We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, amazing value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrab

Barrab
423/3 Banpharprakan Road | Near Clock Tower, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
+66 94 812 6670
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 187 Restaurants in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Thank for all customers.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went to Barrab on the strength of the rave reviews on here. Wheh we arrived (we got a tuktuk and got there easily eniough ionce the driver was shown the address written down) i thought it must have been the wrong plae as it was a really basic cafe looking place.

Nonetheless, in we went and true to the reviews the staff spoke good english.

The food we ordered was fantastic, absolutely brilliant. Service was good too. The only disappoitnmetn was that there were no desserts and I had SO been looking forward to trying the mango and sticky rice.

The bill was almost unbelieveable and we had to triple check! it was SO cheap!

Absoulutely go, if you get the chance. It's not fancy but it is excellent food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    35
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yumm-O!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Authentic local flavour. Good for value. I recommended the Kaow Soi(Northern style noodle soup). Staff at the restaurant speak English very well and they are very friendly. It has a nice atmosphere and clean. I was impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best food in Chiang Ria if you have the guts to try it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Ignore the pizza pasta and burger joints and head to Barrab for lunch or dinner. The staff speak good English and if you are unfortunate enough to get one who doesn't bring out your pointing finger. You won't be dissapointed. The food here is fantastic. Fresh, clean, local and beautifully made. If you are in Chiang Rai and are wondering where to eat this is your place. It's amazing value too. We had two main dishes and a bottle of water, it came to £1.60. It's difficult to find places serving Northern Thai food on the beaten track as dishes are usually tailored for Western tastes; that is not the case here. We are already planning to go for lunch tomorrow before we leave town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I eat here several times a week, cause it's got great food, it's really cheap and it's fast. The young guys that run the place are really nice, there is usually interesting music playing. Last time i went the Beatles were on. You can eat a great meal for $1 Australian. The kaow soi (not sure how to spell it) is really tasty. The mango and sticky rice is probably the best in all of Chiang Rai. This is a great place to eat. The white haired gentleman who sells mango sticky rice with his smiling wife out front, has excellent English and is really helpful. Really lovely authentic Thai eating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Chiang Rai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We came here in search of Khao Soi and were not disappointed, it was delicious! All the food we had was excellent. Mango and sticky rice was to die for. It cost four of us £3 preach and we were so full at the end. A brilliant meal.



  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrab also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Barrab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.