We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant B&B for when you are in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tony Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tony Lodge to your Saves list
Tony Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6/27 Moo5 Khuk Khak | Tha Kua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Pleasant B&B for when you are in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Nice B&B, you get what you pay for. Rooms are great and clean, amenities prvided but basic. Breakfast is good (no buffet, just order your set from the menu) and you can use the pool.

The only thing is that it's not close to the beach, it's a bit of a walk or taxi/motorbike ride to get there.

Try the Irish deli for sandwiches across the road!

The manageress is very helpful and kind

Room Tip: We atyed on the ground floor as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed there for 4 nights which was very relaxing and nice atmosphere. The rooms were cleaned everyday and we had fresh towels. There was a new bottle of water put in our fridge each day.

We had a nice breakfast each morning and Motive which is next door to the hotel. The manager was very helpful and we booked our Similan Island trip with her which was alot cheaper.
We found a lovely Irish cafe (Deli-Butcher) down towards the beach. There is a waterfall (cho fong) up the road, better to get a moped as it will take about 1 and half hours to walk it. Definately worth the walk though.

Really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

After reading many reviews it was nice to turn up and get exactly what it says on the tin!!

The rooms spacious and comfortable, rooms cleaned everyday and clean towels provided dsily.. What a treat. We got breakfast next door at Motive which was fabulous, and the manager was nothing but helpful in any questions that we had and helping us along our way without any pressure.

Cannot say anything bad about this hotel and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Lak
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I stayed in Tony lodge for 2 weeks back in June 2010. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the bedding was so comfortable I even found out where the quilts came from and bought 3 for myself. There was no noise despite being near the road, the staff were very friendly and the is ample parking right by the entrance. I can't remember the cost per night - someone commented that it could be anywhere between 800 - 1500 and that sounds about right. Yes well worth staying at.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Tony Lodge is located at Khao Lak's Bang Niang beach, which is
about 3 km away from Khao Lak's Nang Thong and Khao Lak Beach.

It takes about 15 to 20 minutes walk to the Bang Niang beach. There are many little shops, food stalls (try ma ma's next to 7/11) and restaurants (try pinocchio) along this street to the beach. You can rent a bike for 100 THB per day from the lodge. To go to the livelier Nang Thong Beach area you can rent a motorbike (250THB per day) or take a Taxi which costs 100 THB for one way for one person. Why they don't provide an afordable shuttle service to Nang Thong (2 in the morning, 2 in the evening)?

The manager is very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathroom is small. There was no three-pin plug in the room.

The breakfast is served next door at the up scaled Motive Cottage. There you can use the pool. Beach towels are provided for free.

I was disappointed, that you have to pay 50THB per day extra, if you want to use the room save. There's the possibility to store your valuables and documents in a safe at the reception for free. But they have a key for theses safes as well.

There's NO Wi-Fi. And the prices they charge to use their www are huge: 150 THB per hour!

All in all it was ok. But it was the little stuff that didn't pleased me (50 THB for the room safe, 150 THB for the internet). The more you pay, the more service you expect.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

As a business traveller it was wonderful to find such a small and friendly hotel. The staff, from Pooh the receptionist, to the amazing cleaners and friendly Tony the manager could not be improved on. Also all the staff at Motive Cottage where breakfast is taken (included) are all excellent.

I have just spent one month at the Tony Lodge and shall certainly return later this year. The rooms are spotless, beds comfortable, good air conditioning, fridge with complimentary water and the use of the pool at the excellent Motive Cottage next door.

An ideal situation for local restaurants although about 10-15mins walk to the beach. Despite being on the main road it was not an inconvenience.

So many great restaurants in the area. Very basic Thai is 'Lek Loba' only five minutes away and the lovely little restaurant 'Jo and Thanya' are excellent (the best pad thai in the area).

Not a lot of entertainment in the area, however, the 'Moo Moo Cabaret Show', close to the hotel, was a great surprise and very good for a 'ladyboy' show.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Was really impressed with our room. Was spotlessly clean and had everything you could need. In a good location close to plenty of places to eat and not far to the beach. Money stretched further than anticipated!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tony Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tony Lodge

Address: 6/27 Moo5 Khuk Khak | Tha Kua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tony Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ulimate home away from home, Tony Lodge is only one hip hotel in Khaolak. Combine with 26 standard rooms with big balcony.Faciliated with Air con, Hot Shower, Cable Tv.Surrounded by greenery view.Easy to excess to restaurant, bar,town center,market and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Tony Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.