We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Favola at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Favola at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
221/2 Moo 20 Kwaewai Road,Robwieng, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
+66 53603333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 164 restaurants in Chiang Rai
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: WOOD FIRED FROM THE HEARTFAVOLA, a specialty Italian restaurant by the Kok River, is the ultimate riverside dining destination in Chiang Rai for the “lazy gourmet” in a contemporary country scene, with breathtaking views of the Kok River and surrounding Mountains either day or evening. The cuisine in Favola is more of a journey rather than a meal period reflecting its name which means “fable or story” in English, where simplistic Italian flavours are presented from our signature wood fired oven and char-grill along with an array other Authentic Italian favourites.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had dinner at Favola twice while staying at the Le Meridien. Service was attentive; food was delicious both the pasta dishes and the meat dishes; good wine list. I recommend this restaurant. If you go be sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienCR3160, Manager at Favola at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear globetrotterista,

It was fantastic to read your review and thank you for sharing your impressions of your time here at Favola.
Favola is the ideal location to escape, relax and enjoy a cold beer, wine or cocktail and ‘river watch’ from the comfort of our new furniture. Favola now offers an ever-changing all day dining menu where you can always find something to tempt your tastebuds, open from 10am daily.
In any case, thank you for sharing your experience and I hope that we will have the opportunity to have you return to Favola at Le Meridien Chiang Rai the next time your travel plans bring you back to Chiang Rai.

Regards

Scott Freund
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    39
    30
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

With few other dining options at the Meridien Chiang Rai, Favola is a safety net. Great burger. OK pizza.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienCR3160, Manager at Favola at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello BostonSlim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at Favola. I am glad that you were able to enjoy some pasta and a good burger in Favola.

Thank you again for taking time to review Favola

Regards

Scott Freund
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food but very overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a great little restaurant if you are staying at Le Meridien. I certainly wouldn't go out of my way to visit, though.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienCR3160, Manager at Favola at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear ATRoosevelt,

Thank you for review of Favola Restaurant. We are grateful for any feedback and comments.

Once again ATRoosevelt, thank you for taking the time to post your review and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for another Favola dinner

Regards

Scott Freund
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Italian lovely riverside setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We dined twice and really enjoyed on both occasions. Ate a variety of dishes and including pizza pastas and meat dishes. Little bit expensive for Thailand but the setting is gorgeous.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienCR3160, Manager at Favola at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear BeeBP99

Thank for your great comments about your experience at Favola. It was a pleasure to have you dine with us twice. I shared your feedback with the team and they were delighted!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you to Chiang Rai and Favola again one day soon.

Regards

Scott Freund
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various, UK, Aus, NZ, HK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We only had two pasta dishes but it was nice. Efficient service. Restaurant was full and we got the last table - which was in a corner and very dark so they gave us torches to view the menu! Nice extras - bread and dips etc.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienCR3160, Manager at Favola at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello fairhsa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at Favola. As you can imagine it is very busy here at the moment with our peak season, I am glad that you were able to enjoy some pasta and good service in Favola.

Thank you again for taking time to review Favola and I look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Rai again soon.

Regards

Scott Freund
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Favola at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Favola at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Favola at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.