We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Khao Lak Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Khao Lak Resort to your Saves list
Ramada Khao Lak Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   59 Moo 5, Tumbon Kukkak, Takuapa District | Takuapa District, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I almost don't see the point in leaving a review because I will just echo the enthusing points of previous ones... but Ramada deserves it so I will!

We honeymooned at the Ramada and it was just blissful. We stayed in an ocean villa which was absolutely beautiful - I am very fussy about accommodation and have never seen my 'dream' luxury room before but this was it. A perfect mix of traditional eastern style and modern comforts. It's like a giant room, half of which is a phenomenal bathroom, separated by a large wooden sculpture which on one side a wardrobe/safe etc, and the other side is the bedhead. Very clever, minimal chic. My only tiny peeve would be that I envisioned walking off of our terrace directly onto the beach, in reality it was down a steep drop, over a grassy mound, and then onto the beach. But come on... total first world problems!

We opted for half board as we were travelling off season, so wanted to have some food security as we didn't know how 'open' Khao Lak would be. The food at Sassi's was pretty good and we enjoyed everything we had. Every night had a different theme, Thai night was our favourite, with kids from the local school doing a traditional dance performance. So cute! Breakfast was amazing, such a huge range from pastries, toast, extensive hot food (sausages, beans, potato etc), custom egg orders directly to the chef, sushi, beautiful fresh fruit, and another hot station that changed daily for waffles etc. Also a fresh juice shot when you enter for breakfast, which was a lovely touch. Obviously we needn't have bothered with half board as Khao Lak and the beach had plenty of gorgeous food on offer, which we took advantage of for lunch.

The pool was lovely and had a swim-up bar with a very nice happy hour. The spa was nice, we had a complimentary couples massage, but wouldn't have used it otherwise as it was v expensive compared to the local women on the beach. It may have been a tranquil space in the spa, but I much preferred being rubbed down on a little bamboo bed on the beach, listening to my hilarious masseur cawing and having a laugh with her workmates.

The local area is great, the main strip in Khao Lak has plenty going on - we would recommend Mojo restaurant - and is a short tuktuk ride away. There is also a 7/11 and a few other small grocery shops walkable from the hotel which we used for stocking the room with drinks and snacks. As all the other reviews say, turn left on the beach for a couple of great eateries and amaaaaazing massages. Monday, Wednesday and Saturday (I think) are market days, about 5 min walk from the hotel. We loved this, sampling dirt cheap but amazing street eats, mingling with the locals whilst they bought their fish and veg, browsing the fake Mulberry bags...

It seemed that Ramada was the best located hotel in KL. When we picked up guests from other hotels on the way to excursions, we were the closest to the main drag, and the market etc.

We went on the elephant bathing excursion and Phi Phi island snorkle tour. Both were brilliant and worth the money with really lovely guides. We booked them through the lady based next to the coffee lounge in the hotel. PLEASE use her, another guide met with us supposedly through our travel agents but he tried to rip us off.

We hadn't heard of Khao Lak before, and neither had anyone we spoke to about our upcoming honeymoon, even very seasoned Thailand travellers. We also didn't see one other Brit there over 10 days. I'm not sure why it's not on the British radar yet, but I'm sure it will be soon. It's a very up and coming area that we knew nothing about before we went. During our stay we learnt it was one of the most devastated areas by the Tsunami, and this is still very evident when you venture away from the paths. We were very humbled on our visit and so glad we put our money back into the local economy there rather than staying somewhere like Phuket.

Well this has turned out to be a whopper of a review, but it's the least we can do for Ramada Khao Lak after our glorious honeymoon. Thank you.

Room Tip: Go for a villa, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Poultox,
Sunny Greetings to Scotland !
Thank you very much for staying with Ramada Resort Khao Lak.
We are very glad to read that you had a perfect honeymoon and that you have enjoyed all our facilities and services.We looking forward to top up our services on your next visit.
Please contact us anytime
Sincerely yours , Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    280
    46
    10
    2
See reviews for
341
751
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We liked Khao Lak very much and the Ramada's location was perfect for easy access to the town, beach bars and a lovely long beach for walking. There are lots of interesting trips, we spent three days at Elephant Hills which was great fun(see seperate review).

