We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN AVERAGE EXPERIENCE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond Plaza to your Saves list
Diamond Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83/27 Sriwichai Road, Moo 2 Makamita, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Surat Thani
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AN AVERAGE EXPERIENCE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The overall experience can be termed as an average one only, although this seems to be the best hotel in that place. The staff at the reception understands local language only, making it difficult for us to communicate anything. There is no tea/coffee maker in the room. The general get up of a room is average with basic amenities only. The restaurant is OK with breakfast as complimentary. Recommended for essential duties only.

Room Tip: Front facing can be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
21
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over night on our way to Phuket as it was close to the bus station.
It is a large hotel that felt unloved, it was very big with no character.
The bed was the hardest bed I have ever had to sleep on. There were no English speaking TV channels.
The restaurant again was very big with no character, there were lots of young staff hanging around, their English was very poor and we found it hard to order food.
We would not go back

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We drove to this hotel from Chumpon and came apon it very easily. The attendant let us park right outside the hotel which was great. Check in was very easy and we were shown to a lovely room with a great view. I have stayed at this hotel before and had the same good service then.
The hotel is a little bit out of town so you need a taxi or tuk tuk to get in.
Breakfast was pretty good with a good choice of Asian dishes which is what we like. We also had an evening meal here which was very good value along with the drinks menu which for a hotel was very reasonable.
My wife and i also used the massage/spa and thought that also very good value.
All in all for what we paid for this hotel represents very good VFM (value for money)
Would definately return.

Room Tip: High floor is better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We usually drive down from Bangkok to Samui, as we have 'essential' stops at Phetchaburri (outlets) and Cha-am (ol' time sake). Our last stop before sailing off to Samui is this hotel.
I've stayed here countless times and the value for money is the best I've ever seen.

There are lots of Thai people staying at this hotel (they even advertise separate rates for Thai I believe - unusual for a hotel).

The breakfast is your standard buffet with enough to choose for everyone.

Reception is professional and kind.
Rooms are spacious and clean (we always take the junior suite as it's so cheap)
Great for your kids to run around. ;-)

If you drive down to Surat Thani, the route is very easy.
You just keep driving until you hit the hotel. They have a lot of parking space below the hotel.

Don't trust any NAV telling you it's just a short trip to the pier. It's 1 to 2 hours, depending on traffic.

Room Tip: Just around the corner there's Sa Lan Chon: a selection of restaurants with excellent food and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We paid about €30 for the whole room for one night. So, for €15 per person per night, I think this is fantastic. The rooms are old, but everything is functional. The location is very convenient, close to Central Plaza. Breakfast was, bearing the price in mind, very good. It is by no means a 5-star buffet, but they have a wide enough range to choose from. Since we only stayed here one night on a road trip, I didn't try any facilities.
If this is a stop on a longer trip to the South, I definitely recommend staying here. If you're in for a longer stay ... look for something else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat Thani, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Clean room, with a good view, breakfast buffet is ok, but nothing special, a nice and quiet swimming pool during daytime (after 4 pm crowded by Thai people);
opposite Tesco Lotus (5 min walk) and close by to the new central plaza, with shuttle service!
Don't take the blue tuck tuck taxi driver hanging out in front the hotel (they are all crooks)
If you do want to go down town during daytime, just take the public bus at the bus station in front the hotel...
Tickets ~ 10 to 20 baht depends how many stations.

Room Tip: Top floor, magnificent few, on both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Supposedly one of the better/newer hotels in Surat Thani. Its essentially a Thai business/conference hotels. The rooms were big, clean, slightly dated, lovely bathroom, free water, toiletries, beds are incredibly hard - felt like sleeping on concrete. Next to a main road but not too noisy. Big pool, restaurant with live thai music in the evening. Buffet breakfast is predominantly Thai food. If you dont like Thai they do eggs, sausages, toast, fruit. Go early because after 9 everything was stone cold or run out and they started packing up the tables and chairs before 10 (breakfast is until 10). There is no business centre, but there are computers by reception. No free wifi, but only 100 baht for 24hrs. Quite patchy in the rooms but v.fast in the reception.

The hotel is outside of town near central plaza which is good for shopping, cheap dinner, cinema. Its about a 1km walk along the highway. Theres a 7 eleven around the corner too for snacks. Do not eat at the hawker restaurant across the street, she will rip you off, charging you ridiculous farang prices which are more than the hotel restaurant.

3 big negatives for this place -
1. customer service is terrible, the receptionists are v.unfriendly/rude/like to ignore you/act like you are inconveniencing them by being there. I will however mention there was one really nice bell boy, as others have stated. He was great, very friendly.
2. Beds - hardest bed ive ever slept on. im not picky when it comes to beds but this bed was incredibly uncomfortable.
3. Value for money - this hotel is v.expensive for what you get, personally i do not think its not good value for money. If you are doing a quick pre/post island stopover and not on a big budget, stay more central for a fifth of the price - My Place was our favourite hotel in Surat Thani.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Plaza

Address: 83/27 Sriwichai Road, Moo 2 Makamita, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Diamond Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.