We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing at the Regent Cha-am” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   849/21 Petchkasem Road | Cha-Am Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Cha-am
4.0 of 5 stars 413 Reviews
Gillingham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing at the Regent Cha-am”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

I've just returned from two weeks at The Regent Cha-am, (Holiday Inn), following my fourth visit. My wife has stayed with The Regent Cha-am some nine times. I think this is testimony to the courtesy shown by all staff, the setting and beach.

I agree with the comments of other visitors, in that the prices of food and drinks in the hotel is high, as compared to the village just a 5 minute walk away. There are many Thai bars and restaurants in the village, all offering good food and drinks at reasonable prices, and it appears that most of the hotel residents take advantage of this, rather than pay the hotel prices which are close to double. The atmosphere in the village is great as well, as you tend to meet up with other guests who you've spoken to around the pool.

In the main, we used the lucky bar in the village both for drinks and meals, although our travelling partners insisted on visiting John's bar on occasions for the English meals, including roasts, much to my dismay. The food however is good, and Thai meals are available, albeit a limited choice.

It is mainly an hotel and resort for the 40 plus age group, with little excessive drinking witnessed. The resort of Hua Hin is some 18 Kilometers away, about the equivalent of £12.00 for a taxi there and back (people carriers included), at any time of day or night, and is much more lively with many more bars and restaurants. There is also the night market to visit and barter for your goods, and a Tesco within a shopping center for those who so require.

We have found on our fourth visit, that we are reunited with guests from previous years, some of whom visit the hotel annually for some 6 - 8 weeks, escaping the European winter.

All in all, The Regent Cha-am is a wonderful hotel to enjoy a relaxing holiday, a resort that we intent to revisit on many future occasions.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    175
    77
    25
    9
See reviews for
99
178
17
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Just returned from the Holiday Inn after a really enjoyable holiday. The hotel is fine and spacious and the staff are friendly. The hotel was only around half full so it was easy enough to get a sunbed, although all the prime locations are taken each day by the regulars who bung the poolside staff to save them. The hotel is very popular with retired people, many of whom are there for extended stays of around 2 months or more. A lot of them come back time after time.

The downside to the hotel is their pricing policy for food and drink, which turns the hotel into a ghost town in the evening. On our first night we didn't know the ropes, and after a pricey meal went into the 'Fun Pub'. The place was absolutely dead and we were the only people in there for the hour and a half that we stayed. It was quite embarrassing, as we felt guilty about walking out and leaving the band to play to nobody. I expect hotels to be pricier, but the difference compared to outside of the hotel is phenomenal.

We soon found out that everybody seems to dine out at 'the village' which is a 4 minute walk from the hotel (turn left at the front of the hotel, down the ramp and walk alongside the car park and you are almost there). There is a good selection of restaurants and bars there, we ate in quite a few and they were all pretty good. The prices in the village are massively cheaper than the hotel. The drinks are much much cheaper as well eg 65-70 baht for a large bottle of beer, as opposed to about 130 baht for a small bottle in the hotel !

The hotel has a crazy golf course in the grounds and we made the mistake of having a game. It is poorly maintained and you putt on concrete, so the ball goes anywhere and seldom stops. A complete waste of time, so if you are tempted to play - don't bother, you have to pay as well.

Another word of warning. In the village there is a guy who sells DVD's of the latest films for about 100 baht. Our party bought a total of 19 but on testing them back home only 10 of them worked and one of those was a different film to that shown on the cover.

If you want a quiet relaxing holiday, this is a very good choice. The beach is massive, although the sea is generally quite choppy and most people swim in the hotel pool. One of the plus sides for us was that there are no noisy distractions (no head banging music around the pool, or anywhere else) and all the locals were exceptionally friendly.

We went on one trip out which we booked at the 'Lucky Bar' in the village. The guy who takes you has a top of the range people carrier, which is really comfortable and his prices are the same as the taxi drivers. The people who run that bar are very friendly and went out of their way to help one of our party who had arrived with some really bad bites on her leg, which she got in Bangkok.

There is one English type restaurant in the village which is run by an old guy called John and his Thai wife. John could easily double for Victor Meldew and tends to go on a bit with his comments and moans, but the food is very good and the kitchens are spotlessly clean, so if you want a change from Thai food its worth a visit (although he does Thai food as well).

