We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the peace!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor to your Saves list
Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Moo 7 | Bangkao, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Hotel De La Paix Cha Am)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Cha-am
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Enjoy the peace!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We did really enjoy the 5 day stay at this hotel.

Few of the good things:
- Very nice room interior!!
- Comfortable bed
- Peaceful location
- No other people from Scandinavia
- Free minibar content and bottled water
- Rain shower and bath tub
- Choose any kind of eggs/omelette at the breakfast and also lots of fresh FRUIT yummy!
- Hotel has a free shuttle bus transport to Hua Hin clock tower two times a day

Always you can find something to complain about...
- Pigeons (too much poo) and other birds (they sing/make noises very loudly too early in the morning)
- Some the sun chairs by the beach were pretty worn
- You cannot walk far along the shore cause the water was so high
- Cleaning not so perfect in the bathroom (glass door with stains and also the edges of the tub), otherwise ok
- Rain shower is in the middle of the bathroom so if you use the rain shower you will end up watering the WHOLE bathroom and it takes really long time to dry (it's probably still wet when you go to the toilet in the middle of the night, and you have walk through it)
- The shuttle bus schedule is not so convenient and needs to be booked beforehand

Room Tip: Try to get Horizon Room with windows to two different directions. Most Horizon Rooms only have view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel T, Manager at Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Kaahu8Neiti,

Many thanks for taking time to review our hotel. It's great to read that you had a lovely, peaceful time with us, and that the sounds of the birds singing didn't disturb you too much. Glad you enjoyed the free minibar and our yummy selections at breakfast too.

Your comments have received my fullest attention and I can assure you that any necessary action has been taken. I do hope you will visit us again in the near future, when you'll be able to recline in one of our new sun chairs while you relax on the beach. Or if it isn't high tide, you could take a stroll along approximately 3 kilometres of uninterrupted beach from our hotel, and sip a refreshing cocktail when you return.

We really hope to see you again.

Warren Shaw
Manager (Quality & Standards)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    135
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
78
244
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York & Bangkok
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I am really amazed that this resort garners such high marks, I could not get over the in your face design elements that from the buildings to the bathrooms to the dinner seemed to be obstacles to good function. I also could not believe they did not have decaf coffee! What kind of 5 star resort does not have decaffeinated coffee?

First I need to start with the design- The resort stands in both literal and metaphorically stark contrast to the natural surroundings. It is a type of architectural imperialism to impose such stark minimalist design to such a lush and bountiful setting. Of course this all subjective and other people might love the juxtaposition. Here are a few of the design elements I disliked and/or found distracting- The walls and floors are all grey concrete and for me the feeling is very cold and like a prison and not relaxing. The shower and bathtub are a great gimmick but don't work great, the shower is a huge rain shower in the middle of the bathroom that falls from something like 12 feet up. The bathtub fills from a hole also in the ceiling very high up, so there is a really heavy stream of water that FALLS from the ceiling. IT is really loud and splashes water everywhere, totally impractical. The living room for the pool villa is in another building, so you need to put on clothes and shoes to go outside and walk to the other building, again really impractical and weird.

Service was pretty good with a couple of exceptions- there are a lot of staff with Trainee badges on and most of them seem to have no idea what is going on. The other big issue was when someone in our group asked Sunday night if there would be somewhere at the resort to watch the American Super Bowl. It was on a few channels in Bangkok we knew, so we thought it was possible but not very likely that we might be able to watch it at this resort in Ch-Am. Honestly we all understood this is thailand and it might not be possible to watch it, however staff at the bar informed us that yes we would be able to watch it at the Red Bar but not in the rooms. Some people then woke up monday morning at 6:30am to watch it, but when they got to the red bar found out the staff the night before had been wrong and the resort did not get the correct channels. That was a little frustrating but everyone understands this stuff happens. Rest of the staff was pretty good, seemed ok at understanding westerners and were professional.

Massages at the Spa were very good. Brekfast Buffet was really great and one of the hilights! For a small boutique resort the selection and the quality were exceptional. Location is very good, only a few hours from Bangkok and right down the road from Ch-Am town but on its own slice of a private beach that is one of the nicest from Ch-am to Hua Hin.

I found the design too distracting but if not for that I would probably return. Very well run for a small resort in Thailand.

Room Tip: Pool Villa is not so comfortable, i would go with a regular room next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel T, Manager at Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear AsiaExpat77

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts, and raising a few interesting points along the way.

It's lovely to hear that you thought our breakfast was exceptional, and that you had a great time relaxing on our private beach. I've also passed on you comments about the very good massages you received at our spa.

