We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Low Season Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haad Salad Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Haad Salad Villa to your Saves list
Haad Salad Villa
64/16 Moo 8, Haad Salad, Surat Thani 84200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
4.0 of 5 stars 77 Reviews
Seattle
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Outstanding Low Season Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As I'm writing, I've spent two nights here and am planning on at least two more. Booked on Agoda, my air-con room is onl 415 baht/night (plus Agoda booking fees). Brilliant deal. My bungalow is reasonably spacious and spotllessly clean. The bed is comfy, the air-con works well and wifi works reasonably well even inside the room (most of the time). The room has windows on three sides, plus a window in the door, so lots of natural light. The veranda is big, with two comfortable plastic lawn chairs, a small table and a hammock. No sea view, since it faces other bungalows across a sandy garden planted with palms, other trees and bushes. There's a lovely and fragrant frangapani right by the veranda. Hot water is also provided, not that you really need it in this climate.

The beachfront cafe is attractive and the staff are very likable, esp. the gnome-like British manager. Food is good (if underspiced -- catering to farang tastes) and reasonably priced.

The beach is a lovely curve of fine white sand between two verdant points. The bay is rather shallow, but swimmable at most tides. The reef is quite a ways offshore (150 meters) and you don't really want to walk out to it due to a plethora of urchins and sea cucumbers. But if you swim out the snorkeling is quite worthwhile -- not brilliant but worthwhile. There's quite a bit of living coral, although not an esp wide variety of kinds and colors. Same with fish -- lots of fish but a littleless variety than I'd hoped for.

The onsite French-run dive shop charges ridiculous prices for snorkel gear rental: 150 baht for mask, snorkel and fins for one hour, 300 for all day. Plus, if you;re not a French speaker, they 'd really rather not give you the time of day. Far better to walk a couple of hundred meters into the village center and go to Pirate Divers. I rented a mask and snorkel set (no fins) for 100 baht for the entire day.

All in all a brillian deal, esp. at low season prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
26
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for five nights in January, 2013 and couldn't have enjoyed it more. Unfortunately, we didn't discover it until towards the end of our time on Koh Phangan or we would have happily spent the entire weeks there. We stayed in many places all over Thailand and this resort and its location was not only the least expensive, it was our favorite.

Our bungalow was clean and comfortable, the restaurant serves great food, the massage ladies are second to none and the family who owns it and their staff are wonderful. The sand on the beach is almost like talcum power and there's great snorkeling close to the rocky point on the right side of the bay.

We plan on returning in 2014 and going directly to Haad Salad Villa for the entire time we're in Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had a budget bungalow, which was basically a bed and bathroom for very cheap. I was only planning on staying 1 week but stayed three. The staff, a thai family and young burmese waiters, are really sweet and friendly. The massage ladies out front are eager to teach you local tricks, share their fruit and give the BEST massages. The reviewer who said the beach is no good for swimming was either drunk or can't swim because Haad Salad is one of the quietest swimming beaches I saw in my month long stay on Koh Phangan, and I swim three times a day high or low tide. In front of Haad Salad it is all sand.
Word to the wise however that the stores in Haad Salad are a bit shady (run by "mob") and they run the motorbike scam on the regular, so rent your bike in Thong Sala.
I will for sure be back,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bophut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed in one of the beachfront bungalows, which had great views. The bungalow itself was clean and simple with a nice terrace, where you could enjoy the sunset. Would recommend it as a good place to kick back and relax.

Room Tip: Go for one of the beachfront bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location!!!!!!
Amazing family runs the place
Me and my wife stayed here for 14 days,
And it was amazing
Great value for your money, great food that comes fast.
Every room has a hamuk, that gives the old filling of Thailand, and real vacation, and relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I absolutely loved this place. After arriving on the island I decided to stay in the Haad Salad area as I've heard that it was quieter than the eastern side of Koh Samui. After walking up and down the beach area I decided on this villa as it offered single, free standing bungalows with ensuite, queen bed and fan, and your own hammock/seating area outside for 250 baht! The room and bathroom was very very clean, and you don't really even need to use the fan as the breeze came through the window which has mosquito netting. And it was a 10 second walk to the beach! The staff was also very friendly and will organize whatever tickets, activities etc. you want to do (it's obviously more expensive than if you do it yourself but still less than what other hotels around the area would charge you). There's also free snorkel hire if you ask. Haad Salad is very out of the way so it was very quiet and peaceful, but not for those who want to do abit more than just relax at the beach. Taxis from there to other parts of the island are expensive so it would be best if you get a group together to share the costs, or if you're abit more adventurous you can hire a scooter and go around yourself (but be warned about the steep/slippery hills!!). There is no night life to speak of in the area, and the hotel/beach restaurants aren't that good to be honest. BUT you can always go to Nathon market at night and sample all the fantastic street foods. All in all if you want a relaxing stay in Koh Samui but don't want to pay resort prices - this is the place!

Room Tip: The rooms at the opposite end (facing the beach) are the single bungalows. The staff would normally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Basic hostel with 2 or 3 bungalows in front of the sea and the others in the garden so not with seaview. Air conditioned, poor equipment in the room, not so clean, friendly staff and helpful, good restaurant in front of the sea. Breakfast not included in the room price,
Good value but beach not very good for swimming, and disposition of bungalows not very interesting...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haad Salad Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Salad Villa

Address: 64/16 Moo 8, Haad Salad, Surat Thani 84200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Haad Salad Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Salad Villa Hotel Surat Thani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haad Salad Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.