We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly what I expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chiang Rai ATV

Chiang Rai ATV
| Pa Sang, Chiang Rai, Thailand
+66 81 160 6851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 28 Activities in Chiang Rai
5.0 of 5 stars 149 Reviews
Type: Off road/All Terrain Vehicle Trails, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your adventure begins at an unspoiled Mien/Yao Hill-Tribe we have 2 tours available, Half-Day & Full-Day. We have something for young & old, single travelers, honeymooners, families, in fact everyone! Both our tours have a stunning swimming/diving waterfall as the destination (towels supplied). The All-Day tour also goes to Haunted Fishing Lake and includes complimentary lunch. Our tours take in forests, safe mountain ridges, hidden valleys and are mostly off-road. There is a 10 minute trek through the jungle on both tours, as long as you can walk up/down hill for 10 minutes, you will be fine, it's nothing too strenuous. For more details check our website. We normally collect from your hotel twice a day, and in the low-season often at a time to suit you, so why not give us a go? We're not rated so highly for no reason! We are both Eco friendly and philanthropic, our primary aim is to improve the lives of our Hill Tribe and by being a customer you are helping us to help them.
Earth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not exactly what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you expect lots of fun ATV riding, you might be in for a bitter disappointment. The ATV's are of low quality, and you have to ride slowly behind the guide and other participants. We only had 2 rides which were about 15-20 minutes each. Rest of the tour was spent on a waterfall pond where the weird guide was swimming (he was friendly, but repeatedly told people, also the girlfriends, how nobody can believe that he's single. I mean, if you live on a mountain, it's not that unbelievable), and in some kind of hut, eating papayas. After the second ride was over, we stayed in the owners house drinking juice while the guide was washing the ATV's. Finally, we got to the hotel 2 hours later than we were told, which forced us to change the other plans for the evening.

What I would've hoped was better instructions on how to prepare for the tour. There was no information on what to wear, what to bring, if I could safely use a camera etc. There is also no real toilet available before the ride, and no possibility to safely store your bags, should you bring some.

It's not a bad tour, but costing 3000 baht per person and being an ATV tour, I just expected more. It might be more suitable for older people, or people with kids.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I am sorry you didn't enjoy the tour, I think you could have avoided the disappointment if you did some research before you booked. We are not a conventional ATV company, what we do is unique. We have tried to put together an overall experience with about 80-90 minutes on the machines where the thrill is as much about beautiful countryside as it is about the wind in your hair. We often find guests falling asleep in the car on the way home and I think more than 90 minutes driving is probably too much for most of our guests. I appreciate your review and criticisms but on-balance, I still feel our tour is exactly the right mix. If you booked by email, rather than by telephone, there is a FAQ at the end of every reply we send which answers the questions about what to wear etc. Our guide, Sing, is very friendly, most of our guests like him and the fact he talks a lot, perhaps he talked too much for you. I have never heard him called "weird" before, but there is a first for everything. We are always nervous when our guests come with Thai girlfriends, what we consider to be outstanding natural beauty is an every day experience for Thai people and it's harder to achieve the "wow factor". I guess it was inevitable that sooner or later someone would not enjoy the tour. Sing took you to the visitor centre at the waterfall to eat Papayas. Most people enjoy this part of the tour and meeting the park rangers who look after the waterfall. The park rangers get their budget allocated on the number of visitors so they appreciate the visit too. They rarely get other visitors and I think our arrival is a welcome respite from the tedium. We never take out more than 7 buggies and Sing drives one of those, the ride out to the waterfall is always taken at a safe speed and will inevitably be at the speed of the least competent driver, but Sing gradually speeds up as people get more confidence and there is always the chance for a bit more speed on the return journey. This being Thailand, the toilets at 2 of our 3 locations visited are "squatties" though we are going to upgrade to a Western style loo at our compound. We do listen to our reviews and take them very seriously, we now carry toilet tissue for use at the park rangers loo as suggested by another reviewer. We try not to rush our guests and on the afternoon session we try to take our cue from the guests as to when to return them to their hotel, I am sorry we spoiled your evening plans with a late return, we believed you were enjoying the sunset. The afternoon session usually drops back at hotels between 6:30 & 7pm. Certainly, I have never known guests to be here after susnset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    10
    2
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“our Best day in Northern Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent half day here with our 4 year old daughter on the trip to waterfalls. It was an adrenalin on muddy road thrue the fields and jungle and than we arrived to beautiful site of waterfall and the pond bellow. our daugther just love it. after you rest in wonderful house on the hill. we were happy and relaxed. We also see the village people as they live and grow corn in the jungle.
really awesome!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Vitezslav, we really enjoyed meeting you and your family and we're thrilled you had a good time. We hope to see you again another year too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is the one to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We wondered reading all the reviews, could it really be this good?

