a different room than the toilet. it has 2 tables outside in case you bring something to eat. It doesn't have restaurant or common facilities. The owner and her family are great and they were really helpful. We hire with them a taxi to take us to the white temple and the black house. The last day I forgot to ask her for a taxi for the next morning as our flight was early so I sent her an email and when I got up in the morning she had already answered me telling me the taxi would be there in the time requested.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very clean and quiet room in house with only 6 or 7 rooms. Really hidden, because it's not so easy to find: go to Wiang Inn and walk in a small street on the right hand side. After a side road on the left hand side, there is a small road on the right hand side and ther is Grandma Kaew indicated at the end of this small road. It is very near the center and the nigh market, but it is quiet to sleep. Good bathroom, not luxury. No breakfast. wifi included.
Make reservation before, many times all the rooms are full.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Rooms can compete with decent middle class hotels: spacious, clean and comfortable and the best beds we found on our trip. The Friendly reception by (supposedly:)) the real grandmother kaew and her family delivers a warm welcome. Excellent price/value ratio

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good size en suite room, accoutred in fridge. Cleaned on daily basis. I was amazed, how clean guesthouse might be. Located off-street, only 15 minutes walk from bus station. We have booked twin room but got double. Owner wasn't there and lady who was taking care of this place had no-communicative English. There is a drawer, which you can lock with key.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at Grandma Kaew Guest House for 2 nights and were exceedingly happy with our stay. There are so many positives to this establishment including:
Immaculately clean room and bathroom.
Bathroom has hot and cold shower with very good pressure.
Good size room, with great design, making maximum use of area.
Utility room next to bathroom, with sink for laundry and storage.
Large fridge (not just a small bar fridge that you normally get) which is handy for long stay.
Huge floor to ceiling wardrobe with fresh, clean, smell.
Security drawer with key to lock personal valuables.
Quiet and efficient airconditioner.
Table and 2 chairs with can be used as desk or for dining.
Tea and coffee making facility.
Free bottled water daily.
Rooms spotlessly cleaned daily.
Location is one street away from Bus Depot.
Exceptional range of tours to choose from.
The warmest, friendliest and happiest people, (staff and management) you will find.
Very affordable, rooms are only 700 baht per night.
Very peaceful and quiet, so good night sleep is assured.

The tour we chose was the best we have experienced in Thailand. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable with excellent English. He was caring and genuine, keen to answer any questions we had, and even taking us to more places than the original tour outlined.
We highly recommend Grandma Kaew House to anyone staying in Chiang Rai, and we will definitely stay here on our next visit.

Helpful Hints:
Use Aeon Bank for ATM withdrawals as there is no fee. You will find one on Ngam Muang Rd opposite Baan Non Plern Guest House, and Level 2 Central Plaza Shopping Centre, Chiang Rai. Minimum withdrawal is 1000 baht. Expect a bit of a queue as it is popular with the locals. I wish there was one in Chiang Mai.

Green Bus Company is excellent for travel to and from Chiang Rai. Buses leave every ½ hour, and the duration of the trip is around 3 hours. There are 3 different classes of bus. We went 1st class, and the cost was 185 baht per person. You received a bottle of water, snack and refresher towel during the trip. We booked at their office on Inthawarorot Rd Chiang Mai, and paid 20 baht commission each, but selected our seats and received tickets straightaway, so no hassles at the bus depot on the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang mai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This guesthouse is super clean. Very spacious rooms with a flat screen tv and big fridge ! Good location with access to diamond inn pool for 60baht pp which is 2 mins up the road. Great value for money, We enjoyed our stay and would return anytime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandma Kaew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandma Kaew House

Address: 78 Moo.18, Sanpanard Road Soi 2/1, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grandma Kaew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma Kaew House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.