We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family friendly Hotel - and I would still go there without children....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Khao Lak Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Khao Lak Resort to your Saves list
Ramada Khao Lak Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   59 Moo 5, Tumbon Kukkak, Takuapa District | Takuapa District, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Family friendly Hotel - and I would still go there without children....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed for 14 nights and enjoyed each one of them. Travelled with 2 children (age 2 and 6) and they loved both the pool and the beach (not to mention the staff!). Despite it is a family friendly hotel, I would not be discouraged to go there without children - there is plenty of room - and no noisy "Disney" Kids Club....
The kitchen was great and very willing to fullfil special requests (kids...!). We only wished for a different setting now and then - with only one restaurant we got a bit tired of the wonderful sunsetting over the beach every evening (how spoiled we are...) - but then again there are other splendid restaurants within walking distance!
The Spa was great - we loved every second we spent there - and miss it terrible!
If we go back to Khao Lak again - Ramada would certainly our choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    249
    43
    10
    2
See reviews for
305
704
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

The hotel is well located with an enviable position of beachfront, not overlooked and quite private. The complex has not tried to crowd in too many rooms into the available space as many hotels do in Thailand and elsewhere, and leaving the centre of the complex open with rooms surrounding the green space and pool area gives a really great feeling of freedom and spaciousness. The tree/shrub planting has also maintained the open space feel, and does not cut out too much light from the rooms, (just hope they do not let the place become overgrown,as this does detract from the beauty of the place).

We were moved first night to the Flora Spa resort due to overbooking/computer probelms! this was an OK hotel but not in the same league as the Ramada and we were delighted to move to the room we had booked (via trailfinders) which was so much better. We did agree to the one night move as the hotel representative San was such a polite nice chap we found it hard to say no, we were offered 2 nights in a beach room to compensate but did not want to move twice, so they gave myself and wife a wonderful meal on the beach FOC, a delightful experience.

Our room a third floor deluxe Oasi room was well appointed, beautifully clean and spacious, and nothing was too much trouble. Twin beds were fine, very large and lots of room for a family I would suggest as one bed could easily accomodate two adults. The air conditioning worked well but could make the room seem a little "fusty" on odd occassions, but it was never damp.

Breakfast was a pleasure with plenty of choice to meet most tastes and you have to be carefull not to over indulge. Our only criticism could be that on the barbeque nights you are encouraged to be there for 1900 hrs and expected to begin eating quite quickly. The choice is enormous but both myself and my wife were dissappointed that the pre cooked fish and prawns had been overcooked on the barbeques,and were in our opinion burnt, such a shame with such super raw materials. Having said that we didnt realise that we could have had some fresh raw fish and meat cooked on the BBQ at the opposite food station, which with hindsight would have been much better! Tiger Prawns dont deserve to be burnt!*

The staff are excellent and Thai hospitality abounds, everyone is always polite and have a smile for you at any time day or night. The front of house staff speak quite good English, which in a mainly European resort is unusual, particularly San who we had dealings with. The evening staff who turn down the beds and replenish toiletries and day staff who clean and maintain the rooms are all lovely people who seem to be very happy in their work unlike some resorts we have used in the past, hope that this continues!

Unfortunately we only had 12 nights at the resort but we would certainly return there if we go back to the Khao lak resort area again, we would be happy to recommend it to people we know. We liked the idea of non sunbed reservation, long may it be like that, it was a pleasure not having toi get up at 0600 hrs to get a sunbed, and it works, set the rules and maintain them great idea.

Finally do project the 2 hr visit to the turtle relase programme at the Navy and Army camp, it is great and its free. What an experience for adults and children who may never have seen a turtle close to, and its so worthwhile. Its informative and wonderful to see a programme that is low tech but may help to ensure the survival of turtles in the area.

