We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   849/21 Petchkasem Road | Cha-Am Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Cha-am
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“There is no beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hotel itself as expected, clean & comfortable, all staff pleasant. Swimming pools nice. It was really quiet during our stay, I don't think I would like it at high season, I can imagine the dreaded towel run for sun loungers.
Big downside, there is no beach in front of this hotel, even though the hotel website shows a beach that was a few years ago. There is a crumbling sea defense wall & unsuitable bathing in the sea as there is are an abundance of stinging jellyfish.
We started off in room 1426 but upgraded to villa for a big bath tub as well as a shower. Hotel insisted that because we booked through an agent, we had to pay full price for the villa with no reduction from our already paid for room (agent now liasing with hotel re this matter)
As other contributors mention there is no free wi-fi, very mean to say the least.
You can pre pay for breakfast at 300 baht per person, but there is a lovely village just outside the hotel that offer breakfasts for 90 baht. If you crave proper English breakfast with real bacon try J & K's, they do homemade pies too !
The village has many restaurants and a few bars, some with free wi fi The locals are simply charming, serving fresh food and far less expensive than the hotel.
Gena's bar is popular, free wi fi, decent choice of drinks. They don't serve food, but are happy for you to take your own in there.
Quite a few of the local places offer trips & taxis. Lovely spacious air conditioned mini bus to Bangkok airport 2600 baht. Taxi to Cha Aam 250 baht & to Hua Hin 300 baht. Hua Hin has more happening than Cha Aam.
Bonus side..........couple of lovely monitor lizards, a few birds, few tree snakes & plenty of friendly moggies. (All critters harmless)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntaraR, Quality & Continous Improvement Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Yorkieinlondon,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am!

I thank you for your recent stay with us. Regarding your comments about no beach in front of the hotel, the reason is the high tides during the monsoon season. As the rainy season comes to an end, the water level lowers and our beach is back for the enjoyment of all our guests. And as for no free Wi-Fi provided currently, we are now working on this issue at the moment.

I hope to welcome you very soon at Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am.

Thank you once again,

Tanzir Latif
Quality & Continuous Improvement Manaqer,
Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    191
    86
    28
    12
See reviews for
104
201
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We returned to the Holiday in for our seventh visit in April, and were amazed at how many people we remembered from last year. People often ask why we return to the same place (we are addicted to the country) and although we travel several times a year, we enjoy the friendly staff who remember you from one year to the next; we enjoy the little restaurants in the village, the large beautiful grounds and the layout of the hotel. Most of all the sheer relaxation.

We tend to go bed and breakfast and like all hotels it can be a bit repetitive, but there is always something to choose.

We had a slight problem with noisy neighbours for one night, and when I complained we were given a sincere apology and a free massage to make up for the disturbance.

A lovely place to spend a fortnight away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntaraR, Quality & Continuous Improvement Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear RhondaEssex,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am.

We are extremely delighted to know that you had another fabulous stay with us. And we are even more happy to know that your recent visit was the seventh one. Making your stay a really memorable one is always one of our top priorities.

We hope to welcome you back for your eighth visit to Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am very soon.

Thank you once again and best regards,

Tanzir Latif
Quality & Continuous Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have read some reviews about this hotel and was a bit dubious about what we where going to experience. All as I can say is what can you complain about. We checked in at 2am after 2 flights and dealy in Abu Dhabi. Reception staff greated us with a smile and was very quick with the check in. Our rooms where on the 4th floor over looking pool. The rooms where fantastic large and cool (fab air con) bathroom was on the small side but had everything we needed. Bed was comfortable. The pool and grounds beautiful, plenty of beds and towels. Food and drink bit pricey but to be expected in hotels.
The best part is the village acroos the car park. Mr King (Boe Thai) fab place for breakfast and evening meals. Genaowen bar is also lovely. But the nicest place we found was 'The Village Bar' simon and his wife made us so welcome. The place is very good value for drinks and is so clean.
If people want 5 star rooms/service then they should pay 5 star prices. We paid a reasonable price and got exactly what we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntaraR, Quality & Continuous Improvement Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Mark,

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am!

I am delighted to know that you had a great time during your recent stay with us. I have already passed your compliments to the Reception Team.

