We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of peace and tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am to your Saves list
Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   849 / 21 Petchkasem Road | Regent Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Cha-am
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“An oasis of peace and tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The 3 things that I need to say about the Regent Chalet Hotel at the front of this review are probably the most important to most travellers:
1. Take mosquito repellent with you - Boots Jungle Formula seemed to work for us - avoid sitting out in shorts in the evening, this is when the mozzies will do their worst. If you really want to sit out at night in shorts make sure you have treated your legs and feet with the aforesaid repellent.
2. If your portable PC (tablet, Iphone etc) is 3G enabled you can purchase a micro card from True-H in Hua Hin for 99 Thai Baht (about £2.00) - mine lasted the full 10 days I was there and I never had a bad connection. The True-H shop is on the corner of the street where the night market is held - just across the road and down a bit from Star Bucks.
3. When you order a meal make sure you order your starter and main meal separately otherwise you will get them all together. Even if they push you to order both at the same time with a promise of a delay - don't, as you will still get them all together.

Right, those 3 things said we had a brilliant time at Regent Chalets, the pool is nice, big and warm. Although you are right next to the beach the sea is not ideal for swimming due to Jellyfish - that said we did not miss it at all. There are plenty of Sun Loungers, although demand increases at weekends when the Thais visit the resort for the Friday and Saturday. Fresh towels are available daily on the production of your towel card. The chalets are of a reasonable size with a main room and a bathroom, although a bit limited on storage space they are certainly liveable for a week or so. Our view was that the chalets are looking a little tired and are probably due for a renovation. Each chalet has a veranda making it a very pleasant experience to sit outside (note mozzie point above). Also in each chalet is a kettle and you are also given 2 complimentary bottles of water each day. I go back to point 2 that I made above, if you do not have a 3G facility the hotel can provide internet - at a cost! It is better to go into the village and use the free facilities in the numerous bars and cafes. Whilst we are on the point of the village there are some really good restaurants to eat in - all of them are reasonably priced - the ones we recommend are 'Johns', 'The Family Restaurant' and 'Lucky Restaurant' - for the 2 of us with a starter and a main with drinks cost about £20.00. It is also well worth going into Hua Hin on the shuttle bus and having a meal there, the main eating place is in the market, when you walk up through the market you will cross a road, on the other side of that road is where all the restaurants are - it is a fish lover's paradise! Again, all reasonably priced.

Breakfast in the Hotel is buffet style with a good variety of foodstuffs from continental through Thai to English. The view from the terrace at breakfast is beautiful.

All in all it was a tremendous break albeit too short! As others have commented it is a quiet hotel but we liked it like that, we met some wonderful people and were treated so well by the hotel staff. Unfortunately there was one British couple (from SAGA we think) who were extremely rude to the staff - there is no place for that sort of behaviour.

We would be happy to provide any further information if it's required. Happy holidays!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near stagnant water - this will minimise mosquito problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    67
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The staff were great but we did have a few problems with the room itself (#122):

1) The shower would not stay at one temperature, but would alternate between searing hot and freezing cold. And even though there was no bath in the room, the hotel had mistakenly provided bubble bath liquid instead of conditioner.

2) The large air conditioner was located on the floor next to the bed, and was so loud it made sleep difficult, even with the fan on low.

3) No wireless or Internet access in the room, which is pretty hard to understand in 2012. Internet was only available in the lobby for 50 baht/15 minutes.

Apart from that, the hotel was quiet and pleasant, with a great pool and immediate access to the beach.

Room Tip: The problems we experienced may be specific to our room (#122), so I would avoid that room until som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice quiet resort on the beach. Chalets are clean and comfortable, nice pool, plenty of sunbeds. Not the best beach area for swimming, however, good for strolling and all.

