We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for everyone, relaxing or fun! All catered for :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cera Resort Chaam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cera Resort Chaam to your Saves list
Cera Resort Chaam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   856 Haadsooksamer, Cha-am 76120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Cha-am
4.5 of 5 stars 118 Reviews
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place for everyone, relaxing or fun! All catered for :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

All the staff were amazing, attending to all our requests and more. So welcoming! They made us feel like royalty. They carried our bags up to our room which was spotless, fresh and new, the beds were extremely comfortable. Loved the bathroom, so unique. The deep luxurious turquoise coloured ceramic bath was a wonderful place to relax in deep soothing water.

Both of us agreed that this hotel was better than the Novotel and the Regent which are also both close by. But the town of Cha am is about a 5 minute drive inland. We were surprised to find that we were one of only 2 couples staying at the hotel. I could easily imagine the hotel full of people and there would still be plenty of room, gardens and facilities to be enjoyed by all. The pool was massive!

OK, so now the secret is out. But we want it to be available just for our private enjoyment so I'm trying to tone this review down a little so I can continue to be spoilt on my next visit, I can't wait!

The balconies overlook the pool or there are others that overlook tropical nature which was paradise for us. There are even some balconies that overlook the ocean. Above us was a rooftop terrace furnished with beautiful ceramic tables and chairs with individual shades. The view from the terrace was incredible as we enjoyed the sunrise over ocean and sunset over the mountains, the 360 degree views from the terrace space were spectacular :)

We enjoyed poolside dining in the evening by candlelight and we were catered to by a world famous chef. All the meals were spectacular, some of the best I've ever had, and I've been to many 5 star restaurants over the years. The service was faultless and always with a smile. I highly recommend this resort for a stay for as long as you can get away. You will not be disappointed. A well designed hotel with a ceramic artistic flair, with the option of interconnecting rooms, this hotel is ideal for both families, large groups and couples.

Room Tip: The rooms all have balconies and the views from any of the rooms will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanee s, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Mrs.Rayls
Thank you very much for your recent choosing to stay at Cera Resort Cha-am
and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the service and facilities while staying with us
And very much appreciated for your kind recommendation of our resort
On behalf of the team, thank you again for your wonderful review and we do hope to welcome you at the Cera Resort Cha-am in the very near future.
With kind regards

Sanee Sagunasing
Hotel Manager
13/11/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    35
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
40
45
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We enjoyed the peacefulness of this resort, it’s off the beaten path, quiet and in a convenient and friendly neighborhood. Little shops, restaurants, pubs, laundry, etc. are in easy walking distance. Holiday Inn and Novatel are also very close by. Taxi to Hua Hin takes ~15min and costs $10 (300Baht) each way, taxi to Cha am city takes ~7min and costs 200baht. Hotel staff helped setup our taxis, golf, airport transportation, etc. They were all very friendly and helpful, some of their English is so-so, but we got by just fine. Cera is short for ceramics and you will see plenty of ceramics at this hotel, the rooms, courtyard, lobby, and restaurant have plenty of brightly colored and uniquely shaped ceramic artworks. For an ocean view get a room at the top of the larger building. Print a map to the hotel and print the hotel name in Thai with phone number for any taxi coming from Bangkok as it’s difficult to find.

Regarding the Beach: I see controversial comments in reviews about the beach at this hotel based on the tide. I would not consider this a “beach hotel”, frankly I would not go to Hua Hin area for a beach regardless, and it’s not a great beach location. Definitely when the tide is in, there is zero beach at this hotel, when the tide is out the beach looks great for clam diggers not sunbathers. All Thai beaches are public (no hotel “owns” the beach), just walk down the beach until you find a place you like, there are some nearby.