I'm really sorry you missed the Superbowl and only hope your team won. You'll be glad to know we now display the sporting events that will be screened in the Red bar. I hope you can accept my apologies for not providing you with decaffeinated coffee. The recent decision to withdraw decaf coffee was carefully considered, and influenced by guidance regarding the possible health effects caused by the decaffeinating processes. We will, however, be keeping this under review.

We are really pleased to confirm that the Hotel de la Paix supports Thailand's hotel & hospitality colleges and Universities. Currently, we offer a maximum of seven internships for final year students, in a number of different positions.

Many visitors to TripAdvisor, will be aware that the unique contemporary design and architecture of Hotel de la Paix is making waves, as the designer fully envisaged.

We really hope that the pleasures you enjoyed with us will persuade you to visit us again, and perhaps try one of our Garden view or Horizon rooms next time.

Kindest regards

Warren Shaw
Manager (Quality & Standards)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

In my opinion, you can tell the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel by its food and coffee, and this hotel has both. The rooms are well appointed, spacious, the staff are friendly and very helpful. There is free mini bar and Apple TV in your room, with a good selection of movies and music. The rain shower is unique and a cool design, although we struggled to get the temperature consistent.

Had one of the most relaxing massages at their spa which is also reasonably priced.

If you want a relaxing holiday, then this is the place, as there isn't much within walking distance.

There is a good selection at breakfast and you can order a decent coffee.

Room Tip: Ground floor is a must there are no elevators and the views are blocked by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel T, Manager at Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Kram66,

Thank you for your kind review. It makes everyone here proud when our guests really appreciate the hotel's uniqueness, the inclusive facilities and our service. We are also delighted that you are just as passionate about quality coffee and fine dining cuisine as we are.

The spa team send their thanks. They are so pleased you had such a lovely experience at the spa.

I have passed on your comments to everyone at Hotel de la Paix, and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Warren Shaw
Manager (Quality & Standards)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I had a great stay at the Hotel de La Paix in Cha Am. It all started with a great pick up service from our hotel in Bangkok. The transfer was done in a really nice Mercedes stocked with cold drinks, cool towel, newspapers and magazines. It is such an easy ride, just under two hours from Bangkok.

The check-in was smooth and we were guided to our room. The room was spacious with an enormous bathroom with a fantastic rain shower and separate large bathtub. We really loved the contemporary design of the room and appreciated the amenities including an apple tv and free minibar.

The hotel grounds are beautiful, very spacious with two swimming pools and a nice private beach with sun loungers and butler service. The team treats you during the day with free water, smoothies and refreshments while lounging at the pool or beach.

All of the restaurants were great as was the food from room service. The included breakfast is delicious and large in choice. The open air Clouds Loft is something to experience in the late afternoon, overlooking the sea and enjoying the sea breeze with a cocktail in hand.

We also enjoyed the Spa, the rooms are large and it has the ideal temperature for having a wonderful treatment. It is not to cold, which is hard to find in any Spa in Thailand. The masseuses are very professional and it was honestly one of the best massages we have experienced.

Don’t forget to check out some night markets and some local seafood restaurants in the area. But if you don't care for any of those, the hotel has got everything you want. We definitely will come back for our next needed break.

Room Tip: Upgrade yourself to a private pool villa - really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel T, Manager at Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Cicerojansen

Thank you for your lovely comments. It makes us really happy to hear that you enjoyed all of our facilities and services, and that you have many wonderful memories to take home. I've passed on your comments to everyone at the hotel and everyone sends you a big thank you. We really hope to see you again, so we can pamper you some more in our little utopia.

Warmest regards from everyone at Hotel de la Paix.

Warren Shaw
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After spending a few hectic days in Bangkok, we arrived at the Hotel De La Paix in Cha Am for some quiet time...... This place is just the business if you need to unwind

Very Eco-friendly building etc with bare walls in the rooms which may put some people off. However the rainforest shower soon mass up for that - totally amazing

Food has been great so far - breakfast included in our deal, which is excellent with good mix of choices. We had dinner in hotel last night which was very good and very reasonably priced for a hotel of this class

Service is absolutely first class with regular complimentary water and fruit skewers brought to you while sun a thing

Only suggestion I would make is having a mirror in the bedroom itself, rather than in the bathroom only

Overall, a fantastic, beautiful and peaceful escape from the usual busyness of life

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel T, Manager at Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Irene M

We're delighted to read that you've been really enjoying some quality time at our tranquil getaway, and sampled some of the first-class cuisine we have to offer. Glad you've also enjoyed the refreshing fruit skewers while relaxing by the pool.

