We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was very bad hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Springfield Village Golf & Spa

Save Saved
You added Springfield Village Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springfield Village Golf & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   208/1 Moo 2, Sampraya, Cha-Am, Cha-am 76120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 hotels in Cha-am
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It was very bad hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was a very bad hotel in which we had a rest. We come to Thailand two or three times a year. All hotels were at the highest level. We liked a site of Springfield Village Golf & Spa and we decided that it will be the good vacation spot with the child.
We weren't disturbed at all that the hotel costs not on the sea. We very much like beautiful Thai golf courses. But the hotel was awful!!!
1 . The room – the first impression not bad. Number big, two rooms with a jacuzzi in a bedroom. Very conveniently that there is a small mini kitchen – a sink, a table, the refrigerator. But room very old. Furniture is old. And it is very dirty. On a floor there are a lot of black hair. It is a lot of web and spiders. They on all corners. The feeling was created that the room long ago didn't clean. But all this would be not significant if in the room there were no mice. All night long we were awoken by a mouse who lived under a jacuzzi. When we woke up in the morning, found out that on a table the mouse ate fruit which were left from hotel.
At first we decided that we won't spoil to ourselves rest and we won't pay attention to mice. But the next night the mouse ran everywhere where only it is possible and it was unpleasant.
When we reported on a reception, what in our room a mouse, us asked – and we saw it? We suggested to come to someone from the staff of hotel that we could show what the mouse leaves under pillows as she eats our food as loudly it gnaws everything and runs at night. NOBODY came! We asked to replace to us a room. We were given the room one floor lower. I sent the husband and the daughter to the pool and itself transferred all things. Nobody helped! When I called and asked to transfer a crib, one woman (possibly cleaner) came and dragged this bed. It was heavy. And when she brought it to the new room, she broke a threshold before an entrance and dropped a lamp, things and many other things. I thought that she will clean all this and will tell that a threshold will repair. But she simply turned and left. I went on a reception and told that the cleaner brought a bed and broke a threshold, now the door to the room isn't closed. In 40 minutes the engineer came and repaired a threshold. In total the three first day were spoiled completely.
The room in which there live mice number 434. When we lived in the room 424, we within two weeks heard how this mouse runs.
2 . In hotel there were very few people. And the staff of hotel was even less. At restaurant at the pool almost never was nobody. Once we asked to bring to our daughter juice and ice cream. To us bore it more than one hour! ! !
3 . The pool for children is dirty! There live three toads. In one of days one toad died directly before an entrance on a children's hill. Children ran near it. The toad started decaying and there was very bad smell on all children's pool. NONE of the staff of hotel didn't come and didn't move away a toad. I saw the woman who cut a grass near rooms. Also I asked her to pass with me to the pool. I showed a toad and she left behind a bag that then to move away this toad in a bag. It is necessary to tell this woman many thanks because she found a hose with water and I washed this place. The smell there was awful.
4 . Breakfasts – very bad! Only on days off when to hotel there came locals to play in golf, breakfasts were more or less. But any tables isn't processed by means from ants. Once we sat down at a table during a breakfast and the fork was completely covered by ants. On all tables of ants there is a lot of that there is a wish to cry! In the working days of a buffet wasn't. It was possible to order fried eggs or an omelet only. Only in day off there was a buffet which was very poor. And many products were with flies and ants.
5 . The Internet in the room wasn't! ! ! I found out in advance, whether there is an Internet in the room. It was important for my husband as he constantly works. But when we arrived, to us told that the Internet to our room doesn't reach. It very weak. And if we want the Internet, it is necessary to pay money or it is possible to use the free Internet only in a lobby. It wasn't pleasant as to me from hotel wrote that the Internet free everywhere and it everywhere is! Us again deceived!
6 . Very low level of work of the personnel in hotel! Never to find any employee in a pool and restaurant zone after a breakfast.
Once we came for a breakfast, and the restaurant is closed! ! ! Any announcement wasn't, whether that breakfasts transferred cancelled. We went to restaurant at a lobby where there was a breakfast. Any announcement! ! ! Any apology! ! ! It was very not pleasant! ! !
As a result, I can tell that level of this hotel the lowest in Thailand. We didn't receive any apology neither for a mouse, nor for the died toad, for the spoiled breakfasts! ! ! Certainly we more never will arrive to this hotel. And all it we will recommend as the worst hotel in Thailand.
Also, on Tripadvisor often the administration of hotels shows respect and answers all customer reviews of hotels. I ask administration of Springfield Village Golf & Spa not answer on my response and not to work to write something to the justification. Spend this time for better thinking – that it is necessary to change your hotel that at least there were no mice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasamon R, Manager at Springfield Village Golf & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mrs. Petrova,

We were deeply saddened and disturbed when we read your complaint in tripadvisor.com, for we are fully aware of the effort it takes to organize a fortnight’s vacation so that it meets all your wishes and requirements.

About the rats or the mice, may we explain that Springfield Village Golf & Spa employs an outside, independent pesticide firm to look after our entire property and, to date, have not had any complaints. However, now that you have brought the matter up to our attention, we have scheduled an urgent meeting with the pesticide firm to discuss and, at once, resolve this matter.

Concerning ants and other insects, we would like to seek your understanding about our strong belief in being kind to nature and the environment. We therefore do not use insecticides to dispose of these insects which, I must quickly add, are short seasonal problems. Being located where we are, on a vast plot of land spanning over 1,200 acres with wildlife and trees in such abundance, occasionally we do have a problem that nature brings. Because you were obviously quite disturbed by these ants, this matter too will be discussed and remedied.