Room Tip: To have an ocean view you really need to talk the staff and have the room selected for you, only a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a great time at Cera resort for 8 nights with our family of 5. We had an interconnecting rooms which was ideal for us. It was a perfect place for us in that we were looking for a place to rest. We liked that it was cosy and quiet, away from hustle and bustle of a "tourist hub", and a resort which had many families. Rooms were excellent. Kids loved the big screen TV.
The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent with an excellent variety and which had some things which were slightly different each day. Mini pastries and cakes were great! We liked little personal touches at times eg the coffee machine which just made it seem just that bit more special esp during the days that there were less guests.
Only down side was that there is no beach. Even when the tide was low, there was no beach which was a little disappointing. We did have a car which meant we ended up driving about 5 mins to the nearest beach which was a nice one - again because it was private and not full of umbrellas and people trying to sell you things.
Food at the restaurant there is not excessively high so eating in is not going to break the bank. If you have your own vehicle, it's very easy to get to things/attractions in both Cha Am and Hua Hin. But for those who are wanting more "activity", you may find this place a little too quiet and out of the way. For those wanting peace and quiet, cosy and friendly, this is a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanee s, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Mr. Denise D
Thank you very much for choosing Cera Resort Cha-am for your recent stay in Cha-am and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
It is a great delight to read that you satisfied with our facilities, the friendly service and the breakfast.
Unfortunately the effects of today global warming which caused to a partial beach or no beach in this area.
On behalf of the team we would like to thank you again for your kind review of our resort and beyond and looking forward to welcome you again at the Cera Resort in the very near future.
With kind regards

Sanee Sagunasing
Hotel Manager
30/10/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Cera for 3 nights in October. The hotel was initially a little difficult to find as we arrived by train from Bangkok and then took the local bus.It is located about 5-6 km from Hua Hin and is next to the Novotel and the hotel is about a 5 minute drive from the main road between Hua Hin and Cha-am.On arrival we received a very warm and friendly welcome and this continued throught our stay and we felt nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They did mention on our arrival that if we phoned the hotel they would arrange collection from the main road and on several occasions they also dropped us off to catch the local bus.
The room we were allocated was large and very clean as well as a very spacious bathroom with a shower and bath tub. As other people mentioned there was only a shower curtain between the bathroom and the rest of the room but was not an issue for us.The room had all the usual ammenities which included tea and coffee making facilities,safe and free wi-fi.
The pool was very clean and surrounded by well tended gardens although the area around the pool was not very large and could see this may get crowded if the hotel was full. The breakfast although not extensive provided a good selection of food which was well prepared and tasty and had all the usual selections including an omlette station as well as tasty thai
options. We had dinner once at the hotel restaurant and the quality of the food was excellent and although was slightly more expensive than some of the local restaurants it was worth it. There are several restaurants and shops within 3-4 minute walk from the hotel but unfortunately this involves a walk down a very dark road with several dogs who bark very loudly and on one occasion we noticed them chasing a proson on a scooter.
The hotel is located 1 minute from the beach but this is only accessible during low tide and the water did have a strong smell so we were reluctant to walk along the beach.
The hotel is located betweenCha-am and Hua Hin and most of the people staying had their own cars. We used the local buses into Hua Hin which could be taken from the main road. The hotel did provide a shuttle into Hua Hin every morning at 9am but we did not use this as this was a little too early for us.
All in all a pleasant stay at the Cera with great staff who went out of their way to help and a very clean hotel with beautiful gardens and excellent food but in a very quiet area. It was ideal for a stay for a few days but would be easier to access if you had your own car. However we would consider staying here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanee s, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guests
Thank you very much for choosing Cera Resort Cha-am for your recent stay in Cha-am and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
It is a great delight to read that you enjoyed the entire period of your stay at the Cera resort Cha-am. Satisfied our friendly service, the garden, the facilities and the meal
Even though you experienced some inconvenience during your traveling around in these areas, therefore your consideration to come back to Cera Resort will surely give us a high morale. On behalf of the team, thank you again for your kind review and we waiting to welcome you at the Cera Resort in the very near future.
With kind regards

Sanee Sagunasing
Hotel Manager
21/10/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Hotel: Very good, new - only 8 months in operation.
Staff: Very good: friendly, helpful and very sincere in serving
Facilities: I love the sun decks best (both buildings have a sundeck to view gorgeous sunrise and sunset.
Beach: Not able to comment. High tide most of the time and it rained during our short stay there.
Location to Beach: Not too near, separated by a length of private town houses, but I was told the resort can arrange for guests to the beach front,

Room Tip: Since the resort is new, you may need to inform the cabby that it is next to the Novotel Hotel, othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanee s, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Christine Chan
Thank you very much for choosing Cera Resort Cha-am for your recent stay in Cha-am, and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to read that you satisfied with our facilities and the friendly service
Unfortunately high tide and rain which bother you
We very much appreciated for your kind review of our resort
On behalf of the team, we would like to thank you again and looking forward to welcome you back to the Cera Resort Cha-am in the very near future.
With kind regards

