We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little escape from Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Connect Cafe

Connect Cafe
170-171 Moo 18, Prasobsuk Road | Tambon Wiang, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
+66 53 754 181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 164 restaurants in Chiang Rai
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Connect Cafe': Coffee & Homemade Cuisine. We offer Thai/Western home-style food and drinks for everyone. We provide our customers delicious food/drinks, comfortable seats, jazzy atmosphere that everyone can enjoy. And for Vegetarians, we have the whole menu just for you! Come check us out! We are just opposite the old bus station.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Little escape from Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed in Chiang Rai one night but found ourselves at this cute cafe 3 times. It has a lovely atmosphere, with friendly staff and good well priced food. The decor is well done and feels like you are in cafe in another part of the world, nice little break from the crazy streets if Thailand. Also free wifi with a purchase over 50 baht! :) and you can use the power points at a small cost

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    43
    19
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“one of the nicest cafés in CR”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

good food, very good coffee, cosy seats, reasonable prices, friendly people.

Until you look at the large price table and notice that they (like a few other places) charge you for recharging phones or other gadgets. Not ot mention the other overpriced services they offer. This makes them look greedy and ruins the otherwise good impression. It's true that the price for electricity has skyrocketed in recent years in Thailand. And in a café like this, they must keep the aircon running all day. But charging a small battery has nothing to do with it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Fresh Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just a nice relaxing place to have a meal. Right across the street from the bus station. If you miss western food or a good smoothie, this is your place. Prices are reasonable as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was my favorite restaurant in Chiang Rai. Right near the bus station, it had a nice open-air atmosphere with comfortable chairs/couches, a great menu with lots of vegetarian options, delicious food, and friendly staff. Clearly caters to the backpacking crowd, with Backpacker magazines on travel on hand for reading over a coffee. I'm no longer a backpacker myself but thought it was an excellent find.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Retro Dinning Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Not a bad little café, but not the best. They have a pretty good selection of foods and the service as good. Their menus where a little old and tattered and could do with an update. My wives Cashew and Chicken was dry and she did not enjoy it. My Pasta was pretty good. It was also hot as there is no A/C. Plus the lake of proper tables and chairs is not good. It's too hard to eat a meal sitting so low. They also charge to charge your phone or laptop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connect Cafe also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Connect Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Connect Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.