We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views but ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Rai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai
Save
You added Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai to your Saves list
41 Moo 6 , Baan Jajall, Tumbol Doi Hung, Chiang Rai, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 119 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful views but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The scenery is without a doubt the most beautiful that I have seen in my travels in Northern Thailand. The remote location is very peaceful and relaxing. And there are lovely walks you can do from your doorstep. But in my opinion this place just doesn't deserve five stars:
- I was picked up by red truck with other guests from the bus station in Chiang Rai. By the time we arrived it was dark and due to heavy rain, we had to walk the final 300 metres up a steep and slippery track with mud up the ankles. Shoes, clothes were an absolute mess. Being young and reasonably fit this was okay for me, but if you had children or were less mobile, completely impossible! And this was not in the wet season! There was no kind of apology or recognition that this experience wasn't a good one.
- Service just takes too long e.g. dinner, fixing any maintenance problems in rooms (which did occur while I was there). I suppose other people think it's part of the charm that there are basically only two people working there - but it's not adequate when there are lots of guests. They just need to hire more people to help! Or, offer a set dinner time with set menu to speed things up. I didn't see much of the friendliness that other people have pointed out: the owners seemed too stressed and busy to have time to talk!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
77
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Orginally booked 3 nights. Stayed a fourth and could have stayed a month. You can be active and go on treks to Hill Tribe villages as close as 400 yards from the bamboo bungalos. Walk to the elephant camp or the hot springs all within an hour walk. Cant get lost. Hot showers, mosquito nets over the bed, a few 12 v lights in Bungalos. Nightly fires. Great menu selection of Thai dishes..hot or not. Yellow curry w/ chiken over rice was my favorite. Friendly, helpful staff. A cooler full of ice with water, beer, soda and a cabinet with chips, nuts. Just mark what you take on your tab.

My lodging, meals, drinks - everything came to about 1000 B per day for the 4 nights. Rest, relax, read, talk with other travelers, chrge phones, laptops etc in the central food area in the mornings and afternoons. Memorable. Tranquil. Comfortable. Met my expectations. Go Nok, you have ceated a paradise retreat and will be turning down reservations as soon as word gets out. Byron

Room Tip: I had the room far to tthe north of food area (only about 100 yards) and could see only rice fields...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is definetely one of the most lovely places I stayed in in Thailand. Basic but beautiful bungalows in a gourgeous and remote hillside setting, each of which comes with a nice veranda on which you can enjoy a stunning view on the valley from a hammock. Excellent spot for hiking and relaxing. The friendly and caring owners make the place perfect for a retreat from overtouristic Thai sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is one of the most memorable places we stayed. Bamboo Nest is in a beautiful, peaceful setting in the mountains outside of Chiang Rai, each hut overlooking the rice paddies. In the mornings, the clouds hang over the mountains and it's really beautiful. The huts are very basic but comfortable as long as you're okay with a rustic feel. Aside from the beauty and tranquility of the setting, we really enjoyed the company of Nok and Noi. We did a one-day trek with Noi and his dog Khao and it was one of the most memorable and authentic experiences we had in Thailand. We stayed for two nights but if I went back, I'd stay for a third so we could have one full day of trekking and one day to just relax and soak it up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Having travelled all your life, visited places - countries - continents, and then rarely, once in a while ... you come across a place and people which make you feel good, content and happy with life, yourself and the person sitting next to you.
This is how we felt during our time at the Bamboo Nest a few weeks ago, each day stretching to an endlessand fulfilling experience, yet the five day stay coming to an end all too soon. Now reflecting back upon our travels around the beautiful and exciting country of Thailand, our feeling that Bamboo Nest was the highlight is more than re-confirmed, just not sure if it was Nok, Noi and Bee, or our bamboo cottage, the surrounding hills in the morning mist, the tribe villages, the river, the stories, the sounds of silence.
In the end our votes go to Noi - for the prime minister, Bee - minister for tourism and Noi as minister for justice ... in their region and country, in ours, anywhere ...

It has been our privilege to meet you, thank you for letting us share the five days of your life, this will stay with us forever.

Mladen&Johanna

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This place was one of my highlights of Northern Thailand. You escape the city life of Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai and get into the "wilderness" with nice tribal villages around, waterfalls, hot springs and much more to explore. Nok and Noi are very kind people that will make it a great stay for you. I loved the humour of Noi and the conversations we had with him. Definitely go on a tour with him, he knows so much about the area! The cottages look amazing and are very comfortable. Large bathrooms and good beds. I loved the sound of nature during the nights. The place is set up so that you easily meet the other guests. During the evenings there's a camp fire and we even got sticky rice and chicken from Nok. I loved my stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is an amazing place. The setting, the views, the food, the couple that run it, just everything.

Given the lack of electricity and the hotels website (which I don't think does the place justice by the way) I was expecting something much more basic. But it was far from basic, it was fabulous. Yes it is a simple place, but Nok and Noi will work so hard to make sure you have a special stay with them.

We had one day trekking with Noi, and one day just walking to the waterfall by ourselves. We only stayed 3 nights and could easily have stayed longer but we had a flight booked that we had to leave for.

If you are lucky enough to have the chance to visit this place, do it.

Thank you so much Nok and Noi for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai

Address: 41 Moo 6 , Baan Jajall, Tumbol Doi Hung, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bam Boo Nest offers a range of simple, comfortable and uniquely styled bamboo cottages built by local craftsmen in natural locally sourced sustainable materials. Following the wisdom of the native people, each cottage has bamboo flooring, walls and thatched roof. All have private bathrooms with hot showers, comfortable beds (with mosquito nets), verandas and floor to ceiling windows to enjoy the spectacular views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Nest de Chiang Rai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.