We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we could have asked for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palm Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   375/1 Moo.19 T.Robvieng | Muang District, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 106 hotels in Chiang Rai
Madison
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything we could have asked for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

You won't find this place in any travel books...yet. But when more travelers meet the live-in staff and more than helpful owners, it will not stay quiet for long. The facility is only a few years old and site a 5 minute songtaew ride from the downtown clock tower. We stayed here with my parents for New Years and it was fantastic. Even in the peak of tourist season, the owners were our personal concierge and took care of anything we asked. The New Year's price included a wonderful buffet dinner and even free Thai whisky! Near midnight, Tim (a co-owner/ do-everything man) started a great bonfire and began lighting of hundreds of fireworks. From the open space in the back yard here we could see lanterns and fireworks from around the whole city.

Rooms were well-stocked and immaculate. The included buffet breakfast in the morning was beyond my expectations and the coffee was brewed! (a rarity in much of Thailand) If this was their treatment when they were entertaining a hotel full of guests, I can't imagine what more they would have done if it were less busy. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Chiang Rai. It is a family run new hotel and the staff is excellent. On the first morning, I missed breakfast (which is excellent with eggs, cereal, rice, and even Chicken panang on my last day), and they reopened for me and even cooked me eggs. The owners are a married couple. The husband is originally from California and the wife is from Chiang Rai and they are personable and genuinely want to make your stay enjoyable. They drew up maps for me regarding where they recommended that I go. They called for a scooter for me.

The room was very clean with free wi-fi. The hotel is also willing to pick you up from the airport if you call them beforehand. I also would like to add that I loved Chiang Rai. Nice relaxing town in northern Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Very friendly staff and overall clean hotel. Staff helpfull . Very quiet location with no street noise (and dust). Breakfast adequate for price.Drawbacks are the distance from the center (staff will call a tuk-tuk - $2) and no flyscreens, so sleeping with windows closed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

From the minute we arrived at this hotel, we knew this was a good choice. We stayed for 3 nights and were impressed by the cleanliness of the whole hotel. Our rooms were spotless and quiet ... perfect for sleeping. The owners greeted us when we arrived and made sure we were comfortable for our entire stay. The breakfast was good with good coffee too. All of the staff went out of their way to show hospitality. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Chiang Rai. It is only a short tuk-tuk ride to the middle of the town (about $2.00 US) which the hotel desk will call for you. We were 2 couples and a single guy ranging in age from 35-50. We all loved it and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

didnt seem to be anyoneelse there so we had them waiving us off in the morniongs and greeting us when we came home, they were very helpful trying to find our veggie restaurants etc and verey generally very sweet - hotel slightly remote (10 minutes from town) so they had to order a taxi for us each time but who cares its so cheap anyway! rooms a bit basic but clean

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

From the minute we arrived we felt welcomed at Palm Garden and throughout our stay the staff were not only helpful but also very knowledgeable about the local area (and up to date football scores!) and assisted us in planning our stay - including a 'crash' course in driving a scooter!! So even though this hotel isnt in the centre of Chiang Rai, there are many options available to you from renting bicycles and scooters to renting a car for the day (with driver) all for extremely reasonable prices - we rented the scooter for around £6 a day. It was a great way to see the city and surrounding areas.

In terms of food at the hotel - we couldnt have asked for more. Breakfast (included in room rate) was excellent: freshly cooked, tasty and lots of choice. We also had dinner a couple of nights and the menu was varied and also good value.

Overall an excellent stay, made even better by superb staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Quite fonctional place, stayed 2 nights and appreciated the friendly and efficient service.
The staff is very helpful and want you to enjoy your stay at the hotel and Chiang Rai.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Address: 375/1 Moo.19 T.Robvieng | Muang District, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 106 hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Garden is a boutique hotel with modern decoration and amenities. All guests will enjoy a quite and relaxing stay. Hotel staff takes great pride in providing the very best service making guests feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.