Breakfast is ok if you come early in the morning. Less than 1 hour before the end, they do not bother to bring out more food if something is finished. Come after 9.30 and be happy with leftovers :). We were highly disappointed with dinner at their 'European food' restaurant (beachfront terrace place). Worst food we had in 4+ years in Thailand. Avoid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our stay was on a all inclusive basis, and as other reviewers have stated this is a quiet, peaceful resort,, which the more senior travellers tend to go to, which suited us.
The hotel grounds are lovely and well kept. Chalets are basic, but has every thing you need and are spotless. There are two restaurants on site, but one of them was only open twice a week when we were staying, the main restaurant food could be luke- warm sometimes, as it had to be carried from the kitchens in the other restaurant. Alcoholic drinks on the all inclusive basis, left a lot to be desired, especially the cocktails, most of the time they were undrinkable. There is not much to see outside the resort in walking distance, just a few shops & restaurants.There are many places to go on trips, even though some are very long days, Bridge over the River Kwai, a very emotional trip, The Floating Market, exhilarating boat ride, Hua Hin night market.The pool is quite large and inviting, but some of the sun loungers need replacing, as they are rusty and the mattresses are splitting. All staff at this resort are excellent, so friendly and cannot do enough for you. Overall this is a lovely resort which could be improved with small changes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed her between 13 May and 27 May, a couple in our 40's it suited us perfectly. Most other people were of a similar age. Plenty of sunbeds round the pool. On a weekend several Thai families came but it was still not busy and there was a convention and Yoga retreat whilst we were there.

The chalets are set in lovely gardens in a quiet location and were not busy at all. They were clean and comfortable and as they were individual there was no noisy neighbours, The room was spacious with a fridge and a water heater, tea and coffee were provided. The room was cleaned daily. The staff were friendly and although the restaurants were more expensive than the local restaurants they were not expensive and depending on the tour operator you booked with you got a discount on the final blll.

Although there was only one other place to eat to the left of the compex on the beach, if you walk past the Holiday Inn you come to a street of shops/bars/restaurants/massage parlours. Approx 15 minute walk in total.

We regularly went into Ruby shop you cant miss her she will be standing hoola hooping outside. We had a massage there for 200 baht and cocktails were 90 baht. She would also give you a lift back on her scooter to save you the walk.

There were several other restaurants we tried Bow Thai which did a lovely pie when you get sick of eating Thai food! Also Yum Chang Tom, Jack Fruit and Mr Lucky to name a few. All very similar in price. We were paying aroung 500 baht for food and drink in each.

We took a taxi into Cha Am centre 400 baht return but it was too busy for us. Built up and lots of locals. Although there were a lot of vans turned into bars on the beach road selling cocktails for 50 baht.

We also went to Hua Hin which was very busy. The night market was good and there was lots of bars with Thai girls luring you in. This wasnt our kind of place but was nice to see.

All in all I think we had the best of both worlds, peace and quiet of the Regent chalets with enough shops/bars a 15 min walk away but a short taxi ride to busier resorts.

I would definately consider going back to this resprt in the future.

Room Tip: all room are in wooden chalets and a good location, however as resort spread out a room closer to po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

I did enjoy my stay here but would not return, only because I felt it was more suitable for older folks it was way to quiet for me, I like it peaceful when I'm away but this was something else, you felt guilty for enjoying yourselves to loud because of the way some of the guest looked at you....the chalets are beautiful and the grounds are a delight the food wasn't up to much, but hua hin is only a taxi ride away, then again the food on the whole in Thailand wasn't for me...to picky I guess.
The beach is just ok...jelly fish are a problem and the ocean is a little choppy at times, I'm not very confident in the water so I stayed out of the sea because of that...the pool is big and clean so I was happy there.
Not a good review if I'm honest I was disappointed with Thailand and maybe that reflects on my opinion of the cha-am regent chalets....if you are on the other side of 60 it would suit if not then think carefully it's a rather dull place to stay, in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

As other reviews rightly said, this is a quiet location in Cha-am and appealing if you do not like high-rise hotels or want night-life. The rooms in wooden bungalows, set in an attractive garden, were spacious and well appointed, but not luxurious or trendy! The pool is large and delightful, and the hotel is right next to the beach if you prefer walking there. We chose to eat at a little restaurant next door at night and had delicious Thai seafood dishes, but breakfast at the hotel was good and we enjoyed sitting in the restaurant with a lovely view over the beach and out over the sea. As we were only there for a short break, we did not explore further but gather from other guests that there were other places to eat not too far away within a shuttle bus or taxi ride. Overall if you want a quiet relaxing time, this is a good place to go but probably better in the week as Friday night was much busier, with families arriving so the pool and grounds much busier and noisier!

Room Tip: If possible, ask to be away the entrance road and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am

Address: 849 / 21 Petchkasem Road | Regent Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cha-am
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cha-am
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#7 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Cha-Am Beach Resort has a view of majestic mountains, lush gardens and the panoramic Gulf. The hotel is in fact three hotels in one: The Regent Cha-Am, The Regency Wing, and The Regent Chalet. With its large area and its light and airy design, the hotel manages to attract diverse clientele yet remain a peaceful, tranquil retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Holiday Inn Cha Am

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.