We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice shipping container but remote” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hip Box 26 Boutique Resort Suratthani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hip Box 26 Boutique Resort Suratthani to your Saves list
Hip Box 26 Boutique Resort Suratthani
103/79 Srivichai 26 Soi 7 Road, Makhamtia, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice shipping container but remote”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Small room in a container but had everything I needed for a couple of days.... Flatscreen TV that I could wire my laptop into, good AC, good shower and comfy bed.
But it is a long way from anywhere and I couldn't find any public transport into town for something to eat (The local options are poor and their own food was overpriced, tiny portion and tasteless). I baulked at the suggested 400 baht to drive me the two miles into town and walked. They also said the only way to get to the airport was for them to drive me...... can't remember the price but it was the lack of choice that annoyed.
I didn't use the pool, gym or bicycles, but comments on here ring true. After the initial arrival I wasn't made particularly welcome and found the staff to have a take it or leave it attitude.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were a family 2 adults and 2 children that booked 2 Standard Double Bed with Garden View. When we checked inn the children wanted to go swimming, but we got told that since we had a Garden View rooms and not Pool side rooms that we needed to 100 THB pr room to the pool?

I since complained to Agoda and they contacted the hotel. After 3 weeks the hotel has realised what they have done and now telling that Agoda that asked for 100 THB for renting swim suit.
We already had our own swim suit so why did we need to rent any? But got still asked to pay if we wanted to use the pool!

The room are very small with lots of mosquitos and not very clean.

So Make up your own mind before you book there.
Suratthani has a lot of other hotels.....

Room Tip: Choose another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed for one night after arriving from the islands before setting off on the train to Malaysia. The converted storage containers are quite cool and certainly warrants the boutique tag in my book.

The rooms were tiny - as small as you can get outside of those boxes in Japan, but for a stopover we didn't really care, however the walls are paper thin so our sleep was seriously affected by noisy neighbours and dogs opposite and for that reason I knock points off.

Tv's in the rooms but only local channels (nearly all other places we've been to had some English speaking channels), and WiFi worked but we had to sit outside the room to get connections.

Gym and pool facilities you have to pay to access and didn't look worthwhile, but they did provide bicycles to head out - needed as it's an empty part of town and we struggled to find somewhere to eat - but they aren't in great condition as one of the bikes got a flat tyre only once we were 15 minutes ride away!

We arranged for a transfer with them to the train station and that was great.

In all, this wouldn't be bad at all for a stopover except there's not a lot to do here and we had an awful nights sleep, so I had no choice but to downgrade the review!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

If you prepare to spend only a night or two, this might be ok. The room apply from the container with the room dimension around 2.438 x 4 m. (9.75 sq.m.), this room contain king bed & bath room within, 2 people in there is too tight.
No fridge, no complimentary water, and also no wifi for standard small room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hip Box 26 Boutique Resort Suratthani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Box 26 Boutique Resort Suratthani

Address: 103/79 Srivichai 26 Soi 7 Road, Makhamtia, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hip Box 26 Boutique Resort Suratthani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hip Box 26 Boutique Resort Suratthani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.