Thailand great place, Ramada meets most expectations but we did see odd moments of rudeness from certain east Europeans to the staff, why who knows, the Thai people are so polite and proud we could a learn a lot from their culture particularly where manners are concerned.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Great location on a beautiful beach. Very nice pool. Lots of comfortable lounge chairs around pool and out toward the beach. Extremely nice staff, from top to bottom. Very nice breakfast with lots and lots of choices. Eat dinner here...it's not cheap, but it is very good. They have a BBQ dinner twice a week that is fantastic.
We would go here again in a heartbeat. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We spent 5 nights at this hotel as part of a longer holiday to Thailand. The hotel is new having been rebuilt after the tsunami. It is very comfortable with large rooms and a good pool area and beachfront. On arrival the staff were very helpful but there were a few things during our stay that would put us off returning and are reflected in the rating.

The positives:
1. Self contained resort but an easy songthaew or taxi ride from the main town and with other restaurants outside. There is also a fantastic informal restaurant on the beach walking left from the hotel.
2. Good breakfasts with reasonable choice.
3, Very large rooms - we'd have probably taken one of the bigger rooms - the beachfront suites looked particularly appealing.
4. A warm welcome when we arrived.
5. The really helpful tour agent/

The negatives:
1. The resourt and Khao Lak in general is quite popular with German holiday makers. Not a problem, just means the hotel is quite orientated to them.
2. The one evening event we went too was poor value for money - advertised as a night of Thai dance and culture lasting for 3 hours, it actually only lasted for 1 and a half hours. The kids who did it made a good effort but we were underwhelmed considering the cost and also the relatively poor selection of food (more Mongolian BBQ than Thai).
3. On leaving we were told a laundry bag was missing from our room. I travel a lot on business and never been asked on business or leisure. Surely a hotel can afford to lose one laundry bag - it left a bad feeling with us on departure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, Scotland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Ramada Resort Khao Lak is absolutely fabulous. It is situated right on to the beach and we had a superb view from our room of the gardens, pool and beach beyond. The buffet breakfast each morning was outstanding and it was lovely to be sitting in an outside area in beautiful sunshine eating breakfast. The Resort also has a Restaurant where you can have your evening meal. Everything was spotless clean and the staff were very polite and helpful. I would highly recommend this Resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Me and my husband stayed here for our honeymoon in Jan 2010. We had a fantastic stay. The Ramada is a very quiet hotel, so quiet infact you could hear a pin drop in the evenings. Our room was a deluxe ocean view and was quite large. We had tea and coffee making facilities, minibar and flat sreen TV with some english speaking channels. The only thing i thought it lacked was maybe a docking station. Our room was cleaned daily and there was a turn down service in the evenings. The hotel has a gym and also free internet service but your only aloud on it for 15mins at a time. If we wanted to go it any longer, we'd walk to the internet cafe behind the hotel. In there it was 1b a min, very cheap.
The hotel breakfasts were great and offered us everything we needed to start the day. We usually spent the day round the pool relaxing and never once found it a problem getting a sunlounger.
For lunch we mostly went to Tonson ( I think thats what it was called) Which was right next to the hotel on the beach. Tonson was a great family run restaurant and lunch would usually set us back no more than £5 and that was with drinks. They did an amazing pad thai for £1!! We did eat lunch at the hotel a few times and that was also good but expensive by Thai standards. We did get a free voucher for dinner to use at the hotel and that was nice but i don't think the food was any better than anywhere else we ate. There is so many restaurants to choose from in Bang Niang, we ate at The Candle a few times and thought most of the food was good but we did order a few dishes that were a bit bland. We also ate at an Indian restaurant on the road behind the hotel (im not sure what it was called but it was next to the internet cafe)and that was really really good. My husband even went as far as to say it was the best Indian meal he'd ever had! We ate at the pizza place and also the green pepper. I don't actually think we had a bad meal the whole time we were there.
Bang Niang is a very nice resort and mainly caters for couples and familys, it's definitely not the sort of place to go if you want to party!! There's some nice bars to enjoy a cocktail or two but these were usually empty by 11pm most evenings. People seemed to go back to their hotels very early. We did this a few evenings and bought beer from the supermarket to sit on the balcony with, a can was about 50p.
We only went on one trip and that was to Phi Phi Island, Maya Bay etc. Is was good but all the Islands are very busy and towards the end they all looked the same. We were going to go Elephant Treking but decided against it in the because there was normally an elephant walking around the resort in the evenings, so we got a chance to feed him and take pictures.

