We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired. Very tired.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   849/21 Petchkasem Road | Cha-Am Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Cha-am
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Tired. Very tired.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Arrived from Bangkok via private transfer, and entered through a hedge of elephants! I kid you not. All credit to the groundsmen and their topiary skills. The road down to the main entrance is a building site. What used to be a crazy golf area surrounded by small buildings was being demolished, and on the other side of the road, some construction works were in progress. The lobby looks grand and imposing, with infinity water features and soft furnishings and a well staffed reception. Our room, on the first floor, wasn't ready on arrival, so we were advised to have a drink at the bar, and got charged 120 baht per small beer, (Chang), for our troubles! We were re-roomed to the 5th floor with views overlooking the main entrance and the building works. To be fair, the room was lovely, HUGE double bed, big bathroom, personal safe, and as clean as a whistle.
After unpacking, my partner and I went out to have a look around. This resort is big, very big. No map is provided and there is no overview of the facilities left in the room. We wandered aimlessly about, finding restaurants by chance, (Yellowtail). The hotel has an abundance of conference suites which were in constant use during our 8 day stay, which added to the feeling that the holidaymakers came second to the cash cow that is corporate entertaining. We arrived at the seafront, only to discover that all the exits had been taped off, as the beach and steps had been washed away. Whilst there is a beach to the left of the hotel, which does actually belong to the Regent chain, access is difficult, and on occasion, downright dangerous for children and the infirm.
Don't be fooled into thinking that this hotel is situated in either Cha-am or Hua Hin. Cha-am is about 12km away, and Hua Hin 20km, and the hotel makes no bones about charging to use their over priced buses to get you there,.
The local village, which reception reluctantly told us about, is a 5 minute walk away, and has all the facilities needed, banks, bars, dry cleaners, and very good, cheap restaurants. We can highly recommend the 'Village Bar', for inexpensive cocktails, and clean, welcoming surroundings.
So, in a nutshell, use the local taxis to get out and about, (400 baht return to Hua Hin), use the local restaurants and street food sellers, for top quality fare, and be aware that you are staying at the Regent Cha am 'Beach' Resort that doesn't have a beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    173
    77
    25
    9
See reviews for
98
177
17
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our second stay at this hotel. Stayed for a week. Arrived early hours of morning no refreshments available.
Room was big but needs some updating.
Breakfast ýou could wait a long time for a table but worth the wait as lots to choose fro.
Pools are lovely took part in aqua aerobics every day! Sun loungers need updating some horrible metal ones around. Ýou have to get up Megga early to put towel on sunbed to reserve ýour space.
The downfall of the place is that the beach has been washed away. To get to the beach ýou either have to go down some very steep ladders or get a buggy to next hotel. Buggy was not always available.
Let's hope new owner can bring hotel back to what it used to be like. Şhe and her staff are lovely and work so hard.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

HI My partner and i booked in on January 17th for 25 nights and were very disappointed!
I upgraded to a De -Luxe room at considerable extra cost - remember this is Thailand and for the £70 a night which did not include breakfast for 25 nights we , however promised free Wi Fi in our De Luxe Room ,with FRE Wi Fi - which NEVER HAPPENED! It was a further £10 per day for this and it only worked sometimes in reception and took ages to connect - luckily a short walk into the village EVERY bar / restaurant offered free Wi Fi for all customers - the problem was having to take an ipad out each time to keep in touch with business emails.
The hotel is vey tired and has been sold by Holiday Inn Group back to original owners , no menus or anything in rooms about hotel / area and so forth if new to area and hotel - very expensive ordinary food - drink twice the price of anywhere else locally - NO Beach - for a Regent Beach Resort - no beach - unbelievable - had 17 problems - little things that took 7 days to fix - none english speaking unhelpful Thai people on reception , seemed very unhappy with hotel themselves and while there several religious conference people numbering 200 at a time took over hotel , and seemed quite unfriendly and resentful of normal holiday guests being there !

This may seem an awful review and i do not mean to pick on this hotel but as someone who has holidayed in Thailand for 18 years now - this is not good value .Many 3 star hotels i have stayed in for say £20 a night inc breakfast are far better - but Thailand has become very western in its pricing over the las three years or so. Big problem too may guuests for sunbed meant that old guests returning each year had best spots and staff took money for getting you a bed, which is free really.

