We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Chiang Rai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nok's Garden Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chiang Rai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nok's Garden Resort
Save
You added Nok's Garden Resort to your Saves list
Chiang Rai 57110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Chiang Rai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Home away from home. I had planned on staying at Nok's Garden Resort for only a night. 1 night became 2, 2 became 3, 3 became 4, then sadly leaving and wishing I could have stayed longer. 

Not only are the bungalows in beautiful shape and situated in a lovely, green natural surrounding (which obviously the owners take care of very well), the personalized service at Nok's is like no other I experienced in Northern Thailand (and I spent a month in the area). 

There's a cute little restaurant and common area to enjoy conversation, drink and food. Make sure you try Nok's home-cooked meals. Really delicious and adventurous if you want it to be :-)

I used Nok's Garden Resort as a base to explore the northern region with motorcycle (which by the way you can rent from Nok and Rudi as well). It is a perfect location for day trips to the Golden Triangle, Mae Sai and Mae Salong among other beautiful gems in the area. Don't know where to go? Just ask Nok or Rudi and they will share their world of knowledge about the area. 

Best however is coming "home" to enjoy a drink by the fireplace on a chilly evening, great conversation with the owners or sitting in the comfy chairs on your private veranda watching the stars.

Language could never be an issue at Nok's. Nok speaks perfectly English and Rudi speaks Dutch, German and Spanish in addition. 

If you are looking to stay at a unique eco resort in a relaxed and peaceful environment with impeccable service, look no further! This place is a gem and if it wasn't so far away from Canada, I'd be back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrive from CHM and CHR trying to find somewhere in nature for kids enjoyment. We found out a place which took us to drive to countryside and hills left side of A2 motorway driving from CHR to Mai Sai...either Nok of husband Rudy we very helpful to drive us, and surprise us with their warmth welcome on a quite fresh temperature. Fireplace was working and the family atmosphere was in. Lovely place, nice owners and very warmth family. Looks like to be in the Austrian Alps but with the Thai warmth,
We wish them all the best and hope to come back and higly recommend this place & Nok's family without any doubt.
Pacharapon K. & Edward &younh ladies.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Nok's Garden Resort for a couple of days but somehow wish we could stay longer. Nok's Garden Resort is a bit north of Chiang Rai but definitely worth the detour (Nok proposed to pick us up at the bus station in Chiang Rai). When we arrived we had a warm welcome by Nok, Rudi and their lovely young daughter Martina. The spacious bungalows are very clean and maybe a bit too big for only the two of us.

We also really appreciated the time Rudi took to explain all the nice places around (there are a few you really won't want to miss). He even showed us around the area by motorbike (which we could rent for a good price).

The dinners that Nok prepared were really delicious and prepared with local fresh vegetables. The breakfast was (until now) the best we had in Thailand (and we spent 2 months traveling in Thailand..)
After dinner you can decide to have a chat with the owners at the dining table or stay at your bungalow, the choice is yours.

If you want to escape the stress of the cities in a quiet surrounding or if you simply want to relax for a couple of days then look no further Nok's Garden resort has it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Chan, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's already the 5th time we come here, and every time we enjoy it so much. The beatifull garden, the breakfast with so many fruit and everything you like, and the very good diners. And then ofcourse the friendly and helpfull hand of Nok and Rudi and their lovely daughter Martina. We travel around with the bicycle and keep coming back to Nok and Rudi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nok's Garden Resort was a wonderful place to stay. Gorgeous comfortable studios, delicious fruit from the lavishly planted garden, great company and helpful local advice from Nok and Rudi. We were taken on a walk up in to the nearby mountains, to see a Karen village, and stopped for a swim in the deserted lake. Meals were personally designed for us by Nok- so good! Nok even arranged for the best massage, after our long jungle walk.

Room Tip: All rooms have a covered verandah overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nok's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nok's Garden Resort

Address: Chiang Rai 57110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nok's Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.