We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lazy travellers...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haadson Resort

Save Saved
You added Haadson Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haadson Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   30/1 Moo 7 | Bangsak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
wirral, uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“lazy travellers...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Read some bad reviews about how far away it is to khao lak and you pay London taxi fares to the centre of town. Also charging 190bht for a bottle of beer......RUBBISH. We wanted a relaxing hotel and we got that, a lovely place right on the beach...beer is. 90bht and the taxi cost 400bht ...the rooms are great and food is good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    45
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
102
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslev, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights late November 2012 (starting with 2 nights Singapore, 3 nights Bantak in Northern Thailand, 2 nights Chiang Mai). We had asked for a room high up = with balcony but didn't get it. Thought the reason was the hotel being full so didn't bother to complain. However, it turned out that only 11 rooms out of 39 were booked while we were there. Just too bad. Really TOO bad as none of the rooms on top of ours were occupied while we were there.
However, the room was very nice, quite big. Nice bathroom. The staff at reception and the bar was very nice and polite, well all the staff was polite but some of the restaurant staff lacked the friendliness we saw in Northern Thailand.
Breakfast quite nice, lots of fresh fruits, and choice of eggs (fried, omelettes, scrambled), bread, juice, cereals etc.
The garden really very nice. Very green and well kept.
The beach in front of the hotel wasn't that nice at this time. Buldozers were repairing it from storm damages. But you could walk 10 minutes to either side and find a beach all of your own, so no problem actually. In fact Haadson is the only hotel so far at this beach and road, though they are building a rather big resort at one end of the beach which might change things a bit.
However, right now, you only have Haadson - and then 2 small local restaurants just outside to the right and 2 other small ones 10 minutes walk to the left. Must say that the food at Haadson.... it tastes good but when getting a red curry duck and you only find 3 small pieces of duck.... it is more sauce and rice than meat. The food at the local restaurants is much better. The little Black and White Restaurant (rather new we believe) 10 minutes walk to the left is really good, and very good service! Really recommendable!
We wanted to go for a snorkel trip to either Surin or Similian Islands but our bartender told us that he had heard the corals were all dead now and the islands very touristic. Instead he recommended a small island near Surin Island, Tachai. It was the 2nd season tours were made to this island. The prices of the tours when booking from the hotel, however, were rather high, so we took the shuttle bus to Khao Lak town (nothing special there) and bought the trip for ½ the price. And we can really recommend a snorkling trip to this island. We had the most fantastic guide and yes the corals are all dead! Which is too bad. But there were loads of all kinds of fish. It was a great experience. At the island - we were only 5-6 boats each with 20-25 persons - and somehow you didn't really feel the others. We had a BQ lunch at the island and a small jungle walk:) and it was worht every bath:) (later we had snorkelling trip from Phuket to Phi Phi Islands and that was really, really a horrible experience).
Conclusion - very nice hotel and staff, nice surroundings, very quiet and not a lot of sunbeds at the beaches - actually only a few in front of the hotel - and yes, we may go back, but perhaps not for 2 weeks. We will never go back to Phuket that is for sure - but Haadson with a little more restaurants or a beach bar or two.. that would be perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent 3 days at the Haadson resort, it is 20km from town so you really are away from it all. Which is lovely, bar when you want to head into town where they charge UK rates for the taxis which was a little disappointing. Though the main reason for choosing this resort is to be away from the hoards of tourists, and close to nature (we are interested in wildlife) so on that it delivers. It is a bit cheeky calling it a beach retreat (this is being a little picky) as we expected it to be right on the beach, but there is a road, which isn't a problem at all, but many would have set their expectations that it was right on the beach.
The gardens are lush and well kept, they have a small lagoon where you can paddle around which is great for watching the kingfishers.

We stayed in one of the garden rooms, it was a very good size, and had a lovely small balcony, however when we first tried the bed the bedding stank of damp and mould, particularly the pillows, we went to the reception to request all the bedding was changed, the lady working the reception was very pleasant but seemed reluctant in assisting us immediately so asked us to eat dinner first and then return later for some new pillows, really we would have expected someone to have gone and changed all the bedding asap, having clean bed linen is the very minimum any hotel should provide, even the 2nd class over night train we took to get to southern thailand and cleaner linen! Paying the kind of money for this room I would expect better. We returned to receive some new pillows, which were clean, as we wanted just to relax and luckily it was hot enough we just didn't use the linnen and left it to get changed the next day. It was not a great start. The smell of damp did seem to linger the whole time we were there, the room is also a little worn and tired in places, but we got used to it.

As previous reviews have said, the food is tailored for the western palate, so if you like thai food, the restaurant although pleasant, is probably not the best place to eat, but the food is nice and you can ask for them to make it hotter to get a little more thai like. The cocktails aren't that great either, but they are drinkable! The breakfast is again for the westerners, they offer some noodles and rice, as well as eggs bacon, tomatoes, fruits and cereals, the german style friend potatoes are particularly good.