Several of your other complaints were well received and will be tabled for discussion at our next board meeting. We truly appreciate your constructive comments and thank you for enlightening us on some of the flaws that may exist in our operation. We shall put the information received to good use and further improve our services. May we, once again, thank you most sincerely for sharing with us your feelings, be them negative or positive.

Yours sincerely,

Somkid Saisawang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very nice resort, even you don't play golf. Our room was very large with view of the mountains. You can ask for pool view, but we wanted to sleep late. Balconies are large with a Jacuzzi, but top floor has problem with birds. Staff did warn us about the birds, but we still wanted top floor. The big outdoor Jacuzzi in our patio was very nice, even with the birds!
PS: Ask for firm pillows if you don't like soft ones

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

An out of the way place that is not too far from Bangkok. We've visited this place many times and have always enjoyed its location and amenities such as an in the room jacuzzi, large pool and water slide, and its relaxing atmosphere.
There is everything for everyone here from golf and spa (as in the name suggest) to a whole range of activities for the whole family, or just taking it easy around the pool. And it is not too far from Hua Hin if for some reason you just have to get away from this place.
The room itself is well decorated ( but some what outdated), roomy, well ventilated, and walks out onto a spacious balcony with a jacuzzi. It is a good novelty item if you've never use it before. The first time using it (on an outdoor balcony) was quite exciting especially if you worry about prying eyes (but don't worry the jacuzzi is placed in such a way so that it can't really be seen from other rooms; unless you really try). But then you realized that the water that come out of the tap is not that clear (once the tub becomes filled), so you have to add soap into it to make bubbles to be able to enjoy it somewhat.
Our latest visit we stayed on the 4th floor so there was a lot of pigeon droppings on the balcony and nesting material on the floor and in the tub. So you can probably imagine what we didn't do. However, the pool and the water slide was still great especially for the kids.
The restaurant is something to be desire. It is a small restaurant with limited menu. But then again you can enjoy plenty of seafood in ChaAm. And don't expect too much from the breakfast buffet.
Overall a good out of the way place to get away and relax (no wifi in the room. There is an Internet service in the lobby though). A nice large pool and a game room for the kids to enjoy amongst other activities. It is well worth the stay if you do get a discount for the room but don't pay the full price for it though.

Room Tip: Don't stay on top floors because of the birds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Although the location of this hotel is 45 minutes from downtown Hua Hin, I purposely chose a tour which stay here for 2 nights so that we could relax and enjoy the environment. The golf course and surroundings were very beautiful and the pool was huge. There was a small water slide for kids to enjoy. The pool was basically divided into two sections so that kids can play in shallower water. Hotel room was spacious and each has a big jacuzzi and a swinging lounge chair at the balcony. Although the room was outdated and there were cracks around the sink in the toilet, the room was very clean. One of the lamps next to our bed was out of order and services were very efficient. In less than 5 minutes after reporting the problem to the receptionist, the mechanics arrived at our door already. There was free WiFi in the lobby area as well as two computers for guests' use. WiFi in room cost Bt 350 per day. Each room was being given 3 complimentary bottle of water each day. There were just about 11 TV channels to choose from but at least they have CNN channel for overseas news. There seems to be a long list of movies which allowed guests to choose for viewing for didn't check out further. An activities schedule was posted at the entrance so that guests can join yoga, water polo, water volleyball, tennis clinic etc.

On the slightly negative front, housekeeping opened the door of our room for cleaning even though our 'do not disturb' light was on. Breakfast was average but juice was not very good. Eggs were made to order, noodles and special tea and coffee were also available but only on the first morning. There were many birds pinching/nibbling breads which were not covered properly. With bird flu spreading in China, it's dangerous not to cover the food properly. Nevertheless, for the plastic covers used for covering salad, they were so tall (almost touching the bottom of the upper rack) that one couldn't hold the handle at the top to remove the cover in order to get the salad.

Room Tip: Request for rooms closest to the reception to save walking and also with easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I'll start by saying there is a golf course, looks amazing, but not why we went; just a few days to get away. It's a little remote, better if you have your own transport, but the resort, rooms and pool are fantastic. There's a range of activities for all, we hired bikes as a family, assault course for kids + many other things. You can get to Hua Hin in no time by taxi if no car. I tried the facial at the spa and I've never felt so good; not something I do often. Only thing I'd say that could be improved is there's a small restaurant but limited menu.

Room Tip: All the rooms face toward the pool, with entrance doors towards the car park so I don't think I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

First there is the location. It is inside the golf course itself. So, you have to drop of your bag and then park your car at the general parking. You have to buy a voucher at THB 70 for 50 balls, which is the most I have ever paid. Then you bring the voucher to the starter, who hands you a bag with 50 balls and organizes a buggie to drive you to the range. Well, range....... a strip of grass, with ropes on the ground to mark from where you have to tee. Your own tees that is to say.mif you are thirsty you have to walk back to the reception to get a drink. Maybe the golf course is nice, but because of my range experience I will never play on this course ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Played a round recently and was pleasantly surprised and impressed by the maturity of the course. Lots of bird life and sounds and Audubon seem to have a presence. This is a Jack Nicklaus long tree lined course and definitely not a resort course. Water is in play occasionally. The course has been affected by heavy rains and there is not much run on the fairways but the course is in good condition all things considered. The greens are rather slow at the moment. Maintenance is good but half way houses and particularly the toilets need renovation. Comfortable club house. Probably in the top 3 golf courses in the Hua Hin/Cha Am area. Strong Expatriate presence in the staff and members. I would certainly recommend it to both serious and occasional golfers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springfield Village Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Village Golf & Spa

Address: 208/1 Moo 2, Sampraya, Cha-Am, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 hotels in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Springfield Village Golf & Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Springfield Village Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springfield Village Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.