We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort to your Saves list
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Rd | Rop Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Chiang Rai Winter 25% Off
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 Reviews
Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a deluxe garden view room which was on the fourth floor under the overhanging roof from which it was difficult to see a garden. The balcony was overlooked by people walking past which was not comfortable.
The room was very comfortable and spacious with lots of space to hang and place clothes.
The staff at the pool worked hard to find a lounger, and arrange the umbrellas as needed.
The courtesy bus is a necessity but we experienced difficulty a couple of times getting a seat even though we tried to reserve in the morning. (The driver was excellent.) The hotel is a long way out of town and one needs to factor this into any arrangements.

Room Tip: The balconies of the western facing rooms are very hot in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Gulliva

We gladly appreciate the time that you took to write this review. I was sorry to hear of your disappointing experience regarding the room assignment and to book the seats in our free shuttle van. I am not proud to know when we failed to delight a guest. I am however always grateful for the feedback so that we can learn, improve , change and do better next time. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Please do let me know if I may ever be of service in the future. In the time, that your travel schedule brings you back to Chiang Rai, I would like to ensure that all arrangements for your stay are in order. To that end I would invite you to contact me directly and I would be delighted to handle your reservation requirements personally.

Best regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    266
    73
    24
    4
See reviews for
210
535
55
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I spent 7 nights at the Le Meridien Chiang Rai. I found it to be very comfortable and the service first rate. The grounds a really beautiful and well kept. The pool and the grounds slope down to the river Mae Kok. My room was on the ground floor and had a single king. The bed was super comfortable and the room was quite spacious. It had a huge bathtub and a well appointed bath. Nice outside patio. Room service was a bit slow, but the food was quite good. Nice restaurants and two really good bars. The bar down by the river was our favorite. The drinks were good and the views of the Mae Kok River. Well you just have to see for yourself. The hotel itself is gated and 5 minutes to the airport. That was great also, but it is far enough away that it is quite

Room Tip: The morning breakfast is very good. I would ask for a room near the pool and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear thecolonel1215

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post this review…and for your kind and generous comments. It is kind of you to mention the pool and the comfort of our bed. Both these areas continue to get positive feedback from our guests.
Thank you again for your kind remarks. I do hope that we may welcome you again at Le Meridien Chiang Rai.
Warm regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful suite at Le Meridien with the most comfortable bed in Thailand! Loved the large room with a beautiful view of the infinity pool and the bed and duvet were divine! The bathroom was large and beautiful, and the shower extra-ordinary. Drawback was that the hotel was completely booked while we were there, and the extensive breakfast buffet was a mob scene. We chose Northern Thailand for the serenity, and although this hotel did try to keep in style with the country, it did feel commercial. The service was missing, as they were overbooked for their shuttles into town, and did not suggest adding an extra shuttle, even though the hotel was fully booked. We did enjoy dinner at the Italian restaurant, though the wine prices were very high.

Room Tip: loved the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Roni4451

Thank for your great comments about your experience at our resort. I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed our breakfast. Thank you for highlighting the pool, room as well as the bed and duvet. I am delighted that we made your stay special and memorable.

I do note your comment in the serive of our staff, specifically regarding Wine pricing. I was sorry to know that you were disappointed. I am not proud to know when we failed to delight a guest. I am however always grateful for the feedback so that we can learn and improve. I had thought that our Wine prices were competitive with other hotels in Chiang Rai, but I will check again. It is important to me that our guests feel that they received value for money.

Guest feedback is a wonderful gift – and I thank you again for yours. I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you in Chiang Rai again in the future.

