We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Relief” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Malai Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Baan Malai Guesthouse to your Saves list
Baan Malai Guesthouse
32/2 Moo 18 Soi Sanpanard | Robviang, Chiang Rai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Buckley Flintshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a Relief”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We moved from the Diamond Park Inn because of the noise on the 20/11/12. I looked on trip adviser for nearby hotels and i was impressed with the reviews about Baan Malai so i went to have a look and booked it strait away for our last 3 days in chiang rai. We have always stayed in hotels before but this guest house has impressed us . We recomment this place as it was clean, quiet , beautifully furnished, and the staff where verry helpful.
Keith

Room Tip: As we are elderly couple we had ground floor room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
37
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a new guesthouse with very friendly owner, good service, great location (5 minutes walk to night bazaar) and very clean room. Though it is a gusethouse but the room is large, with comfortable bed, lcd tv, fridge and clean bath room. We stayed in their twin, double and triple (a king size and a single bed) rooms. Triple room is bigger than twin & double. If you are looking for triple room, you must choose this hotel as not many hotel/guesthoue has big triple room in Chiang Rai.

Gusesthouse do provide simple breakfast (bread, butter & jam, coffee, tea & fruit), must try their coffee which is very good. We (16 of us with kids) really enjoyed our stay there. We will definitely choose Baan Malai Guesthouse for our next visit.

Room Tip: Guesthouse has no lift, if travel with elderly to request lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Baan Malai is a new Guest House opened to travellers just three months ago. I enjoyed my stay there. The room is very clean, spacious and beautifully furnished. The host/owner and staff are very friendly. They are very helpful and render excellent service. It has a conducive courtyard where you can relax while you enjoy your drink. This Guest House is within walking distance ( about 10 min ) to the main road, the Night Bazaar and the bus station. It's void from noise pollution and this serenity contributes to a pleasant stay.
Baan Malai Guest House is definitely value for money.

Christine Lee
K L, Malaysia

Room Tip: Rooms with sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Excellent value for money in this new property, especially after looking at a number of other established places that asked similar prices. All staff were welcoming and helpful without being intrusive or pushy. The door to the room was solid and secure. The room was large, with quality furnishings, floor and decor. The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom and balcony were good sizes. Wifi was excellent. The small garden was attractive. As there were not many other customers there at the same time I can't comment about noise levels from others however the building is in a quiet street so there was no traffic noise. The location was a slow 10 minute walk to the very centre of town, with numerous shops and restaurants along the way. One of the best places stayed in while in Thailand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Malai Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Malai Guesthouse

Address: 32/2 Moo 18 Soi Sanpanard | Robviang, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Malai Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Malai Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.