Room Tip: 5th floor most quiet but you pay extra money because it is away from the many conference hotel guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I have just returned home after a most enjoyable 6 weeks in the Regency Wing.After 8 years we look on it as our"home from home".It coincided with the hotel reverting back to the control of the Regent Group after a number years of IHG control.
The majority of the efficient and friendly staff that we have come to know over the years are still there as well as some new younger members.Not surprisingly 40% of the guests are repeating ones,some for over 23 years.The staff are led by a new General Manager who has a very hands on approach and an ability to see what improvements are required and to act on them quickly.She is a veritable dynamo and can be seen all around the hotel talking to guests and staff alike and in only 7 weeks has generated immense loyalty.There are seaview,garden or mountain view rooms so plenty of choice and I regularly recommend the hotel to friends and this year we had at least 20 of them there.With next years holiday in mind I think early booking is required as the popularity of this hotel grows under its new regime.Any negatives are being dealt with quickly as well as some much needed maintenance.

Room Tip: We prefer the seaview rooms as the sun hits the balcony as it rises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimaki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were at this hotel in winter 2013. The hotel changed hands, and the exchange was successful. The new director is very active and touring customers visiting to discuss this, a good thing. Here's how to get good information about the hotel continues to develop. I believe the hotel next to new things and new developments.
Thanks to the new Director of the activity!

I am concerned about the loss of beach sand out of the men at the front. This is likely to be a surge that mix balance. But I hope this will be temporary.

At breakfast, we noticed an interesting point, which is probably the problem is in many ways at the hotel. A mid-euroaanpan the inhabitants took large bags of food for breakfast and gathered the bags. If you buy a tour of Thailand, must be able to afford to either buy or trade for food to eat. Those people should be ashamed. This effect, however, the prices of stealing, and why we are paying for other thefts?
The solution could be that the bags are not allowed in for breakfast and if you will, they must be left out of a particular place.

The hotel is in spite of everything comfortable and a great location!

Thanks to the hotel again for a nice time that we got to spend there.
We will be back next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It was my first time at the hotel and my friend made the booking through a travel agency so I can't tell you if it was value for money. The first room we were shown was awful like a Butlins with formica wardrobe doors and a bathroom with a window on to a walkway (a 'Superior'). My friend got us upgraded. It was clear that the hotel was in need of updating (paintwork, wear and tear in bathroom). Some of the receptionists had problems with their English. And the wi-fi payment basis was confusing. No minibar though but water / coffee / tea provided.

However the breakfasts were excellent. Most of the staff very sweet. If you go to the Chalet part of the hotel resort, you can get a good sea view from your lounger.

Be warned though that this is a European Saga destination and you will see elderly Scandanavian men in Budgie Smuggler speedo trunks.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed 10-14 Feb 2013

Very nice hotel. I love sea bathing and was puzzled to find that the beach had disappeared. At first, I thought it might be a very high tide but when I did not appear, I found that a short walk along the road (which runs parallel to the beach) took me to the Regent Chalets complex and acccess to the beach there. The sea was deliciously warm and a little choppy which I enjoyed. Talking to one or two people, it seems that the sea encroaches at some times of the year and this is due to a recent change in tidal flow.
I do not know this for sure but it makes sense.

There are two spas at the hotel comlex. On my last afternoon, I visited the one overlooking the beach and a slight storm had blown up. It was lovely to have a massage with the sound of the crashing waves and birdsong.
Very nice indeed! A full body massage was 500 bahts. I think the other spa inside the hotel is more expensive and probably offers a different sort of ambience.

My room was spacious with a large bed and choice of pillow types. I would recomend booking a sea view. My room was a standard double but I was unable to use the balcony as it overlooked the solar power unit and was noisy. Although disappointing, it did not matter to me as i was out most of the time.

I would have liked more information about the hotel, including places to go such as the opening hours at the Summer Palace (when I got there it was shut) and nice walks in the complex grounds. Cha Am village is a very short walk away and there are nice local bars and shops.

Service at the hotel was excellent except for drinks at dinner on th night of Chinese New Year. It seemed impossible to pay for drinks and those who stayed later ended up signing for others of our party.

My electrics went out but an electrician appeared within an amazingly short time and fitted a new part very very quickly.

I understand this hotel complex is in the process of being taken back from Holiday Inn who have been leasing it.

I saw the lady manager once and she was charming so I have every hope that this hotel will continue to be good in the future.

Room Tip: choose a sea view if you want to use your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Address: 849/21 Petchkasem Road | Cha-Am Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cha-am
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#7 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort embraces an enchanting stretch of unspoiled beach along the sunrise side of the Gulf of Thailand. The resort naturally blends with its lush tropical garden surroundings. The rooms are accessed by airy, open corridors with soothing views of the vast park’s greenery or the twinkling blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Cha Am Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cha-Am
Regent Cha-Am
Cha-Am Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.