I hope you will return for another stay with your friends very soon,

Best regards,

Tanzir Latif
Quality & Continuous Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is in a lovely location and the grounds are immaculate. Sadly the negatives are what can sometimes stay with you. Firstly something that nearly made me check out on day 2!
We stayed in the regency wing which has simply massive rooms that are lovely with powerful air conditioning. Right behind the regency wing is a large conference hall. On the second night the conference hall was booming with bass that literally shook our room. I rang reception at 10:15pm and they said it was a Thai concert and they were very sorry but it will be finished by half ten. It continued and I rang back at 11pm. They said they were sorry and will find out when it finishes and ring me back. At 11:20pm it was still booming and no one had rung back. I rang again and got the exact same response. When I told them they again said they would find out and ring me back. I never did get a call back which is quite simply the worst service I have ever received in any hotel. They definitely consider their Thai revenue to outweigh their international revenue. To hold concerts in a hall that backs onto guest rooms is crazy and then to ignore complaints is unforgivable. The front desk staff were atrocious throughout though. I asked if we could extend our checkout from 12 to 2pm (our pick up time) and simply got a straight "no", not even any pretence at looking for me. The welcome book in the room states that the front desk would be happy to help with any outbound flight check ins but when I asked about this I was simply told that the Internet is 217 baht for half an hour (about £4.50). I mentioned about what the book said and they again just said that it was 217baht, completely unhelpful. I checked in onmy iPad in the village. Most places have free wifi and you don't have to print your boarding pass with etihad as they reprint them anyway.
The village is the saviour of the location as it offers a number of restaurants. In particular we went to Renees family bar and Harry's which were both fabulous. Renee and his brother are amazingly friendly and the food is great. 2 Thai currys and rice will set you back about 280 baht (similar to half an hours wifi at the hotel) and they give you free access to 10meg wifi which is faster than mine back home.
Harry's bar do pizzas which we actually went to twice for the same pizza because they were so good. I had chicken and cashew nut pizza and it was gorgeous!
We have to laugh about j&k's restaurant. It's owned by a grumpy 81 year old called John (or victor meldrew as we christened him). We only went there the once and had to laugh at the fawlty towers experience of him moaning throughout our lunch.
The hotel could easily have been a four star for us but it simply let itself down. The grounds are lovely. The security guards are extremely smartly dressed and friendly and should be an example to the other staff. Breakfast was vast and served over a four hour period. Their other food is expensive but you take the option of eating there when the village is literally a 2 min walk away and this is only the same as any other hotel.
The cleaners seem to do very little. I had a glass that had a slight crack in it and I noticed that this wasn't replaced (and therefore cleaned) for a couple of days. The glasses in the bathroom were not replaced throughout our whole stay and as such were full of toothpaste by the end of the holiday. The matts that our cups were placed on were not replaced and therefore had coffee stains which looked dirty. These are all only very minor things but make you feel that it wasn't as clean as it could be. One day we went for breakfast and returned within half an hour to find that our room had been done. The beds are made with military precision so it makes you wonder what they can actually do within half an hour.
Overall we had a nice holiday but because of the bad service, especially after the concert and being ignored, we stewed on the negatives and have been forced to leave a bad review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We checked in and were disappointed by what we saw. First don't judge by the lobby which looks ok. The rooms are very basic not to say poorly furnished, old design. No LCD TV's, no wifi in the room. Bathroom was very basic, small, not so clean. You want eat on the floor.
The room are poorly soundproof, you can here the neighbour shower running, people talking...
Then comes the food, disgusting! Tried to enter the asian restaurant we were repelled by the smell, then tried our luck at the italian, pizza, we ended up with a cooked crust and pieces of hams, cold artichokes, some cheese, all cold.
Now comes the outside: no beach anymore, global warming...full of jelly fish, the pool was dirty could not see more than 2 m in the water, may be the heavy rain.

To summarize: stay away from this place , a waste of money! A disgrace for Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear gilwhoever,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience about your recent stay with us. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day, especially with the room accommodations received and food service at the restaurant. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

What is it with this hotel chain in replying to emails, 4 days 5 days and longer to confirm bookings . It just is not good enough .Still waiting 21st Sept 2012.
We had a lovely stay in October 2011 and previous years .
Nice and quiet, staff usually very good ( not at replying to emails i might add}.
Serious consideration of looking elsewhere due to lack of communication.

Room Tip: Anavana Villia's when you can get through to booking one are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear red03esb,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is nice to hear that you had a great stay on the previous years that you stayed at our hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced because of the delayed emails. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Arrived at the hotel and was greated by the receptionists with a smile and a welcome drink. The building inside looked really classy with sofas and a little bar area. the staff insisted on carring my bags up to the room. My first impressions of the room was how beautiful it was and how big the balcony was. The bed was comfortable and king size.

The beach is beautiful and easy to acces from the accomadation. white sand and had a couple of restrants just a short distance along the beach and the food is relitivley cheep but tasty.

There is a village just out side the hotel grounds with a few restrants, bars and shops. the town near by was hua hin a 20 min drive i recomend to get the shuttle bus from the hotel as its much cheaper then taxi. cha am just a short trip away with sevral restrants bars and shops. i will recomend this hotel to others and i will have to go back again as i enjoyed it.

Room Tip: i stayed at the top floor superior sea view as such a beautiful view over the gulf of Thailand
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Address: 849/21 Petchkasem Road | Cha-Am Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cha-am
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#8 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort embraces an enchanting stretch of unspoiled beach along the sunrise side of the Gulf of Thailand. The resort naturally blends with its lush tropical garden surroundings. The rooms are accessed by airy, open corridors with soothing views of the vast park’s greenery or the twinkling blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Cha Am Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cha-Am
Regent Cha-Am
Cha-Am Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.