Sanee Sagunasing
Hotel Manager
15/10/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Haven't stayed at this hotel yet but as regular visitors to this area of Thailand we saw it being built so when it was completed during our stay last year we went round to take a look.. The staff were so very friendly and took pleasure in showing us round. The pool area is lovely and the sun beds huge!! The rooms were beautiful, all white and very bright and clean. Tea and coffee in room also safe and mini bar. The air con seemed really good too. The bathrooms were beautiful, large ceramic bath with separate shower cubicle. We have booked to stay for 3 weeks in feb 2013 and can't wait!! We know the area well, the small village which is about 3 minutes walk away is great, there's some great restaurants and bars in the village. It's a great place for a relaxing stay in Thailand

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanee s, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Mr. Karen Hills
It is very enthusiastic to read that you like our hotel since the day we open.
Enjoyed our unique decoration with a tailor made of ceramic furniture in a different theme and colour in each room and floor.
And thank you very much for your generous comments which will give us a motivation to enhance our quality service
And may we take this opportunity to say welcome and waiting to see you on the day of your arrival
Sincerely yours

Sanee Sagunasing
Hotel Manager
15/10/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

As we planned to stay only one night in Cha-am, we decided to trust the TA ratings and booked a suite at Cera Resort. Price was very good for the promised quality.
Hard to reach by road as it is located down very narrow streets beyond what appeared to be a slum area. The only parking offered is on a mud patch opposite the hotel - there is no real car park.
Room was very nice, huge in size and with a lovely bathroom. Very good for the price.
Breakfast seems to be aimed at the Thai market as there is nothing for foreigners to eat beyond a fried egg. We ended up eating breakfast at a restaurant in Hua Hin. Lots of choice if you're asian though!
This hotel is far from everything, which probably explains why you get such a nice room for so little money. It was fine for an overnight stay, but I wouldn't want to spend a holiday here.

Room Tip: Take a suite and have more space than you could ever need for not much more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanee s, Manager at Cera Resort Chaam, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for choosing Cera Resort Cha-am for your recent stay in Cha-am, and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We regret to hear of your dissatisfaction about the street to the hotel, the parking and the breakfast
Therefore we would like to take this opportunity to certify to your issue as the following
We actually have two access to the hotel, the first one is to pass through a small village but more easy access due to its straightforward and the second street is the main street sharing between local community, the Cera Resort and the Novotel and it have two interconnect before reaching the hotel.

The parking area at front of the hotel is a temporary which pending for a leasehold arrangement
For our proper hotel car park is located about 100 meters away from the hotel but people preferred to park first at front due to its close and convenient.
And let us present our daily breakfast buffet menu
We serves very fresh orange juice plus flower water (Anchan flower) or Pandanus water and fresh milk
Assorted fresh fruit, pineapple, papaya, water melon, guava, green mango or pomelo
Freshly baked bread, croissants, Danish pastries, muffin, cinnamon rolls, white bread, brown bread, sesame bread, Chinese bread
Fresh garden salad bar with four different dressing
Strawberry jam, pineapple jam, roselle jam, orange marmalade, pandanus custard, sweet condensed milk
Cornflakes Cereal with fresh milk
Egg station: fried, scrambled, omelette, Thai omelette, boiled egg
Hot dishes: Roast pork loin with mushroom sauce or Macaroni au gratin or Spinach au gratin,
Ham, sausages, fries potatoes
Thai hot dishes: Fried chicken with cashew nuts, sweet & sour fish, chicken green curry, egg fried rice
Boiled rice with minced pork or plain boiled rice with variety of side dishes
Cooking station: Variety meats soup or Noodle soup with pork balls or Rice congee with minced pork
Fresh brewed coffee and tea
Most of our guests enjoy and gave a compliment review for the breakfast

Once again we are sorry for any inconvenience it may have caused and hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Sanee Sagunasing
Hotel Manager
14/10/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cera Resort Chaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cera Resort Chaam

Address: 856 Haadsooksamer, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cera Resort Chaam 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cera Resort is your perfect holiday retreat for soaking under the golden sun, delighting in an array of beach and on-site activities, or simply lazing around our swimming pool with quiet moments that you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cera Resort Chaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cera Resort Chaam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.