Kind regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

One of the best hotels (more like a resort) I have ever stayed at. Beautiful grounds, quiet, large clean room, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Great breakfast and close to the town and night market. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear butboo

Many thanks for your warm words. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay - and experienced "Awesome"! Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With kind regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the begining of Febuary 2013 and what a great choice it was.
From start to finish we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was very nice with great views of the river and swimming pools.It was also in a very quiet area which is exactly what we asked for.
The grounds of the hotel are very extensive and are kept to a very high standard. It is not realy possible to walk into town from the hotel , but they do offer a free shuttle bus service but my advise would be to book this early as it does get full and to my knowledge they do not put on a seccond bus so you would then have to book a taxi at the going rate.We used the shuttle to get into town but most times got a tuk tuk back as then we could do it at our own pace.
Breakfast was also great, we like asian style brecky and there was always a very good choice and those who like American style also had plenty to choose from.Possibly my only gripe would be that breakfast time was always very quiet and sometimes this spreads apathy, so although the staff were never very busy, i always had to keep asking for my coffee to be topped up (small thing i know, but there it is.)
The other main hotel in Chiang Rai is the Dusit Island which we have stayed at a couple of times but in my opinion Le Meridien is far superior in all aspects.

Room Tip: Become an SPG member and ask for top floor with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear BiffaChristchurch

Clearly you spend a lot of time travelling and therefore are well-versed in hotel operations. We were delighted to read your comments and to know that we passed your high standards. Thank you very much for posting your positive review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort...and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai.

With warm regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

An incredible breakfast buffet (but confirm the meal is indeed included in your room rate at check-in---an unexpected surprise at check-out...but worth it!), the friendliest and kindest staff, a gorgeous spa, clean and roomy well-equipped fitness room, convenient shuttle service, delicious food in all restaurants with wonderful service...and the room!!! Oh, I had a gorgeous view of the river. I would be grateful to be lucky enough to return to Chiang Rai and stay at Le Meridien. I had a wonderful stay, and highly recommend! Clean, comfortable, and elegant rooms on a beautiful property.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear spassaffe

Thank you very much for this positive and encouraging review. Your comments regarding service are a joy to read. Whenever we receive a Trip Advisor review, we always share it with our hotel team at the daily morning meeting. The team beamed when they heard your warm words. Thank you for highlighting the service of our staff, Spa, Fitness, Room as well as delicious food in all restaurants with wonderful service. I am delighted that we made your stay special and memorable.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Lanna kingdom again.

Best regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Not only was our room lovely, well appointed, with a great view of the river, but the hotel itself was stunning. The gardens, walkways, artwork, crafts, lighting, design elements, and indoor/ outdoor spaces were amazing and a joy from every viewpoint. We loved the attention to detail of the hotel, which was also reflected in the food services. The breakfast every morning was varied, well laid out, artful, delicious, and had unique additions that we have not seen elsewhere. There were not only usual western breakfast foods, but also Thai foods, smoothies, and a wide variety of dried fruits that we learned are actually prepared in a food dehydrator by the hotel kitchens. I was delighted with this range of foods and thought my daily egg white omelets were among the most delicious I have ever found. It is rare for a choice to be a "white omelet" but clearly every option was considered and offered. We had a great creative meal at the hotel's Italian restaurant where the manager was very attentive to specific requests and even offered a taste to make sure something was not too spicy for me. I was not as thrilled with the menu offerings in the main dining room but then fusion dishes are never my choice since they tend to be murky on describing ingredients and the wait staff did not have as strong language skills as the other restaurant to explain and make sure about potential allergens. My husband was delighted with all the dishes he had and they were all certainly gorgeous. BRAVO

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms on the upper floors nearest to the river have the best river views and the most pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud M, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear larktrav,

A real big thank you for this great positive review about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort.
Thanks as well for taking the time to post two different reviews about the hotel itself and Favola, our Italian restaurant under Favola page!
This is fantatstic for us and my team.
Once again, thank you so much and I'm so glad to read all your excellent feedback about us.
I've shared your comments with the team and we do thank you both very much.

When would we have the pleasure to meet you again?

All the very best,

Renaud Mahe
Director of Food + Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Rd | Rop Wiang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.