We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nak Nakara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nak Nakara to your Saves list
Nak Nakara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   661 Uttarakit Road | Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quiet and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place has big bright rooms on a quiet street. Staff are super helpful and seem genuinely happy in their work. There's a pleasant garden to work/lounge in and a good pizza place next door. My only real complaint is I've stayed in similar places for half the price...but that seems to be the way with Chiang Rai these days, it's suffering from Chiang Mai spillover.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. We wish you have a great time here.
Our staff works the best to satisfy our valued customers.
If you have any assistance or enquiry, please not hesitate to contact our staff.
It is our philosophy to complete the guest's satisfaction with promtly action.
For the price enquiry, I have check with the reservation. They explain that this time of the year
is high season. Therefore, the hotel rate is quite high when comparing to the slow season.
Nevertheless, we have many of promotion that guest can use. Please contact us directly to get the special promotion via email: naknakara_hotel@hotmail.com
or tel.+66 53 717700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    123
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
105
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed for one night. It was a good, clean, recently renovated hotel in a good, central location.
The only downsides I would say is that it has no elevators, and I could hear some noises from adjacent rooms - nothing major, just minor annoyances. Good service too. Breakfast was the average, similar to other hotels in Chiang Rai. May as well go to the nearby market for breakfast or to nearby cafes/restaurants.

Room Tip: Seek a ground floor room if you have trouble going up and down stairs. The hotel has no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Vakued Guest,
Thank you for your comment. We will inform the project manager to maintain
the noise from the adjacent room. I think he could do something to solve this problem for you.
As we are hotel resort, the elevator is not our concern from the beginning of the project.
However, I have already pass the comment from the guest to the board of director and they are quite interested to launch the elevator too. However, we need to concult with our interior first so that the construction will be matched to the concept of the hotel.
We are so thankful to your valued comment and look forward to serve you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Nak Nakura is a basic hotel. Inexpensive and we could walk to the night bazaar, the day market, and some of the temples.

The room was very, very simple. No face clothes, no kleenex, no clock or clock radio, no pen/paper to make notes, etc., no safe, hard bed and hard pillow.

The towels were thread bare, the shower was mildewy, had little water pressure, but the water was hot. The bathroom made quite a bit of noise when others flushed their toilet and it had a sewer smell to it.

The tile floors made for a cold room, especially on the night that the temp. dropped, and there was no way to heat the room.

Breakfast was a mix of Asian and western and adequate.

The rooms (we started in one on the ground level then moved upstairs) are dull and not really a pleasant space after a long day of touring about. They are in need of updating for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied about the room.
There are 2 type of room in the hotel, Deluxe Room and Executive Room.
The Executive room has more facilities and function than the Deluxe room.
The price is not that much different but it is worth to stay Executive Room.
If you come again next time, we are willing to upgrade the room for you as our apologize.
We wish you come to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed here with my family for four nights in late December. The hotel is well located in the centre of Chaing Rai. And is within walking disance to temples, markets and places to eat and drink. Chiang Rai is a fairly small city and its easy to reach most of the city centre attractions on foot. I would recommend car hire, as there are many other things to see outside of the city such as wat rong khun (white temple) and the golden triangle.

The room was clean and tidy and was perfect for our needs. The hotel staff were all very friendly and polite and gave us lots of ideas for site seeing in the province. The next time I visit Chaing Rai, I will no doubt return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Nak Nakara Hotel as your destination.
We are appreciated you have a great time here.
Like you said, Chiang Rai has many travelling spot outside town.
Therefore, the best way to travel is hiring a car and drive by yourself.
Nevertheless, the hotel provide the private tour. It is very convenient and comfortable.
We wish you are back to your country safely and looking forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We went to Chiang Rai to experience several things, like the golden triangle, the white temple and, of course, an elephant-ride. The hotel arranged a trip for us with a private chauffeur exactly as we wanted. When we arrived back we were asked how our day had been, they seemed really interested in their customers! The only (little) minus is the breakfast; mostly warm thaifood should rather be a bit more continental breakfast. BUT the beds were beautiful !

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. we are appreciated to serve you.
The suggestion about the breakfast is very useful for us.
We have already passed to the cook and she is willing to improve in the near future.
Thank you again for your kind and useful comment.
We are looking forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were travelling Northern Thailand and hit upon this Hotel by chance. The hotel is centrally located both near the night market and also near the main shopping area. Its surrounded by excellent restaurants and other facilities. The staff were ever so helpful and in general spoke excellent English as well as Chinese and Japanese. This made it easier to deal with them. The rooms were a decent size and the shower facilities were very good. My room had relatively noise free air conditioning and a good choice of TV channels. The breakfasts were also very good. As to other facilities - we did not try any so cannot comment. I would use this hotel again if I go back to Chiang Rai. The value for money was really good about 1500 baht per night breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind and supportive comment.
We will keep the standard of service and cleanliness of the hotel.
We are appreciated your staying with us and look forward to serve you again soon.
We wish you good luck and have a safe trip back to your country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights and found the staff to be welcoming and ever helpful ! The rooms are clean and the bed not like the usual "Hard as Nails". The hotel provides a rest-full location with easy walking distance to the local market stalls, bars and restaurants. Value for money is also good. The only downfall is the breakfast which could be a little better for travellers in this area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nak_Nakara, Manager at Nak Nakara, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are appreciated you have a great time staying at Nak Nakara hotel.
Please visit us again if you come to Chiang Rai.
We will keep your suggestion about the breakfast and let our cook know.
Thank you again to choose Nak Nakara as the pleasure destination
and we are looking forward to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nak Nakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nak Nakara

Address: 661 Uttarakit Road | Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nak Nakara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2012, Nak Nakara Hotel guarantees guests with comfortable 70 rooms. The hotel provides public facilities such as Free Wi-Fi, Parking lot, Computer with internet and in-room facilities such as LCD TV, Hair dryer and safety box. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere in the garden.The hotel also has a swimming pool for adult and kids. Nak Nakara is located 10 minutes walk from downtown, Chiang Rai Old Bus Station, Night Bazaar and the Golden Clock Tower. Chiang Rai Airport is 10 minutes away. With its convenient location, the hotel is easy to access to the Restaurant, Public Park, Minimart7-11 and Hill tribe Museum within 3 minute walk. At Nak Nakara, we provide the best service to ensure guests' happiness. The tour can be arranged by front officer at the front desk. Also bicycles are available for rental free of charge. The hotel offers strength signal free Wi-Fi in public and free Wi-Fi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Nak Nakara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nak Nakara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.