Overall it was a lovely stay, the resort really is very beautiful and the staff are pleasant too, I think the rooms are a little expensive for what you get, they are a little tired in places and the damp mouldy smells really need to be addressed. Bangsak beach is a great getaway location, and would recommend staying in this area.
I would give the Haadson an overall rating of average/good.

Room Tip: Check the bedding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at Haadson for 10 days, which was 8 days too long. The Haadson Resort has an idyllic setting, tucked nicely between jungle and beach. Quiet , quiet , quiet.... Almost to the point where you feel whispering is too loud, which makes a perfect place to begin a relaxing holiday. I just stayed in this one location too long, after the 1054page novel was finished (mainly around the pool), there're was not much else to do.
Restaurants(?) lack authenticity with their ambience and food (basic), and no quiet piped music at all made for rather boring eating experience in such a perfect location. The BEST Thai food I had was at one of the beach shacks, Black and White, about a 10 min stroll down road. People there were lovely, they had Thai music playing in background, cold Bintang and warm and warm welcoming smiles.
Service at Haadson was also a little lacking. I'm not a painful demanding guest and very much respect people's privacy and ethnic backgrounds. In the whole time I was there the pool bar was not tended to once, I had to go searching for staff if I wanted food or drink (the closest 7eleven is a 10 min taxi ride away) so I was pretty much at the mercy of the resort(?) for food and drinks.
All in all... The place is definitely relaxing and laid back and perfect for getting you into holiday mode, but only for a few days... After that its boring. The location is idyllic and beautiful, the resort itself is basic, with less than basic amenities. The staff are welcoming, service is lacking. In comparison to other resorts and places I have stayed in Thailand... The Haadson had a 4star price tag with 2 star service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I was lucky enough to visit this wonderful resort for 2 weeks for my 50th birthday , organised by my husband, David.
A quiet location away from the usual busy hassles of Phuket and Bangkok . Good staff and excellent food with a choice of traditional Thai cuisine or European menu. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very relaxed and at ease there . Would recommend this place to others seeking a peaceful retreat holiday .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.ch
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

a great place if you want to be away from it all and enjoy lovely beaches or chill by the pool. it is located directly by the beach and a 15 min drive from khao lak itself. day trips can be organized at the reception. there is not much surrounding Haadson resort except a couple of very, very basic restaurants along the beach on either side. the beach just outside the resort had bull dozers on it and has a very high terrace which is a big shame. you have to clamber down the terrace to reach the sea. but there are fantastic lonely beaches 5-10 minutes walk on either side of the resort. the ocean has a little surf but it was still safe to go in the ocean with our baby. the beaches are very shady the whole morning.
pool area is very nice. there is no attended bar at the pool but one can order food and drinks by phone from pool.
we had no hot water in our villa on arrival but this was fixed the next day.
there are a lot of mosquitos (due to the almost stagnant water surrounding the villas) so bring enough mosquito repellent.
we saw quite a bit of wildlife in and around the resort (frogs, lizards, geckos, monitor lizards, a little snake...)
would definitely consider coming again.
the staff were generally very friendly and attentive. 1-2 of the staff seemed less motivated and had very limited knowledge of english.
the island villas are lovely, well equipped with outdoor rain-showers and quality of sleep good as it is very quiet.

Room Tip: the 'island' villas all have a terrace and a view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

There are two room options - a private bungalow (villa) or a coconut room, which are attached in fours, two upstairs, two down. We stayed in a bungalow overlooking a canal, with lots of trees and privacy. The coconut rooms are towards the back of the property, but looked beautiful too. It doesn't seem like you can go wrong whichever you choose. All villas and rooms have outdoor space that is your own.

Pros: the staff is friendly and on top of things, we felt very welcome. The property has a relaxing setting with many trees and birds and canals.The beach is directly across a small quaint soi.

Cons: there are just two small family restaurants and no convenience stores on the street. The beach water is not as clear as some and the sand at the water is a little muddy feeling. This could be because of the work that is being done. Currently the beach is undergoing some restoration work from storm damage, to the left of the property. They expect it to be completed shortly. Despite what I'm saying we did swim and enjoyed it.

A good place to come to rejuvenate, read and settle into some natural surroundings.



Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haadson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadson Resort

Address: 30/1 Moo 7 | Bangsak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haadson Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haadson is a modern Thai style retreat. Family managed and locally staffed, Haadson is simple, stylish & unpretentious with only 39 guest rooms & villas. We are situated on 19 acres of land with tropical casuarinas trees, a natural salt water lagoon, and direct access to Bangsak beach promenade. The resort's architecture compliments the natural environment & offers a truly unique setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Haadson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haadson Resort Khao Lak
Haadson Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haadson Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.