No, it's not, it's BETTER!

Forget all the old cliche's of ATV's being uncomfortable and dangerous, these things have roll cages, seat belts and even a horn when you're feeling you want to give it a blast.

Picjed up on time by Sing and we were soon on our way to the Hill Tribe they call home. After some quick practice instruction we were driving though the hill tribe, through rubber tree plantations and what must be the most beautiful hidden valley on earth, a true Shangri-La. Finally up and down a few hills, through cornfields, and a couple of forests we arrived about 45 minutes later at the waterfall.

The waterfall is a national park and we were the only visitors! Everything so far was really special. The waterfall is stunning, maybe 80 metres wide and 50 metres from front to back, all depp enough for diving and swimming.

Finally onto the park rangers reception area where they too made us feel really special with fresh papaya to eat.

The hike back to the vehicles is uphill and takes about 15 minutes, sad to say, practically the only excercise we did in chiang rai!

Another 45 minute drive back to the house on the mountain where Bruce surprised us with some sandwiches and a glass of fluorescent green juice they call "nuclear waste", specially imported from Fukishima apparently.

This was a day we will never get. For our 10 year old son, the highlight of his day was driving the buggy back from the waterfall with a nervous Dad strapped in the next seat.

Don't hesitate, this attraction is a class act and well worth doing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Andrey, it was a pleasure to meet you and your charming family. We are all pleased you had a great time and we hope you'll come and see us again next year when we don't have the unusual cold weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A slightly belated review of our CR ATV adventure in November 2013.
Sing picked us (3 grownups, 2 kids) up at our CR hotel and drove us to the starting point. They had some technical challenges with the ATVs, as some replacement parts had not yet arrived. But after a short delay (and plenty of practice doughnuts around the soccer field), everyone was up and running. It was a real blast roaring though fields and forest!
The hike through the forest to the waterfall, swimming around there, and relaxing at the forest reserve afterwards really made the day very special.
The drive back to our hotel was also very interesting, as Sing talked about his experiences and some of the background of his hill tribe.
When you go, don't forget to wear old clothes. The mud will fly and maybe stain. So what!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. Unless it has rained recently, it's usually either muddy or dusty. November should have been dusty but it rained an enormous amount in November this year. Comage again next November and we'll get you dusty instead :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Time, Definitely Worth Doing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

A must do if you're in Chiang Rai and fancy an adventure through the jungle with a half way stop at a waterfall. The buggies are so much fun to drive through some beautiful scenery. Would recommend wearing sunglasses and old clothes due to the dirt and dust. Make sure you don't get stuck behind any slow coaches as you need to be driving as fast as you can to get the full experience. Only downside was that we had a non english speaking guide as I believe the normal one was not available which was a bit of a shame as it would have been nice to get some more information about the area.
Make sure you go for a dip in the waterfall.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Investor at Chiang Rai ATV, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Sunstyle, thank you for your very kind review. I am sorry Sing's brother San had to stand in for him on your tour. It doesn't happen very often, only when he has to represent us with the authorities. He's the Thai director of Chiang Rai ATV which is owned by his biological daughter (my adopted daughter, who is 11 tomorrow). I have bought San a self-teach English course, but he's actually our mechanic and I don't think he's opened the book yet! I was glad to meet & greet you both before and after your adventure and at least answer a few of your questions and I am sorry I couldn't go on the tour with you. Someone has to make the sandwiches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Rai ATV also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Chiang Rai ATV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiang Rai ATV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.