I can easily see why people go back to this hotel year after year, as the hotel is peaceful and the resort is a welcome change from the over commercialised places that you find almost everywhere nowadays. There aren't too many people under 30 around, so it probably wouldn't suit those who want a livelier time. The hotel runs a shuttle bus to and from Hua Hin, which is a bigger and more lively place, a few kilometers down the road..

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Just returned from our holiday to three centre to Thailand. This is our second visit to the area and our first to the hotel.

Transfer is about 3 hours, including a stop, if you are travelling via private transfer/car, then the transfer is likely to be about 15-25minutes quicker.

We had a great stay, and would certainly look to return in the future, and can happily recommend it to my customers in the future. The hotel has a good mix of Nationalities, which I think is healthy. Finnish are the most popular, followed by the British and German market. The Russian market are not present at the hotel.

Booked a superior room, mountain view, and it was great. I did a site inspection whilst there, and have to say are slightly better rooms than the seaview rooms, as they have been fully refurbished. All rooms have a balcony with a small table and two chairs.

The hotel is popular with repeat customers, and there were just a few families in the hotel. There is a play area and a kids pool section.

Breakfast is buffet, offering a good selection of European and Thai options. There is one omelette man, when at peek times is very busy. We opted for room only, and went out some mornings for breakfast, as some of the restaurants are open. They offer both continental and European options at a fraction of the price of the hotel, - as you expect from Thailand.

The hotel was not too busy when we were there, so you could always find a sunbed, - though there were a few people, who always managed to have the same beds day in day out!!

Room was cleaned daily, - have to say the person that cleaned our room was ok, but there always seemed something not done, or cleaned - this however, did not affect our overall enjoyment of our stay.

It was evident that people were bringing food and drink down to the pool area, but no-one mentioned anything. For lunch we tended to go down to the beach and left, to a restaurant called Rim Ha ad or Rim Ha rd depending on which sign you looked at!! We went to the Yellow Restaurant for lunch, and probably had our worst meal there - our fault for opting for a European lunch, I had a rather strange Tuna salad, way too much sauce, and consisted of just onion, tomatoe and tuna.

Entertainment in the hotel was low key, they had a resident band that played in the Fun Pub everynight.

The hotel do operate a shuttle service down to Hua Hin, if you are going down in the evening it does not come back until late, about 11pm, which is too long to be down in Hua Hin, there is not that much to do there. So would suggest using the shuttle down, and then arrange a taxi/tuk tuk back, which costs about 250-300 bahts, and you can come back when you want. The resort of Cha am also has a local taxi driver, who arranges taxis - go into the Internet cafe, towards the end of the resort, he can arrange a taxi, and the driver does speak some English as he used to work in a hotel.

The village of Cha am, is lovely, it is not a happening resort, so if you are wanting lots of late night bars and clubs, this is not the resort for you. If you are wanting a great selection of restaurants with a few bars, everything very relaxed and safe, then this is the resort for you.

I would certainly look to stay at this hotel again, and I will certainly be recommending it to my customers in the future.

If you would like further information or have any questions, feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldershot
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Just back from the Holiday Inn and had a great holiday. I'll try to add here all the little things you need to know, or at least what we looked for in a hotel.

We booked directly via the hotel ( not through Holiday Inn's website but the hotel's own email address). They gave us a great price because we work for an airline. Worth asking because tourism in Thailand is quiet at the moment. Even if we didn't get that rate I would have booked through Hotel.com but via a cashback website (eg. Quidco) who give you 10% back.. making the room about £43 per day room only.
Breakfast; £8 each in the hotel, or pop out to "the Village" ( 3 minute walk, turn left out of the front of the hotel). We found 2 restaurants in The Village which were good. "Sawa Dee" was very cheap; 2 excellent main courses and 2 drinks £6 total! but if they are over a third full don't bother.. only the owner serving so takes forever. The best restaurant we found was "The Family" restaurant. Breakfast, full english, tea/coffee and juice was £2.80 each. Dinner in the hotel..the restaurants are good, enjoyed the Italian and the other restaurant does some nice Thai food, but the quality is no better than in The Family restaurant and the price in the hotel is well over double the price. Our Italian meal came to £35 in the hotel,(still good!) but in The Family restaurant came to £15.

