We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greal feel to this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ben Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ben Guesthouse
351/10 Soi 4, Sankhong Noi Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 stars 98 Reviews
Donald
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Greal feel to this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Has a great feel and the young Thai couple who served us were so helpful even though I had totally booked the wrong dates they still gave us a room. We will be going back again next trip. A nice walk from the city centre, a bit out of the way but well worth it. Hire pushbikes or a motobike!

Room Tip: An end room maybe so you only have one neighbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    19
    12
    2
See reviews for
11
49
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed three nights here.Enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. On Christmas morning we even revived little gifts from the owner. They where very helpful,helping us organize our onward travel. They have a nice dinning room serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The location is 20 to 15 minutes walk from the center of town, it is out of the main city on a quiet back street. We stayed in a fan room, it was small but comfortable we spent most of the time in the hotel outside in the pleasant garden and pool area. We woke up a few times in the night because of dogs and some strange wild birds. The walls are not very thick and its a bit like camping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We are staying here for 2 night's -here as we write this. On arrival we realized I had booked wrong dates on agoda- no problem, they accomadated myself and two children in the two bed house till the next day for no extra cost. So lovely and helpful. With breakfast included and a swimming this place is excellent value. We organized a trek through reception, very helpful and the guide Beck was fabulous just the right amount of walking for 2 11yr olds. Lovely lunch in the jungle by a waterfall after boiling ourselves in the hot springs. This lovely peaceful paradise might be a 15min walk from town but it is worth every step.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very basic rooms but everything was as it should be. Don't go there if you want a romantic stay. Working fan and AC.
Did not eat there, so don't know if it's good or not.
Nice pool, and very friendly staff. Booked a tour from Ben Guesthouse and got served very well.

Aproximately 20 minute walk to the city center. Hired a bike at Fat Free, so that was way easier.

Right next to the sunday night market. Very nice market to visit!

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the same building as the reception. Some other guests stayed there and weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ben's Guesthouse is one of the oldest guesthouses of the town Chiang Rai, even famous far back in pre-internet times when travelguides like 'Thailand on a Shoestring' and the unsurpassable German language guide of Stefan Loose guided the adventurous tourists that were visiting the north of Thailand. It was not only mentioned but also recommended in both.
Yes, small scale Ben's Guesthouse has changed: nowadays it's super clean, has fresh rooms with aircon, fans, warm showers and wifi, something one never could dream of in the old days and it offers all comfort and services, but what I like about it is that the atmosphere basically remained the same: totally relaxed, friendly, everything is possible and there are no 'musts'.
It's this magical mix of privacy and the feeling of belonging to a travelling family at the same time. I like it, but that's, of course, my personal feeling!
I am a Dutchman living in Chiang Rai, who because of a storm (no electricity, heat and rooftiles flying through the air) recently chose to stay a night in a safe guesthouse in Chiang Rai.
Ben's Guesthouse was my choice (I stayed there once before, many years ago) and it turned out to be a good one. Yes, I can recommend it, you get a lot for ancient prizes. My compliments for the sympathic couple that is running it (the lady does her best, but her husband is fluent in English)!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

this place is certainly nothing terrible. nice layout, rooms, big open spaces, pool, breakfast is ok (dont get iced coffee). service is average, staff very dull and seem uninterested. they gave our friends a lift to bus station the day before, that was nice..then when we left today they told us to catch a taxi..it cost them a star.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here twice within the month of August, in a twin share room with fan, however on both occasions no one else checked Into the room so I had it all I myself. It's close to the centre, within walking distance and has a lovely pool. The staff were friendly, aside from one but all round a really pleasant stay. Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Guesthouse

Address: 351/10 Soi 4, Sankhong Noi Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ben Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.