We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, free internet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The North Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The North Hotel to your Saves list
The North Hotel
612/100-101 Sirikorn Market, Chiang Rai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable, free internet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The rooms are clean and basic, and since we were only in there to sleep, quite well suited to our needs. There was some initial confusion because we were a large group; staff seemed to think that we had booked several large rooms to share and led us (carrying all our luggage) all the way to the top floor. I didn't get a chance to have a proper look around, but I don't think there was air-conditioning up there. We spent a bit of time going up and down the stairs until we found our twin-share rooms. I liked the charming decor in the lobby where breakfast (cereal and toast is free, additional menu items can be ordered) was served in the morning.

Room Tip: You can get rooms that have a door opening directly onto that floor's balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
7
33
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The rooms are okay, a little small and basic, but fairly clean. I stayed for 2 nights, but the room was not services in between
The wifi works downstairs, but I could not get it to work on the "2nd" floor.
The staff are nice when you can actually find them, but they are mostly absent. I tried phoning all three numbers on their website to make a reservation and in the end just turned up. I also sent them an email and received a reply after I had checked in.
The location is excellent however, and the price (at 450 a night) was very good too.
So long as you value location and price above service quality, then this is a good option.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

What we English call 'shabby chic'. Clean & comfortable, and if you get a room at the back it's also quiet despite being so close to the wonderful night bazaar. Charming terrace for just my room & one other. A few minutes walk away from the bus station and even closer to the flower market and the meat/fish market.
Free use of the computers & internet access and an acceptable breakfast.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

The Hotel is situated in perfect location just walking distance from Night bazaar. The rooms are quite good but abit small with reasonable price and good staff. BUT DONT FORGET TO GET EARPLUGS ALONG SINCE YOU WILL HEAR cock-a-doodle-do WHOLE NIGHT.
It seems that the hotel has a room filled with cocks and hens.
If you are looking for a relaxation then this hotel is NOT RECOMMEND since you wouldn't be able to sleep well

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Only one lovely member of staff was helpful re travel arrangements, tours etc .Others totally disinterested and more concerned with their hair mobile phones and visiting friends . Breakfast very poor also . Rooms adequate but tired and shabby. Perhaps charming a few years ago but charmless now !
however good quiet location near night market and bus station

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes uk
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I stayed at the North Hotel for a few nights at the start of my recent Thailand holiday. The hotel is in a great spot near to the night market, flower market and central shopping/eating areas, nearly everything you need is on the doorstep or a short walk away. The well known temples are about a 10 minute walk away. The bus station is around the corner, although it's worth noting that a lot of the long distance buses now depart from the southern bus station, a ten minute tuk tuk ride away.
The hotel is clean, with a small lobby and cafe area, which also has a few tables outside overlooking the street. There are some PCs for use at the rear and wi fi throughout.
The rooms are simple, smallish and the bathrooms compact, but the beds are comfortable, the aircon good (if you need it) and there are large fridges in the room. tv etc.
Best of all the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant and can arrange things at short notice. Take a look at the nice handmade, hand-dyed woven scarfs, table mats, napkins etc made by the delightful Issan lady who works at the hotel, they are for sale by reception and good quality.
I'd happily stay in this good value place again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinjarra, Australia
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

The hotel met our needs to be inside our budget, clean, quiet and comfortable with A/C. Even though we only stayed 1 night, we found the staff helpful and friendly. We booked by email (add Email Address: ---) www.thenorth.co.th. It’s located behind the old bus station from where local buses depart, including the bus to Chiang Khong on the Laos border. We were a bit apprehensive at first because the area was behind the markets and looked a bit run down and “seedy” but it was fine. The bare concrete floor on the whole of the 1st floor was unusual – one wondered if it was part of a plan to install new floor coverings throughout!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Hotel

Address: 612/100-101 Sirikorn Market, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 107 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Hotel is a small, family-and-friends-run hotel in the city centre of Chiang Rai. We aim at giving our guests good quality and personal service for a reasonable price. We are centrally located in a quiet street with the bus station and The Night Bazaar in one end, and Sirikorn [silikon] Market, the fruit and flower market on the other. We are also within walking distance from everywhere in downtown Chiang Rai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Hotel Chiang Rai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The North Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.