We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cera Resort Chaam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cera Resort Chaam to your Saves list
Cera Resort Chaam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   856 Haadsooksamer, Cha-am 76120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Cha-am
4.5 of 5 stars 118 Reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor I was looking forward to my new year trip to Cera. 1st in Cha-am must be pretty good, right?

On arrival I was instantly disappointed. The resort had very little soul or character and didn't look like the kind of place I wanted to spend 4 days. The music was dull, it had a very family/old couple feel to it, the decor was bland (with attempts to liven it up with splashes of colour here and there). I like new years breaks to be places of inspiration, and this certainly wasn't it. The price was probably double due to being high season so perhaps my expectations were unrealistically high.

The staff were fine and pleasant enough but not as super friendly as the reviews suggested. Not once did they ask how was our room? How was our stay? Did we enjoy Cha-am? Anything they could help us with. They answered queries fairly efficiently I guess.

The room was very very clean (as was the rest of the resort) and big and spacious, but again, no soul or character in the room. A bed chucked here, a cabinet chucked there. No vibe.

The room was next to the lift so there was an irritating whirring sound every now and then. Not the end of the world but not great.

The food was extremely average. Fine for the price. Breakfast was standard cheap/mid-range hotel grub.

The most interaction we had with the staff was organising the taxi at the end. I thought they'd got a thumbs up for providing a car for the short ride but it was steeply priced at 300 baht.

Oh, and the 'double bed' room was two single mattresses pushed together. Not what I'd expect from a quality establishment.

In summary, we spent almost our entire time at a nicer hotel nearby, that says a lot I think.

It was 2 stars for me, but I'm giving it 3 as I think it would suit some other people a lot more. Families, for example, would benefit from the spacious rooms. And the cleanliness works in its favour.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boonream o, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Jackybristol,
Thank you so much for your review and we are sorry that we failed to meet your expectation during your stay.All comments have been noted and will be used for improving our services.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Boonream
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    35
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
40
45
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Spacious and clean resort. Pleasant, well maintained grounds.Staff professional, mannerly and numerous. Room well appointed with good view. Food good and various. Resort popular with Bangkok Thai people with a sprinkling of Euro, U.K. and other visitors. Well worth a visit as the cost is relatively low compared to other resorts.

Negative points: beds far too hard. Lot of dog barking and hindrance in area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boonream o, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Rod B.

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Cera Resort Cha-Am and for your favorable comment on our resort.We are happy to learn that you were satisfied with our services and hospitality. We will share this comment to our team and will not only maintain our standard but will improve to higher standard.
Thank you once again and hope to have a chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Boonream O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampang, Lampang, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I arrived a day earlier than expected and was given a beautiful room for the first night. They were so helpful. The front desk staff ordered a motorbike for me and always answered my questions regarding places to visit and what I should see in Cha Am. The following day they moved my luggage to my reserved room which was equally beautiful. The staff is so friendly and helpful. I really felt like I made good friends while I stayed. The food manager, Mr. Kittipong, was really great and even recommended some 'hidden' treasures of the area--including a mangrove forest! I ended up staying longer than I had originally thought, and instead of moving to a different hotel I opted to stay at Cera because it really is a relaxing and inviting atmosphere. Can't wait to visit again! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if you want a high floor, my room was facing the construction. :/
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boonream o, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you so much for your favorable comments for Cera Resort.We are happy to learn that you had a good time here not only in our resort but also in many places around. Khun Kittipong,Khun
Anne and other staff are always willing to serve you.

On behalf of our team,thank you once again and hope to have a chance to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Boonream O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had our 3rd great stay at Cera Resort! We always enjoy this hotel with its great staff, quiet location (not in the city), next to the ocean and close to multiple golf courses. In the mornings we golfed at Springfield, Palm Hills, Black Mountain, and Lake View. All are within ~15-20min by taxi.

Room Tip: There are ocean view rooms in the main building and in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boonream o, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Lars_of _D,

Thank you so much for your valuable time to write a comment for Cera Resort. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have a chance to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Boonream O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Two of us stayed in Cera in June 2013, and while we enjoyed our five days here we probably wouldn't be in a rush back. While the accommodation was lovely - particularly the pool area was very clean etc, it was quite dull, so music around the pool, no bar, place in darkness by 8 or 9pm and the village it was closest to was certainly a glimpse of real Thailand which we did enjoy but probably wouldn't return to. Pretty sure we had cat for dinner in a local restaurant one night. The hotel is very cheap and the food is amazing and perhaps if there was a little more atmosphere around the grounds in the evening the hotel would make more money from people lingering on for a drink etc.

I don't want to be overly negative but I wouldn't return to this hotel mainly because if we had known, we would have stayed along the main Cha Am beachfront where there is a lot more activity and it doesn't feel quite so lonely!

Saying that, if you want to see real Thailand, the village which is probably five mins stroll from the hotel is WONDERFUL for genuine food & beer, cocktails and authentic thai markets and a chance to soak up the culture a bit. Met a great taxi driver (Mr Vit) who, if you ask for him as they know him at the hotel, will drive you literally all over the place for virtually nothing, the equiv of 10 euro. If you like seafood, ask him to drive you to the seafood restaurant which he recommends, you will not be disappointed.

Overall, I'd recommend for a two night stay to get a glimpse of like i said, Real Thailand, and then move on to Hua Hin where the beaches are cleaner, the atmosphere is electric and the markets amazing.

On another note there was no spa or fitness centre that I noted! So probably not a resort. But nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Found the staff very helpful and hotel excellent value for money. The area around could really do with some investment and cleaning up. Breakfast was a real treat and wish I had made better use of it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boonream o, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear KerryDickinson,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments on our property.Our team always pay high attention to keep our resort neat and clean.Still there are some neighboring area which need improvement. Thanks for your suggestion,we will see what we can do on this matter.

Thank you once again for your valuable time and we hope to have a chance to welcome you to
our resort again.

With kind regards,
Boonream O.
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is located away from Cha Am town, but with a village walking distance nearby with restaurants, massage shops, and a large 7/11. The hotel has a shuttle service, although we had a car which made things easy. We used the hotel as a base to explore the Cha Am and Hua Hin areas. After a day site seeing it was great to relax in the pool. We ate food from the restaurant for 3 dinners, and all meals were delicious. The rooms are huge with flatscreen TV, an OK selection of channels, colourful ceramic bathtub and decoration, and a big balcony. We met a fun couple from Sweden who stay there regularly, and their enthusiasm for the hotel was well founded. If you want a relaxing holiday in a near new, spotlessly clean hotel, with helpful smiling staff, then this is the hotel for you. It would be a great place for children, and for couples wanting a quiet time, and strolls along the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview. The staff were most accomodating in moving us to a room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boonream o, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mr.Stephen P.

We thank you so much for your valuable time to write a favorable comments on our property and services.We are happy to learn that you are satisfied with our facilities,meals and hospitality.
On behalf of our team,thank you once again and we hope to have a chance to welcome you to our resort again in the future.

With Kind regards,
Boonream O.
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cera Resort Chaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cera Resort Chaam

Address: 856 Haadsooksamer, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cera Resort Chaam 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cera Resort is your perfect holiday retreat for soaking under the golden sun, delighting in an array of beach and on-site activities, or simply lazing around our swimming pool with quiet moments that you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cera Resort Chaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cera Resort Chaam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.