Warren Shaw
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The strengths of the hotel are the staff and service excellent received. The food choice was extensive and reasonably priced for the class and locatiion of hotel. We liked the contempory design and the bedroom / lounge was one of the largest we have stayed in. Excellent rain shower in the centre of a very large bathroom.
The free minibar and "extras" of nuts, crisps and cake in the room meant that we rarely needed to buy a drink/snack during the day.
The 2 pools were excellent and virtually empty most of the time giving plenty of room to have the place to yourself.
The downside of the hotel was the beach, it was quite difficult to walk down to and some days the tide was so high we could not access the beach and sea.
When the beach is accessible it is a fantastic beach for walking, very quiet and safe you can literally walk for miles.
Also the hotel is pretty remote, there are no restaurants or bars within walking distance although the hotel does run a shuttle to Hui Hin twice a day which is a very busy town.
This can be a plus for a total relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: If you like outdoor space it's worth an upgrade to garden terrace as balconies are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel T, Manager at Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you also liked the style and design of our hotel. I will certainly pass on your comments to all our staff about the excellent service you received. We very much hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warren Shaw
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this during my first stay in this property. Just want to warn all the holiday makers who wants to come to cha am. Dun waste ur time here, just go somewhere else in Hua Hin.

Before we came to Hotel De La Paix(Piax), we stayed in the gorgeous and superb St Regis in Bangkok. The contrast is too huge that we are still in the state of shock. It is because we have booked and paid in advanced through the agent. Trust me, I would check out immediately and turn to other hotels.

We chose this place cos We had read all the good reviews and also it is the ex Alila properties. And for number one in Cha Am in tripadvisor. It's a huge question mark!!

Points to note;

1. The hotel entrance lobby steps is grand but lost its wow effects in the past glory day due to so many reasons. The lobby marble floor looks like it din been polished for a long long time. It seasoned and I can tell it is dirty and dusty. The furnitures are pretty worn off already and the staff still needs to wipe the chairs before we sit down. They need do something about the pigeons flying around the lobby too cos there are so many bird droppings and stained around!!


2. The room are minimalist designed, ppl will either love it or hate it. To me, the contrast is too tremendous with the posh and plush st regis. I rather not to comments too much about it. I am fine with it but not to the old folks. High ceiling room surroundrd by raw concrete walls which again u will love it or hate feeling. Not much of the view from the window cos it doesn face sea. Rain shower is the best for me. But again like what other had mentioned. It will wet ur whole toilet and floor become quite slippery if u want to walk across to the toilet bowl. The room slippers are recycled. If u are particular about hygiene, it will just want to be barefooted.
I might say the housekeeping din do a great job. The glasses was stained wz the dried milk and the tea spoon was still stained with the raw sugar from the previous guests!!! It was just disgusting!!!

If u are familiar with the 5 stars hotel service
sequence, there should b a turned down service in the evening. When we came back the room is not made and we thought the housekeeping did not come in. But strangely, there is a turned down service tray with cake and book mark. It is just so bizarre!!

3. The beach is absolutely a joke.

The deck chairs are extremely worn and teared. No pool boy or cleaner was seen anywhere there. The used water bottled water were left everywhere. The used beach towels are still there on the chair... The beach is rough and not much of beach area. Just sadly standing alone there.

4. I paid S$100 per night more for this hotel than st regis.. And this is what I get... We immediately called our cars on the checked out day.. Just to bring us back to st regis Bkk AS SOON AS POSSOBLE!!!!!!'

Finally, it doesn't worth anything for the price I am paying for. Don't waste ur precious time here to get disappointed as it takes almost three hours to travel from Bkk. Definitely a NO for me not return or recommend others!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel T, Manager at Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
I'm very sorry that the innovative concept and design of Hotel de la Paix, by one of Thailand's leading contemporary architects, wasn't to your taste. Many of our guests, both young and mature are often complimentary about the look and feel of our peaceful retreat.
Please also accept my apologies for the delay replying to your comments. I would like to assure you that all feedback received is carefully considered, and the areas you highlighted have been thoroughly investigated by the Management and housekeeping teams.
The continued and regular maintenance of Hotel de la Paix, and its facilities, is of the upmost importance for the Management team, and for our guests comfort and satisfaction. The upgrading of beach and pool areas, and the replacement of facilities there, will soon be completed.

Warren Shaw
Manager / Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor

Address: 115 Moo 7 | Bangkao, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Hotel De La Paix Cha Am)
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#1 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cha-am
#2 Family Hotel in Cha-am
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Hotel de la Paix, Hua Hin is located in the central resort province of Phetchaburi, on the sunrise coast of the Gulf of Thailand. Designed by one of Thailand's leading architects, the resort's 79 studios and pool villas offer floor to ceiling glass windows, memorable showers, complimentary mini bar, two restaurants, a bar, two pools, spa and meeting rooms. All of this is set against a pristine beachfront location near the seaside town of Hua Hin, just a two hour drive from Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Cha Am
Alila Hotel Cha Am

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Paix Hua Hin Managed by Accor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.