We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lek House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lek House to your Saves list
Lek House
95 Banphaprakan Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A surprise find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in October 2010. We'd looked at a nearby guesthouse online and were trying to find it. Around the corner we saw Lek House which looked too expensive, but saw some backpackers leaving, so asked them how much it was. We got a great double room for just over $20AUD including a good sized breakfast, wifi, tv, aircon, small swimming pool, bar/restaurant. Can't go wrong. As one other reviewer said, it's more like a boutique hotel, rather than a budget one. Wifi worked fine on husband's iPod, but had trouble connecting on my laptop, so I used computer at the bar. Room was clean, modern, and had a welcoming feel (proximity of toilet might be a problem for some - it's separated by a wall from bedroom, but not closed off). Floors could do with some tiles or other floor covering (polished/patterned concrete when we were there). Had a good street stall meal first night, lots of stalls and local-style restaurants close by. Had a magnificent meal in Lek House restaurant on our second night (see photo) huge serve of local river fish with Thai spices at a very cheap price. This place was a good find, much, much, better than the guest house we were originally looking at. Great value!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
36
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NSW, Aus
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

On arrival they helped us with our luggage but check in was a little difficult with the staff that were there speaking little english. Even when we gave a copy of our email there was still confusion with the rooms. In the end we payed more than had planed because to get 2 rooms with aircon ment one upstairs and one down and with 3 kids this wasn't practical. So we ended up paying more and got the spa room opposite the kids room. Even still its cheap and the rooms are nice and well equiped. Kids room - air con double $17aus Our room - air con, spa room (huge double spa bath) $45aus *aprox prices*

Lek House was chosen by us because of the pool.....we didn't end up using because we were so busy but although a small swim up bar style pool it looked inviting and we were disapointed we didn't have time to use it.

Breakfast was included in the room price toast, eggs, bacon, juice and coffee. A simple breakfast but was tasty, hot and fresh.

The staff were always helpful despite there lack of english and for the price you can't go far wrong. We'd be happy to stay here next visit to Chiang Rai.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Currently backpacking in Thailand and we have just stayed here for 6 nights. Very comfortable room. Very clean. Good location too. The staff are very friendly. Don't stay here for the pool though as it's not in a swimable state.

Room Tip: room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

This review is based on my stay in Room 11. Everything about Lek House was great… EXCEPT the room. Therefore, I cannot recommend this place.

The restaurant was great; very delicious and reasonably priced. The staff were all very nice and helpful. One woman spoke English well, one so-so, and the rest didn’t speak any, so communicating was a little difficult at times, but nothing that couldn’t be overcome. The guesthouse had a motorbike that I rented for a good price that ran well.

About the room: There was what sounded like a small elephant living under the bathroom floor. All day and all night, at random intervals, this “elephant” would sound off. Sometimes it was short and quiet; sometimes it was loud and long, or any other possible combination. This was usually quite loud and occurred 24 hours a day. I am a very light sleeper and my sleep was shattered every night, multiple times a night, by this sound. To top it off, there are also a bunch of roosters and dogs that start going crazy at around 05:00, but this seems to be the case everywhere in northern Thailand.
Additionally, the room was very bare. At the low price I paid, I don’t expect closets, but simply putting some hooks on the walls would go a long way to make the place more functional.

SO, come to Lek House for a meal, but if you plan on sleeping, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Namtha, Laos
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Lek House really is excellent value for money in Chiang Rai. We stayed in several different places before finding Lek House and it definitely did not disappoint. The restaurant was great too and even after we left, to stay at a friends house, we came back several times to eat here. Our room was great, quiet and hot water was great too.

The only downside was the wifi wasn't working properly when we were there, the owner said that only a few people could connect. It seemed their router was set up incorrectly. When we discussed this with the owner she was really apologetic and let us use her own personal laptop to use the internet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed only one night in Lek house. Our group stayed in rooms 6, 8, and 9.
Behind room 6, 7, 8, and 9 there is a very loud water pump that, on average, started every 72 seconds, worked for 3 seconds, and then started again 72 seconds later. This goes on all night and kept us from getting any type of sound rest.
The room had a shower with clogged drain.
Although the room was not adjacent to the street, the traffic noise was as loud as if we were adjacent.
The staff was lovely, very nice when we asked to get a refund for the 2nd night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We selected Lek House after reading other Trip Advisor reviews. It truly does represent excellent value for money with great friendly service from the family who own it, and a really nice ambience. The rooms are basic and the bed is a bit hard, but at 550THB per night, we had no complaints. We enjoyed cocktails at the bar on both nights we stayed, and the meals we had were all really nice. We were able to park our rental car at the entrance which gave us peace of mind. Free wi-fi is available, and there is a small swimming pool with a swim up bar that looked inviting. We reckon if you're on a budget in Chiang Rai, take a look at this place first. In fact, even if you're not on a budget, it's worth a look.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lek House

Address: 95 Banphaprakan Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lek House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek House Hotel Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lek House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.