We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible visit to Le Meridien Chiang Rai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort to your Saves list
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Value deal from THB3820++
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Incredible visit to Le Meridien Chiang Rai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at the Le Meridian 2 weeks ago in Chaing Rai, and could not have been happier with our stay. We were upgraded to a great room upon our arrival.

The property is beautiful and very well maintained. We had an excellent dinner at their Italian restaurant at a table overlooking the river. We even watched young monks in orange robes playing soccer on the other side of the river while we dined! The food and beverage manager was great and was fun to visit with during our stay.

Justin the general manager was also tremendous! Prior to our arrival we knew that the resort was fully booked and not available for a 3rd night, but Justin kept watching for any cancellations. Unfortunately none developed, but Justsin was kind enough to call us at the River House resort, where we spend our 3rd night, just to thank us again for our business!!!

Thanks again, Justin.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Dear scmpsc

It was lovely meeting you both during your visit to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time with us, especially your dinner in Favola. I've already thanked the team for taking great care of you, I just wish I was able to squeeze you in for your last night.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your very kind words, it's much appreciated. I wish you both a great year and I really do hope to welcome you back again sometime in the near future. If so, please let me know in advance so I can take care of your details personally.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    305
    81
    26
    8
See reviews for
230
606
61
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Took a vacation from our vacation at the Chiang Rai Meridien, booking a good internet rate and upgraded on arrival. Can't say enough positive about this Meridien. Hotel food, gym, pool, management and staff were excellent. Hired a car through the hotel for day trip to Golden Triangle. Ate at LaLavelee down the road and liked that, too. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear JaneInVT

Thanks so much for taking time to write about your visit to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, I definitely can't ask for more than two thumbs up. I'm so pleased you were well taken care of and the team were thrilled to listen to your wonderful comments.

I hope I get the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roi Et, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, the staff is very kind and speaks English very well, and the food (especially the breakfast) was outstanding. But the staff really went above and beyond when we left a gift package of cheeses from the states in their office fridge and they took it to the bus station to send it to us in Chiang Mai. The staff did not rest until they were sure we were able to find the station and get the package. We would stay at Le Meridian Chiang Mai again just for the ambience and hospitality, but now will definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear chrisanddora

It was wonderful to read about your recent experience with us, thank you for taking time to share how our team assisted in getting your cheese to you in Chiang Mai after your departure. I've shared your feedback with our team whom were thrilled you wrote about it, and I'm even more thrilled that you'll definitely be back again. Please do let me know when your travel plans bring you back this way so I may thank you in person, and take care of your reservation details personally.

Once again, thank you.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this stunning property located on the riverfront in Chiang Rai. The grounds are immaculate place of serenity and tranquillity with all the amenities you could want or imagine! The service is beyond perfect and rooms are more than spacious and include every feature , the restraunts/food are fabulous and the Pavarti spa services (spa located on perfect tranquil river front spot) transforms you and transports you to a dreamy state. Don't miss dinner at Favola's resatraunt on the riverfront patio next to the woodburning firepit- Stunningly romantic! Breakfast buffett is awesome with warm freshly cooked stuffed or plain croissants served to your table throughtout the buffet! Don't miss the Musilli coupled with the Pear Compote- Awesome stuff! We'll be returning reguarlly!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Dear georgeblasvegas

I know I've already sent you a separate email thanking you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay, but I wanted to make sure this reached you also. I was so pleased to see you'll be back again so do drop me a note when you next plan your trip so I can take care of your reservation details personally.

Wishing you all the best and see you again very soon.

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poste Lafayette
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This hotel/resort is everything anyone would want in a relaxing environment. The contemporary building is surrounded by natural beauty and tranquility of pools of water and river. The comfortable rooms are spacious and attractive. The service is impecable. We have been pampered since we arrived and have enjoyed all the amenities including the two outstanding restaurants.
We hope one day to get back to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear miltbatman

Firstly, apologies for writing late, I thought I had covered all reviews but seem to have missed your wonderful comments. Thank you for taking the time to write. The tranquility of our resort is one of the most commented aspects of our guests stay and I'm pleased you also felt the same. More importantly I'm very pleased you felt pampered during your visit. I've since read your comments to our team whom were thrilled you thought their service was impecable.

It's fantastic to read reviews such as yours as it really puts in to perspective our focus on training linking it to our delivery. Thanks for making our day!

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

All was perfect. (Meals, pool, personal, welcoming etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Dear albireo0

I have to say this is the shortest review I've ever read on TripAdvisor, however I'd like to thank you for letting me know your visit was perfect.

What a way to start my day, thank you!

All the very best and I hope we see you again in the future.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed two nights at this exceptional hotel - the room was large and beautifully appointed, the grounds impeccable, the pool stunning as you swim and look over the river, the buffet breakfast memorable and exotic, and the staff wonderful. We were lucky enough to stay here as part of a tour package, otherwise it would be too pricey. The hotel food/drink prices were on the high side for Thailand, but the setting is beautiful. Free computer use too!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Dear Blondesteven

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, it was great to read your comments. I'm glad you loved our large rooms & grounds, we get a lot of people commenting on both & the team were equally thrilled to hear you thought they were wonderful.

We do run many specials and packages throughout the year though, so those not on a tour will be able to take advantage of our very attrative rates. I noted your comments on F+B pricing and we're currently in the middle of reviewing these to ensure we're priced competitively in the market.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back again in the future and thanks again for writing.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.