We highly recommend the Ocean villa for its quiet location, sea view especially at sunset and the ability to sit on your own deck. They are close to the beach but there is a strip of garden which makes them more private. The villa price also includes free afternoon tea, and 2 free massages per 7 days. We used the beach/pool sunbeds for easy access for swimming in the morning before it got too crowded. We were able to book our sunbed before breakfast(which was excellent), you are allowed to be away for 1 hour. The water aerobics were fun and we would walk along the beach when the tide was low towards Khoa Lak town or in the other direction to a beautiful river area.

The restaurants along the beach and 5 minutes away in the town were very good value especially Aroy which was good for cocktails and food and the location by the river was charming. We also like Tomson which is next door to the hotel. We spent our last night there and dolphins came right up to the beach and we lit a lantern with fireworks, absolutely magical. The restaurants were not noisy even at night so although our villa was closest to the property boundary, it was not a problem.

We would rate this hotel as very good rather than excellent for a couple of reasons. The decor was quite disappointing. We expected a hotel in Thailand to be furnished in Thai style, Instead the decor was bland, neutral colours and dark with no pictures, brown cushions, no colourful accessories at all. The service was generally very efficient although not quite perfect. If a mistake was made, they sent roses which was a nice touch. However we found it difficult to communicate with the reception staff at times and we felt that the rules(for example about sunbeds and bike hire) a bit restrictive. We decided we wanted to go for a bike ride and asked the reception staff if we could reserve them for ten minutes while we collected our gear together. They refused so I had to stand guard while my husband rushed off to fetch what we needed. The 1 hour rule on the sunbeds was a nuisance as we either had to limit our walks to 1 hour or give up our sunbed. We understand that the rules are there to protect guests' interests but the effect was to make our day less relaxing. The dragon lady in charge of the spa insisted that I need an aromatic massage as the Thai massage was hard. The local massage people(town or beach both good) were more flexible and did not cause me any problems.

Room Tip: Any of the Ocean villas are highly recommended for space and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Siophanmuskett,

Sunny Greetings to beautiful Spain !
Thank you for making all the way here to Thailand staying with us.
We appreciate your feedback and that you have enjoyed you holiday in our Ocean Front Villas.
Yes our resort is designed in a minimalistic modern style with much green and space to breath.
Roses have been sent to you for Valentines Day :) We have a sufficient amount of sunbeds in our resort however we encourage our guests not to block or reserve sunbeds. We do not set any rules for our guests except our safety rules for Pools and Evacuation rules ;)
Our bicycles are free of charge on first come first serve basis and it is a service from our resort.On some days all the bikes are used early, which means you have to wait till one becomes available. I do not know who you name dragon lady, however i do not find it very polite to call one of my employees like this. The Spa employee just tried to recomend and explain to you that an Aroma Therapy Massage is much softer than a Thai Massage and that you can use your voucher as well. We apology for any misunderstandings that may have occured.
We looking forward to welcome you back soon
Sincerely, Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just returned from 8 nights at the Ramada. The biggest asset to the hotel are its hard working staff who always have a smile for the guests. The pool staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pleasant. The room was large and very clean. Food though was better value and more authentic at local places e.g. On the beach. The spa was fantastic. Recommended for anyone with children looking for relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Portia,
Sunny Greetings to Hong Kong.
Thank you very much for your feedback which will be shared with my team.
We look forward to be your host again in the near future
Sincerely, Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Level Contributor
266 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We did a lot of research on hotels in the Biang Niang area of Khao Lak & we are really glad that we chose the Ramada Resort. From the moment we were picked up at Phuket Airport by their minibus, our 15 night holiday was perfect. The hotel deluxe rooms are really spacious (we had a third floor room with a pool/sea view) & the bathroom is very large. The breakfast buffet is very well presented & there is a great deal of choice. The hotel is located right on the beach & there are plenty of bars, restaurants & massage facilities if you turn left from the hotel on the beach. My Friend was our favourite restaurant & we went to Aroy for cocktails. The staff, who look after the sunbeds are really helpful & I would like to say a special thankyou to Toh, who always looked after us. Lunches by the pool are very good value, as are the happy hour cocktails. The hotel is also very close to the bars/restaurants in Biang Niang Village & the local market held on Monday, Wednesday & Saturday. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly & helpful and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. As there are only 83 rooms, the hotel, breakfast & pool never seems crowded. Thank you Ramada for a truly memorable holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Barry,

