We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiang Rai ATV

Chiang Rai ATV
| Pa Sang, Chiang Rai, Thailand
+66 81 160 6851
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your adventure begins at an unspoiled Mien/Yao Hill-Tribe we have 2 tours available, Half-Day & Full-Day. We have something for young & old, single travelers, honeymooners, families, in fact everyone! Both our tours have a stunning swimming/diving waterfall as the destination (towels supplied). The All-Day tour also goes to Haunted Fishing Lake and includes complimentary lunch. Our tours take in forests, safe mountain ridges, hidden valleys and are mostly off-road. There is a 10 minute trek through the jungle on both tours, as long as you can walk up/down hill for 10 minutes, you will be fine, it's nothing too strenuous. For more details check our website. We normally collect from your hotel twice a day, and in the low-season often at a time to suit you, so why not give us a go? We're not rated so highly for no reason! We are both Eco friendly and philanthropic, our primary aim is to improve the lives of our Hill Tribe and by being a customer you are helping us to help them.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Me & my partner did the half day tour back in November 2013, sharing a buggy, and had a really great time. We were the only ones on the tour that morning and had the pleasure of Bruce's company. The driving itself was fantastic, challenging enough to make it fun but this shouldn't put anyone off who is worried it may be too hard. The scenery is lovely, especially the trek down to the waterfall where the swimming was great fun (if freezing at that time of year!) and then to the rangers station for some fruit. And we got ham sarnies after the drive back to the village. It was lovely to talk to Bruce, in fact it didn't even feel like we were on a tour most of the time, and thanks also for the tip for restaurants in Chiang Khong - Bamboo really was the best Mexican we've had!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you Hannah for your really kind review. We're glad you got back safe & sound and also that Bamboo Mexican Restaurant was up to it's usual standards.

Come back and see us again on your next trip :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    13
    4
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Best day in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked this after reading the reviews and weren't disappointed though we had to insist a tour operator telephoned as he kept telling us it was closed down and would we prefer to do his trekking!

Sing and Sam the brothers who run this tour can't do enough to make sure you have a wonderful time, proper Thai hospitality at it's best. Very nippy little 2 seater buggies, automatic with seat belts and very stable.

The countryside you see is stunning, nothing like it on the main roads and the waterfall was wonderful if a little chilly! the guys built us a fire and gave us marshmallows to roast, fresh made coffee and fruit at the waterfall and sandwiches on top of a mountain afterwards.

Our kids (8 and 11) won't stop talking about their driving lesson on the football field too. Really great day out, and we will definitely be back next year guys - thanks very much.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you Miguel. The children on our tour always love their first taste of driving on the football field even if they don't drive to the waterfall. I shared your review with Sing and San and they were positively beaming. Thanks you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A group of 6 friends did the afternoon ATV trip. Two other people joined us - the group of 8 was a nice size. The afternoon trip includes a drive out to a park, a hike through the jungle to a waterfall where we were able to swim (towels were provided, which was a nice bonus), after our swim we roasted marshmallows over a fire, then walked to another area of the park for fresh fruit. We then hiked back to the ATVs. [parts of the walk were a little steep. Not a hard walk, but not something you want to do in flip-flops] After all of this, we went back to the owner's house on the top of a hill to enjoy cantaloupe juice as the sun set over the hills of Chiang Rai. All-in-all, it was an awesome was to spend an afternoon and I would recommend this activity to others.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you Kelly & Mike, we very much enjoyed having you on the tour, our average tour size is 2 to 3 people so it was a busy day for us and we're really pleased you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nice people, beautiful countryside and a well worthwhile day out.

This is a bit of an oasis in a desert of mediocrity. If you don't do anything else, this is the one worth doing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you Peter, we enjoyed having you on the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So Much Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Operated by a Mien family and their English friend/investor, this experience offers more than just ripping around on well-maintained ATVs through a pictoresque Thai hill valley and swimming in a pool at the base of a waterfall. For the day we and our fellow adventurers became part of this family. I suppose we could have simply taken advantage of their hospitality and gotten the ATV rides of our lives, but it was more fun to make it a cultural experience as well.

I will say that the machines seemed very well maintained, and the service was beyond what one normally expects in Thailand, where everyone is friendly but the level of service often falls a bit short from the Western perspective. Bruce, the omnipresent Western investor ensures that Sing, the young patriarch of the Mien family, understands that this business will succeed or fail based on attention to every aspect of the consumer's experience. Having spoken to both of them at great length, I am confident that they get it, and anything they haven't figured out yet, they'll figure out soon.

When you're planning your trip to Thailand, make sure you put this between a couple of days of visiting temples. You'll soon forget the temples, but you may never forget your day in the saddle of your ATV in this hidden valley in the mountains of northern Thailand.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you Robert, it's always nice to receive a great review from a trpadvisor member of several years standing. We live or die by the reviews of our customers and we comb through them to correct anything we can improve (toilet facilities & tissue, roasted marshmallows on cold mornings etc). It's sufficient reward for us if customers enjoy their time with us, we are a family business and we are philanthropic in nature, trying to improve a Mien Hill Tribe village that time & tourism has passed by. The lead vehicle is often driven by the 10 year old "boss"of the family too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Rai ATV also viewed

 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Chiang Rai ATV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiang Rai ATV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.