We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Bay Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mango Bay Grand Resort to your Saves list
Mango Bay Grand Resort
P.O. Box 41, 28/5 Moo 1 | Koh Phangan, Surat Thani 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Surat Thani
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Wonderful stay! I ended up there by chance, and I found it a very welcoming and charming place! the best part for sure is the company of the owner, Gabriele, a real character!
The turquoise water rich of coral and the surrounding jungle make of this place a little paradise.
Don't expect Luxury, but just relaxation and beauty.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

location amazing, beautifull place ,friendly staff but service and especially the manager are terrible !!!!! 1) " nobody" from the hotel at the moment of the reservation advised us about the boat pick-up from the pier and that in case of bad sea conditions after the check-out we have to return to the city before we have 15 min trekking and after by car doing a very dangerous "camel trophy" on a land way.
2) the " hotel "manager has not skills about hospitality and even doesn't care about guests requests and complains
3) during my 2 days in mango hotel i stay in the OCEAN SUITE that suppose to be the best and the most expencive room that they can offer ,television and dvd player didn't work and when i asked to the manager "GABRIELE" he said with attitude that i have to try few times switching on and off the equipment and when i asked for a person from the staff to fix the problem he said "you don't need" !!!!!!!!
4) i asked and i paid for an extra bed and when i saw the room there was a thiny mattress on the floor
5) this place is so beautifull about location but is very dangerous for family that they have children under 12 years old, too many stairs and the bridges that connect the restaurant to the bungalows are not protected and you can fall down in the sea, think about during the night with a little light !!!!!!!!!!!!!
6) about the rabbish from the hotel, they collect and they burn on fron of your room during the day !!!!

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE !!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Visited Mango Bay mid june 2009. we were looking for place to snorkle and some tranquility. This was great place for that! Enjoyed a whole lot just swimming and relaxing in the sun, waters were clear and staff + the owner were pretty much like in any other part of Thailand, friendly and helpful.
Location was indeed isolated and thus all food etc. had to be bought from there. 2 times per day free longtail to city and back.
We were happy to be there, stayed 2 nights and maybe if ever in Thailand again, could go there again away from the people.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bkk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Been there with my bf... as i hv been to Koh Tao before... but this time just wanna stay in more quiet place. so we choose Mangi Bay... Its was nice..
But lots of step..lol...... its good for stay a few day..
they have free( boat) transport twice a day.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Bay Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Grand Resort

Address: P.O. Box 41, 28/5 Moo 1 | Koh Phangan, Surat Thani 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Surat Thani
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Mango Bay Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Grand Hotel Surat Thani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Bay Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.