We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis on Merlin Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Briza Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Briza Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Briza Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7/4 Moo 2 Phetkasem Road | T. Lumkaen, A. Thaimuang Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
southernengland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Oasis on Merlin Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were booked in to the Diamond beach resort but they refused to honour our booking for three days. A helpful member of staff booked us into a deluxe room in The Briza with an infinity pool adjoining our ground floor balcony. The room was spacious with a huge bathroom complete with walk in shower and huge granite bath. Good aircon and excellent wifi. All the staff seemed happy and helpful. Breakfast was a good selection of Asian and European. Having checked out the other hotels at this beach The Briza is the best. The resort has numerous restaurants to choose from and bars too but don't expect Thai prices they are more in line with the European prices found in Phuket

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBriza, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear garlic 1927 southernengland
"Oasis on Merlin Beach"
Thank you for sharing your positive review here in Tripadvisor site. Oue team is glad to know that we were able to offer you all a great holiday.

We really look forward to be service to you again in Briza Beach Resort Khao Lak.
and please feel free to reach ys if you would need any assistance.

Thanks & regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    151
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
85
189
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We are staying at the moment at the briza. On arrival after coming from London direct to Bangkok then another hour straight to Phuket...and more than an hour to Khao lak we were absolutely knackered. All staff are very helpful upgrading us to a grand deluxe room, which is 50 yards to the beach. Room is nice and spacious with a small balcony overlooking the sea.
Breakfast is ok, could do with a bit more variety. The food in the Restaurants in the hotel are below standard and overpriced. There were few restaurants just off the hotel turning right on the beach were the food was good.
Most of the sunbeds in the resort are broken and there is no parasols they could modernise that part of the sun lounging area. Try to get there early after breakfast as there are not many available. Comparing with other 4* resorts we stayed in, briza is rather 3*. Two nights after arriving there was a terrible live band singing ABBA songs right outside our doorstep. It was so bad, that we couldn't sleep till they finished 11:30pm. That was every night. We chose Khao Lak to relax and unwind, but that band was disturbing. If we wanted night life could have booked to go to Phuket.
For staff 5* very helpful.
Please update sun lounging area with new sunbeds and parasols.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBriza, General Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Kallisk, London
Greeting from the Briza Beach Resort Khaolak!
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your saty with us.
Please accept our sincere apologise that you have come across while satying in our resort.
We have taken your comments on board and have implemented staps to improve the service at the pool and to remind our team.We assure that all issues have been directed to the respective department for improvement.

Our team will be glad to welcome you again in Briza Beach Resort Khaolak.

Our warmest regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Reasonable price. Staff friendly Not the best hotel I have stayed in at khao lak but facilities ok. We have a pool access room and feel a little cut off from the resort as it's across an internal road. Room device food average. Breakfast lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the main resort. This is the 2Nd place I have booked through expedia and I would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBriza, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Kathryn M
"Reasonably price hotel"
Thank you for sharing positive review here in Tripadvisor site.
Our team is glad to know that we were able to offer you all a great holiday in Khaolak.
We are happy to have met you expectations and quality standards.

Once again, thank you for your valued parronage. We look forward to welcoming you again at Briza Beach Resort.

Our Warmest regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

After a very long trip to Thailand we arrived at the Briza hotel, the reception staff were not that helpful we also had to wait nearly 1.40mins to get into our room. The delux garden view rooms are nice but the bathroom could do with a good clean, the maid takes no more than 10 mins to clean the room each day, I also had to ask for the sheets to be cleaned. The location of the hotel is right on the beach which is perfect for families. The shop opposite is so over priced a walk round the corner you will find cold drinks much cheaper. Overall the pool area is lovely very quiet, the food at breakfast is ok. The beds are also rock hard, so are the pillows.

Room Tip: Get the delux garden view or beach front they are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBriza, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that have come across while staying in our resort. As usual our checking-in time is 2 pm.if we have a room available at that time we will offer to our guest check-in early.Due to high season our room is so tight, the guest check out on time.
We have taken the issues of staff service for evaluation and we assure that all comment have been directed to respective department for improvement.