Sunny Greetings from the Ramada Resort Khao Lak Team.
We appreciate your positive comments and recomendations.
We look forward be your host again in the near future
Thank you
Sincerely yours, Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strömsnäsbruk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights the last week in Jan-13. It was great the whole time with very nice and friendly staff whereever we met them in the hotelarea. A big plus for the poolboys who was very helpfull with the towels and turning the umbrellas if we wanted shade instead of sun. Breakfast is more like a brunch and is fantastic in every way. Everything you need exists at this hotel. Spa, nice poolarea, cafe', and restaurant. The beach is nice and has a nice sunset. The only thing we didn't like was that the sunbeds is very close to the other so You don't have to much space.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Hakan o Maria,

Sunny Greetings from the Ramada Resort Khao Lak Team.
We thank you for your positive comments and recomendations.
We look forward to welcome you back soon in our resort
Sincerely yours, Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here with our daughter and grandaughter in January for 10 days. On entering the reception the view is beautiful over looking the pool through to the sea. The staff are very friendly and helpful as are the pool staff who upon seeing you at the pool bring towels and adjust the sun umbrellas for you. We spent many of our days at the pool which is beautiful with swim up bar and does reasonable priced lunches.
Breakfast is very good with wide choice with chef to cook eggs, omlettes and waffles.
We stayed in two linked rooms which were clean and comfortable with big bathrooms.
We would like to say a big thankyou to the kids club. Our 5 year old grandaughter after having spent an hour or two in the pool in the morning loved going to the club and wanted to stay all day there. Unfortunately we didnt get the persons name who mainly looked after her as it was her day off when we left but would like to say thank you to her she was wonderful.
The hotel is a short walk to local shops and restaurants which has very good markets on a Monday Wednesday and Saturday evening.
The Ramada is a lovely place to stay and the staff couldnt be better. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear pmtravel10,
Sunny Greetings from Ramada Resort Khao Lak Team.
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent holiday and we appreciate that you took the time to write a positive review about your holiday experience in our resort.
The kids club attendant , her name is Khun Jeew was very happy to read that your kids enjoyed their time in the kids club.
We hope to welcome you back soon with your family
Sincerely yours, Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We are currently staying at Ramada and have just changed our plans and extended our stay for an extra night.

Pros: Service is excellent, breakfast possibly the best we have had, pool villa just amazing, loads of free activities, great location right on the beach and easy walk to local shops and restaurants. Such a relaxing place. The few children we have seen have been beautifully behaved - well done to their parents.

Cons: Can't afford to stay longer!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a pool villa if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wecareyou, General Manager at Ramada Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear CarmenSandiego,

Sunny Greetings from Ramada Resort Khao Lak.
Thank you for taking your time to write a positive review about your recent holdiay in our resort.
We look forward to welcome you back
Sincerely yours, Michael Vorderleitner, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.3 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 61 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
7.2 mi away
Manathai Khao Lak
Manathai Khao Lak
#3 of 61 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#5 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#17 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Khao Lak Resort

Address: 59 Moo 5, Tumbon Kukkak, Takuapa District | Takuapa District, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Khao Lak Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Khao Lak situated on the idyllic shores and pristine white sand of Khaolak in PhangNga, Thailand, features 116 rooms and Villas, including 54 Deluxe Oasis Rooms, 22 Deluxe Lanai Rooms, 24 Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms,8 exclusive Ocean Front Villas and Private Pool Villas.The resort featues "Sassi's Beach Club " serving Thai and International Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Ramada Hotel Khao Lak
Ramada Khao Lak
Khao Lak Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Khao Lak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.