Would I go back again?..................... Definitely!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford on avon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

On arrival at the hotel we were informed that it was our lucky day as we had 'won' a one night upgrade to a beach front villa. Being neither naive nor stupid we realised our Lanai room had been over booked despite us making our reservation months previously. This was confirmed when we declined the offer and were informed that the upgrade was compulsary. We realise these things happen and although we just wanted to unpack & get settled in we accepted the fait accompli with good grace. We were informed that we should inform reception the next day when we were ready to move. We had a leisurely breakfast and after relaxing for a while we repacked prior to our move. As it was luch time by now we decided to have lunch at one of the beach restaurants & move when we got back. Unfortunately, when we came to pay the bill, my husband realised he had forgotten to pick up his wallet so had to run back to the villa to get it only to find our room card would not admit him. Extremely embarassing not having access to money to pay our bill and upsetting to know that all our belongings were in a villa we no longer had access to but others did. I asked to see the manager to complain that it was not good policy to cancel guest access to rooms prior to them being vacated, especially as we had not wanted to be in the villa in the first place. I also tried to explain how embarassing the hotels mistake had been. The managers immediate response was that 'it is only a small matter' . It may have been a small matter to him as he suffered no embarassment, upset or inconvenience, but it was not to me nor my husband. To be fair, when it was obvious that I was less than pleased with his response, he did offer a free meal at the hotel. We did not accept this as the point in complaining was to bring the matter to his attention so no other guests would experience the same.

Aside from this less than auspicious start, the Ramada fully deserves its place as no 1. The grounds are magnificent, the pool area is picturesque and clean, the staff are friendly & helpful, the rooms are very clean & relatively spacious, and the hotel is ideally located being in easy access to local amenities. My husband & I only had breakfast at the hotel. This was very good. Great choices catering for the tastes of any nationality.

What I would say to anyone trying to decide between a beach front villa and a lanai room is that both my husband & I preferred the lanai room. Reasons being: 1) That the sun doesn't reach the patio of the beach front villas until relatively late in the day, unlike the patio of our lanai room where we had sun from early morning 2) There is a steady stream of other guests walking past the end of the patio en route beach massage huts & bars 3) We hated the layout. There is no sink in the bathroom, so after going to the toilet you have to go into the hallway where the sink is located.

Before going to Khao Lak we also read the reviews on restaurants. I appreciate that this is subjective, but we were disappointed in the Candles restaurant after reading so many good reviews. Although the service was exemplary, both my husband & I found that the meat was overcooked. It was a long, not particulary nice, walk to the Hill Tribe restaurant & as far as we were concerned, not worth the effort. Our favourite places to eat were at Chong Fah for lunch, great food at cheap prices and just a short walk up the beach, Chula indian restaurant just a few yards from the Ramada with the best indian food I have tasted, and last but not least, Pinnochio's italian restaurant great italian food. Do note that in high season Pinnochio's is almost always full and on several occasions had customers queueing.

I have to finish by saying that we loved Khao Lak and would have no hesitation in returning to the Ramada & would definately recommend it to family & friends

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Khao Lak Resort

Address: 59 Moo 5, Tumbon Kukkak, Takuapa District | Takuapa District, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Khao Lak Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Khao Lak situated on the idyllic shores and pristine white sand of Khaolak in PhangNga, Thailand, features 116 rooms and Villas, including 54 Deluxe Oasis Rooms, 22 Deluxe Lanai Rooms, 24 Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms,8 exclusive Ocean Front Villas and Private Pool Villas.The resort featues "Sassi's Beach Club " serving Thai and International Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Ramada Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Ramada Hotel Khao Lak
Ramada Khao Lak
Khao Lak Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Khao Lak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.