We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back at our resort.

Our Warmest regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Khao Lak Beach is truly magnificent- long; not too many people on the beach and a gentle drop into the sea. At the time we went the water was also quite warm.

The room we had was no 63 a beach front ground floor and was well appointed and spacious. Breakfast although crowded whatever time we went we never had to queue for a table. The staff were also very pleasant and helpful.
Our one niggle was that the hotel density of guests was high and they all seemed to want to sit around the beach front gardens all day everyday. Some guests would put their towels down at 5.30am and by 9.30am it definitely became the equivalent of sunbed wars!
We did not eat dinner in the hotel at all as there were a number of alternatives along the beach which were good value and we enjoyed getting away from the hotel in the evenings. That's nothing against the hotel restaurant but our preference.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms 61-66 are the best located and also have allocated beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBriza, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Richard G. Fleet.
"Great Beach!"
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us.
Our team is glad to learn that you enjoyed your saty with us.Thank you for your candid comments. We are please that you found our Beachfront rooms, and our staff met you expectation very pleasant and helpful.
Khaolak Beach is truly magnificent-long and not too many people on the beach. Our resort a haven away from the hustle and bustle.

We really look foward to be of service to uoy again in Briza Beach Resort Khaolak.

Our Warmest regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Place was really good with nice pools and good breakfast. The best part is that you can lay on the sunbed with the same distance to the pool as to the beach. Beach is perfect and long. Nice to have a walk in the sunset. The place is simply overpriced. You pay 70 baht for a water (crazy for Thailand!) but there is a shop right in front of a reception that you can get equipped with water/beer/snacks. Restaurant has even more crazy prices! But there is good restaurants at the beach and in the small "village" behind the hotel. I simply don't understand why the prices in the restaurants are not at the normal Thai level. That was the minus for me.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBriza, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Duda K
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our beach is perfect and and long nice to have a walk in the sunset. At the same time receiving such as your feedback in our restaurant is simply overpriceed than alternative restaurant at the beach. We have taken this issues for evaluation.

Our team will be glag to welcome you again in Briza Beach Resort Khaoalk!
So we could show you the changes that we have done.

Our warmest regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We spent a perfect family holiday on the first two weeks of January at Briza. My wife, our son (15 mths) and I were extremely satisfied with the warm hospitality of the staff, combined with the good location by the sea and a well suitable pool area for small kids, too.
We celebrated our wedding anniversary on the last day of our holiday and with a great assistance from the hotel personnel I was able to surprise my beloved one with a romantic dinner.The table was placed close to the beach between two palm trees and decorated with flowers. A tailored special menu (Thai antipasto, fish soup, seafood assortment, a cake with our names battered on) accompanied with abottle of shampagne was served while one of the waiters was babysiiting our son to give us an unhurried moment to enjoy the delicious meal.
The romantic event culminated in us sending a heart shaped paper lantern to the sky. Khop khun khráp!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBriza, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Antti B. Espoo, Finland
Thank you for choosing to stay at Briza Beach Resort Khaolak.
and thank you for taking time to share your experience here with in Tripadvisor site.
We are gelighted that you had a wonderful stay at our resort and enjoyed your wedding anniversary party.

We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back at Briza Beach Rerort in the near future.

Thank & Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
3.6 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 61 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
10.6 mi away
Manathai Khao Lak
Manathai Khao Lak
#3 of 61 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
7.5 mi away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak
2.6 mi away
The Leaf on The Sands
The Leaf on The Sands
#33 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briza Beach Resort

Address: 7/4 Moo 2 Phetkasem Road | T. Lumkaen, A. Thaimuang Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Khao Lak
#10 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#23 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#25 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Briza Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briza Beach Resort, newly deluxe resort in Khao Lak, Phang Nga located on a long stretch of unspoiled sandy of Khao Lak beach, which is only 50 minutes from Phuket International Airport and only 10minutes strolling to Khao Lak Lam Lu Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your The Briza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Briza Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Briza Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.