Right.. the room. Had a delux room, despite the name this is their basic room. They put us in a twin room, we asked immediately to be moved to a single kingsize bed room, and they moved us and the baby cot in minutes.
Superior rooms a little bigger with a bath instead of a shower. Wouldn't bother going for their bungalows..they looked very small!
The bedroom was modern, wooden floors, lcd tv with good amount of channels, kettle, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, small fridge, safe. Internet is in the room, though expensive and slow. The Village has an internet cafe..really nice bloke runs it. It cost the same for an hour in the Village as 3 minutes in the hotel!!!
Bathroom was small and could do with new tiles and a lick of paint. The shower was rubbish.. hot one minute, cold the next, skin boiling off the next!
The pools were lovely. The main pool has a very large childrens pool beside the main pool which is a great size. People do what they do in every hotel in the world.. go down at 7am to stick the towels on the beds!! So if you have young kids you have to do the same to set one of the very well covered bed areas. smaller umberllas are at the other beds.
The only critism I have about the pools was the floor around the pool. looked clean but when your feat were wet they turned black with the dirt! hopefully this will be addressed. The pool around at the Regency wing was lovely but too quiet for us!
the message near the pool was excellent..they really know their stuff. The wife had one on the beach every day for half the price and loved them... more european message than Thai, but at £4 a shot she spoilt herself! They are 200m up to the right as you look to the sea. They also do fruit for lunch. a pineapple was 40p and beautiful. Nice alternative for lunch.
If you want to go into Hua Hin ( Cha-am is dead!) take a taxi. not much more than the hotel bus and they wait for you. Taxi rank on the way to the village.
The staff in the hotel and the Village were wonderful. Our 15 month old boy was constantly hugged, kissed and kidnapped! in the hotel and the Village the staff in the restaurants took our boy for walks every time our meals came out to give us a break! Everyone was fantastic.

All in all the hotel was great value for money. Just makes 4*, but with a lick of paint and sprucing up it would definately be a solid 4*.
50% of the guests were drawing a pension! The rest were mostly families. Not really a lively place for 18 year olds looking for a party every night, so perfect for us!
The Marriot was the next hotel down. It was empty and looked a little soulless and over double the price... so save yourself a fortune and have a better stay here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

The hotel is outstanding. The picture on their advert does not do it justice. our room was upgraded on arrival and was fantastic. we were made to feel very welcome on arival with comlimentary welcome cocktail. the staff cannot do enough for you. they are so polite and discreet. the tea tree spa was just magical. don't use the massages on the beach.
the location suited us very well, being a short distance from the hustle and bustle of Hua Hin, but easily accessible through the hotel transport.
there is a small row of shops and resturants 5 minutes walk from the hotel where you can purchase essentials etc from the 7eleven shop there.
the best place we found to eat was a short walk along the beach to the left of the hotel to a place called little cha am shop. it was inexpensive, safe food and drink, on the beach and very friendly.
one word of caution - on arrival at bangkok do not be persuaded into taking a taxi to your hotel - find your rep - they will be there even if your flight is delayed.
trips from the hotel were very good and worth the money. you would not achieve all they do on your own in a taxi.
our holiday was excellent and we loved it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Travelled to thailand with my boyfriend staying at the holiday inn cha am, had a great stay, stayed in a delux room which was fab. The gounds are amazing, wanted a nice and quiet stay to relax and got exactly that. Would reconmend to anyone

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

This is a nice hotel for the price.
Very sleepy and peaceful. It is a bit out of the way, however this was one its advantages for us.

The breakfast buffet in the Sakuna was nice, however couldn't find any cheese.
Highly recommend the beer battered fish at the Sakuna which I had for dinner one night.

Not recommended for singles or the younger crowd as the vast majority of the guests were older european couples.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Address: 849/21 Petchkasem Road | Cha-Am Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cha-am
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#7 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort embraces an enchanting stretch of unspoiled beach along the sunrise side of the Gulf of Thailand. The resort naturally blends with its lush tropical garden surroundings. The rooms are accessed by airy, open corridors with soothing views of the vast park’s greenery or the twinkling blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Cha Am Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cha-Am
Regent Cha-Am
Cha-Am Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.